We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly atmosphere, amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apache Bar & Restaurant

Apache Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 354 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly atmosphere, amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We recently stayed at the Sunset Bungalows which is attached with the Apache Bar and were made feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. We stayed around new year and were foolish not to have pre booked accommodation but the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had somewhere to sleep and shower and helped us find a bungalow for the remainder of our stay. The food is great and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. I loved the quirkiness of the Apache Indian themed decor too. Definitely would recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grapes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Hardest part will be deciding what to have from their 25 page menu!

Say hello to Sophie, and when they say spicy, they MEAN spicy. So good...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nashuaslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice Location, Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently visited Apache Bar for a quick lunch en route to the beach. I ended up returning the same evening for dinner and several other times during my stay on Koh Phangan.

Everything from the delicious Thai food to the great company (other holiday makers and the family that run it) was spot on.

I'd highly recommend going to Apache Bar even if it's just a flying visit. Try the Som Tam (spicy papaya salad and the chicken massamun).

10/10.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & authentic Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sunset Bungalows (the accommodation joined with Apache Bar). We ended up staying for 3 months as we loved the atmosphere & food so much.

The bar is family run and full of character, with amazing Thai & Western food. The Massaman curry is the best we have ever tasted throughout Asia.

The food is fairly priced considering its location (around 200m from Haad Yao beach) and not too secluded (a stone's throw from the 7/11, next door to Haad Yao Divers). It has a free pool table and there was often an excuse for a BBQ! And you can choose to sit on a candlelit table inside or outside, or at the bar.

Also, the bungalows are cheap & clean, if you find yourself drinking too much Chang!

Apache Bar is a real gem, you'd really miss out if you didn't visit!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apache Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Apache Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing