We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used condom in room”
Review of Rin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rin Beach Resort
Ranked #90 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
santiago, chile
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used condom in room”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We arrived and we found an used condom in the room (next to the bed). The staff did not respond to this mistake. It´s a dirty Hotel and the staff is very rude. There are many others options with the same price and better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleschf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    14
    8
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was once a great hotel. Great to crash after full moon, but not for anything else. The showers are terrible. The rooms are insecure. When locked out, our neighbours were let in by the owner picking the lock. Our other neighbours were robbed. Beware of the lady at the front desk. She is very hostile. She would not give us our keys for an hour as our friends wanted to store their bags with us and she didn't like that idea. Make sure your affairs are in order. We saw a group being beaten by her footsoilders as she wanted them to pay extra. The pool, however, is great.

Room Tip: Bungalows are just private versions of the economy rooms. The showers in both are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

weather was a bit cloudy and it was obvious it was out of season, bit ghost town ish, but in a nice way. rooms clean enough for price, however electrics set up that you had to choose between light off with no air con or vice versa - tough choice to make! The pool was really nice. do not order 'english' breakfast and expect it to be 'english' - far from it. other than that - lovely staff and great location next to ferry. if you're looking to party - don't bother with 'shiva moon' party went there and about 40 people there, very disppointed as we were expecting it to be 'jungle experience' which sounded good. nice mexican up the road into town and first left.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w_debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Really great location - 3minute walk to the full moon beach. Awesome bar/pool area with very friendly staff. We booked a standard room which was clean and tidy however the shower was slightly cold. Rooms are only cleaned if asked but all and all a good place to stay - quiet at night. Paid 500 baht bond - DO NOT LOSE YOUR ROOM TOWELS as you will not get your bond back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssiaj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with 3 persons. When we checked in we only had towels in one of the tow rooms but they were enough to cover the group so we did not mention it. By the time we checked out the staff accused us of stealing the towels we never received. We were supposed to pay €40 for this, which we of course didn't want.

This eventually resulted in them gathering a group of around 20 people and hitting us towards the ground using their hands, sticks and stones. All of us were bleeding and one of us managed to escape and call the tourist police. They were obviously friends with the hotel as they were laughing about the situation and made us pay the €40.

So, NO, never stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sander84Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We visited Koh Phangan for our second trip to the FMP over New Years. Last time we were too far from Haad Rin, so wanted something closer to the action, but not so loud that you couldn't sleep, night or day.

Rin Beach had a great location, near the pier where most arrive on the island, and a beautiful view of the sunset. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants on your door step. Far enough from sunrise beach to get a few peaceful hours of sleep between partying, yet still a relatively short walk to the action.

My favourite part of the place was Wan and Joe, the two ever present barmen. They were always so freindly, knew (almost) all seven of us by name, and were willing to let us play our own music. They really felt like our mates by the end of the week and a half there.

In terms of room selection, i would definitely agree that the seaside rooms were worth the extra 1,000THB as they were a lot more comfortable than the other rooms i visited and the sound of the waves lapping underneath the bungalow was priceless. Also agree that some of the cheaper bungalows are hit and miss. Some right near the pool are really nice, whereas some higher up the hill weren't great.

All in all a great stay. would definitely recommend Rin Beach and stay there again if i make another FMP!

Room Tip: Seaside bungalow is definitely your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After happening across this place for the first time in 2006 I have tried to book numerous and each time I ring the resort I am told they are full and get hung up on haha I always just rock up and have always been lucky to get a room (even in the Christmas period for a stay of only 4 nights).

The staff are hilarious and I have stayed the last couple of times in the overwater bungalows. I think they're much better value than the weird ship things, I had a look inside and although pretty nice, the overwater bungalows are the pick of the bunch! Sunset cocktails from the balcony and an open air shower (which can be closed off as well).

I have spent a total of months on Koh Phangan over the years and stayed at many places before I found this one. I would now stay nowhere else!

Room Tip: Nothing but the overwater bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Phangan Pearl Villa
Phangan Pearl Villa
#78 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#41 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
#16 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friendly Resort & Spa
Friendly Resort & Spa
#81 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rin Beach Resort

Property: Rin Beach Resort
Address: 94 2 Moo 6, Haad Rin Pier (Haad Rin Nai Beach), Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing