We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get way more than you pay for”
Review of Benjamin's Hut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benjamin's Hut
Ranked #9 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You get way more than you pay for”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

For £5 a night (use hotels combined) this place was an absolute bargain.

Good points: Free use of kayaks and mask and snorkels, restaurant has really good and cheap food and is really nice to sit in and chill, great lounging areas, hammocks for every rooms, rooms were clean and reasonably sized. If you're choosing to stay on this part of the island then you want to be away from it all. Here you have enough restaurants and shops to provide for you, but it's nice and chilled and great as an escape from the full moon/half moon craziness. It's also near really good snorkling areas.

Bad points: showers are cold, big price difference between rooms (maybe worth negotiating for a better one once you're there), beach infront isn't a beautiful sandy, sunbathing beach (there are some not to far though) more shells and dirt, this was a bit of shock to us after the beauty of Phi Phi and Samui beaches. They have their own car, but will charge you the same price as a taxi to take you to or from the pier - this seemed a bit cheeky to us.

Overall: We really enjoyed our stay here and you definitely get alot for your money. It's not near the party hot spots but you can always grab one of the many taxis if you want somewhere a bit safer during or after the excesses of partying. We loved it though because we could really relax and chill while also taking advantage of their kayak and snorkels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JKerching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    45
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
96
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived at Haad Chao Beach with a booking that didn't happen due to a computer glitch!!! They were kind enough to check out available resorts and we choose Benjamin's. The bungalows are gorgeous, really beautifully done. The cleaning of the rooms didn't happen unless you asked them but I don't get too fussed over this as I'm tidy anyway. The staff were really nice and they did a grand job on my laundry. The food was really great and we happily ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there most days. We booked for 3 nights but after the first night my boyfriend changed his flights and we stayed for another 4. I'd have gone back for another stay (when returning a month later with my parents) but they didn't have a pool which I thought they'd benefit from. We used their free kayak which was great fun.

Room Tip: We had two rooms facing each other nearest to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at Benjamins Hut our bungalow was perfectly clean. The atmosphere was great and it was a pitty we could not stay longer. The small and relaxed restaurant serves delicious Thai and international food. Hope we can come back sometime!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joost118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacier, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the sunsets and low season prices at these cosy bungalows. Some of the nicest staff we've had in 2 months of travel, even gave us a ride to the ferry to wish us farewell. They have budget and modern bungalows, we chose the budget and thought it was great. Bathroom was a bit stinky but for 250B can't complain. If you aren't aware the swimming is much better on the east side of the island but accommodation is also pricier. We rented a motorbike for 3 days for 500baht right next door and would bike to a different beach each day before making it home for sunset. Bottle beach is really spectacular. Food here was also quite good for average prices. I think we found one of the best places on the island to stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GradyMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for about 7 nights in early march.
We payed for the cheaper accommodation at the back ( only diff is no air con and smaller ) but it was a fair bit cheaper. Pretty basic room and basic bathroom that we had the pleasure of sharing with cockroaches in a couple of occasions but it's just how it is sometimes. The restaurant had really decent food and good prices. You could also borrow snorkels, kayak, and other beach stuff to keep yourself occupied. Plenty of other hotels and restaurants near by too. Pretty good for the price if you're happy with basic accommodation ( we paid $12 a night ).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sturay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First of all benjamins Hut is situated on the beach so you can lounge out on the platforms with cushions eating pad thai and staring out to the sea. It really is beautiful.
Our room was really cute, white and lime green with a wall decal of a tree and a little quote which must have been translated wrong because didn't make much sense ha!
The bed was comfy, air con worked well, the shower was a bit of a poor effect but it did the job.
It was clean and we had a nice big veranda with a table and chairs, a washing line and a hammock.
The staff were really friendly and happy to help.
The food was amazing and so reasonably priced, all the thai food was great but if you have breakfast get bacon and beans on toast with cheese; it comes like a toasty and its great!
We went for Songkran and the full moon party, the location was fine for songkran because we just got a taxi down to the town centre (Thong Sala) and the atmosphere was amazing there.
The location is pretty far from the full moon party in Haad Rin, it wash't actually that expensive to get there it was about 400baht on the night of the full moon party which I was really impressed with.
It was a little harder to get back, we got in a taxi instantly but stopped off at what was apparently a taxi rank for about an hour until more people that was going the same way as us arrived (although there were already about 6 other people in the taxi).

Its a gorgeous place to stay but definitely out of the way from everything thats going on, it's more of a place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The place to go when you're on Koh Phangan. A friendly family runs this b&b and really takes care of you. Its located on the beach, and we had hut1, which is the absolute best one since you have your own private piece of beach. With a small beach bar with fantastic cocktails and a great food menu (take the burger!) this is an absolute must go.

Room Tip: Ask for room/bungalow 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
545 reviews
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#21 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin's Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin's Hut

Property: Benjamin's Hut
Address: 84/38 Moo 8 | Haad Chao Phao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benjamin's Hut 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benjamin's Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing