We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No good for service,”
Review of Suncliff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suncliff Resort
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No good for service,”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great view. Great pool. Poor service. We stayed here for the full moon party June 2014 and stayed in the bungalow for 5 nights 1000 baht a night,we r very happy until my wallet missing after housekeeper go out of my room. We told reception,manager.... but, they didn't do anything didn't help.
“Don't choose sun cliff resort if you dont want a poor service”

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balatonfured, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Not in the middle of Haad Rin, for this reason nice peaceful, but in the mean time 3 minutes to Haad Rin center with shops and restaurants. Close to Haad Rin Nok (the Foolmoon Party Beach) and also to Laela Beach.

Room Tip: Bungalows with seawiev are more expensive and never free :) but the others are also great! The Reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here 4 nights for the November 2013 full moon party. Bungalows are not really for me. The bed sheets still had splotches of body paint which I know is hard to remove. And the linen is quite old which kinda creeped me out. However, the customer service is excellent and they did alot to accommodate us. They are really kind and friendly. However, would I stay here again...no. It's just not my style.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kimone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 7 nights between 23.9-30.9.2013.

This resort is an excellent option for those staying at Haad Rin. It is very close to the beach parties but far enough to be very quiet around the clock.

The resort offers lots of different bungalows with different pricing, and I gather that the experience may vary greatly depending upon which one you choose.

We took one close to the shore with a full sea-view and no neighbors (part of the bungalows consist of two rooms, one above the other, so you still have them).

The view from our balcony was just superb.

Pros:

Great Location & view.

Quiet & peaceful.

The interior design was very nice and unique (wooden floors, huge stone as part of the bathroom's wall, a tree growing through the balcony floor).

Wifi is included in the room's rate & works ok.

Very comfortable bed.

Cons:

They make up the rooms only once in two days.

No safe in the rooms. There are lockers inside the reception area but it is being closed between 21:00 PM and 8 AM the morning after. So you can't access your staff during the night.

The resort is badly lit during night time. This is troublesome since it is built on a cliff and the paths are quite crooked and uneven. So you have to be careful when you return late (especially after drinking in the party).

Breakfast is not included in room's rate.

The water pressure in our room was very weak. It got a little better after we complained, but still not satisfactory.

General:

1) Overall it is a really nice place, very suitable for young couples. We would certainly try to visit again.

2) There are lots of insects in the island of Pangan. We've encountered ants, millipedes (not poisonous) and even a scary-looking spider in our room. But you can't blame this on the resort since it is in the middle of nature. When in a bungalow in the tropics, it is hard to avoid insects.
Actually, we complained about the ants and they were taken care of.

Room Tip: Take a single-floored bungalow with a nice sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UG993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at sun cliff for 4 nights with my girlfriend and mainly had a great time, however, the service was truly lacking.

The bungalows are beautiful located on the sunset side of the island meaning you get some spectacular views at night and don't have to hear the noise from the full moon beach. The rooms are also very clean.

On our third night we were rudely kicked out of our room and told to talk to the big boss. The big boss was very rude and told us we only booked three nights so we had to leave although I had confirmation of 4 nights. The big boss sent us away to talk to another person at the other side of the resort (the resort is on a cliff making this quite dificult). This new person acknowledged that they made us a mistake but told us we had to leave our room since a new person was coming in. We had to argue with them to try and get out of this but they insisted the room was better. After visiting the room it was not at all and they eventually let us stay in our room. With that being said, this wasted a lot of time on an already short visit and was not appreciated. I must not I usually don't care about poor service but this really just put us in a bad mood for the rest of the day

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here recently for the full moon party. It is situated in an ideal place for the full moon, close (less than a 5 min walk) but far enough to escape the noise and chaos! We booked 3 bungalows and each were amazing, all different and unique and each offering spectacular views from their balconies. It was reasonably priced also, we had an amazing stay. Definitely recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangandaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

If your going to had rin for the full moon party then stay at suncliff as its only a short walk to the big party but when you want to sleep there is no noise.

The best kept secret in had rin is the pool and restaurant at suncliff bungalows. Its on the cliff and so very nice....

book ahead on FMP night.

Room Tip: if you can afford it take a bungalow on the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leela Beach Resort
Leela Beach Resort
#72 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#62 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#27 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncliff Resort

Property: Suncliff Resort
Address: 94/8 Moo 6 | Haad Rin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suncliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suncliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing