We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't pay me to stay here again”
Review of Rin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rin Beach Resort
Ranked #99 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Where do I begin.... My friend and I booked this long before we departed for our 10 week trip in south east asia because we knew how difficult it would be to find accommodation for the full moon party. This place had a 5 night minimum stay and we were placed in a room across the street from the main area of the resort and the pool in what seemed like a ghetto. The owner of the resort was kind of rude to us upon arrival, the room was really dirty with hair and nail clippings scattered around the sink, there weren't any dressers or a closet for your clothes or belongings, the wifi didn't work at all in our room, there was no tv and there was only 1 chair on the balcony (all others had 2). It was also extremely loud at night because of music blasting on the street. The food served from the resort restaurant was hit or miss. Some of the food I had was pretty good but my friend ordered a 'tomato salad' and it was literally slices of raw, plain tomatoes. It was approximately a 15-20 minute walk to the beach for the full moon party or a 3 minute walk to the pier for a water taxi.

Room Tip: it might be worth it to pay a bit extra and book a waterfront bungalow or one closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Was very shocked when my friend and I arrived to "Rin Beach Resort" only to be directed across the street to shabby looking rooms above stores. The actual resort is really nice with a great pool / pool bar and restaurant / nice looking bungalows but this is not where we got to stay.
Our room was obviously just meant for kids who want to party and wasn't even clean when we arrived (hair and nail clippings…).
Good location for the full moon party, probably a 15-20 minute walk to the beach party but there isn't much of a local beach near the hotel. Either need to walk to the full moon beach or take a boat taxi to another beach.
Staff wasn't very friendly but nothing too bad. The hotel has a shop in the main area where I bought a few noodle cups.
We were there over the week of the full moon party and the street outside the hotel was very noisy with music blasting from street vendors although the whole island may be loud around the time of the party.
Had to walk over to the pool area for wifi as the room did not have wifi despite what the manager told us.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the actual resort and not across the street…...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile


If you like to party but also like to be able to remove your self from the madness then Rin beach resort is a real winner. 5 min walk to the main beach.

The main area of the grounds are beautiful and very well kept with an enormous pool, that looks straight over at the ocean.

I gather there are quite a variety of different rooms here. As we were only staying 2 nights we opted for cheap and cheerful. As per expected the room was quite dated but sufficient for our needs. The price was so so in comparison around $70 New Zealand dollars for 2 nights.

The staff were really helpful and friendly especially the guys around the pool whom promptly returned my iPhone to me after leaving it by the pool. Although watch out for the miserable older lady at the front desk... Who wasn't so welcoming upon out arrival.

I really enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in an economy room for the duration of the full moon party rush. The room was immaculate but without any real personality. The pool was nice for an afternoon cool down although they do not have enough mats to cover all the wooded chairs. I would advise paying in advance as I saw another group of travellers getting attitude at the reception for booking and waiting to pay. The receptionist (who I belief is also the owner) was quite rude. When we went to check out we sat there for a good 5 minutes while she ignored us and picked her teeth. The location was nice, a short walk to the party beach. Overall I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over new year so paid well over the odds, if you are on the island to party, location is excellent. 5 minutes walk from the main party beach but quiet enough to sleep. That is until the rooster starts. This was a complaint among many people here. It goes all day all night. If you are in the standard rooms, not the bungalows invest in ear plugs. It is horrendous. I has an influx of ants, they gave me spray but never once cleaned my room while I was there. In the end I gave up and looked forward to leaving. The woman at the front desk, speaks English but only when it suits her, she chews disgusting pink tobacco while talking to you which makes you want to run away. The best part of the hotel is the young guy who greets you from the boat, very pleasant and helpful and should be the manager of this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

In december they threatened our friends cause they wanted a refund. Its real. They made a signal like a gun.

Bed bugs in my room, I can count at least 40 bites.

Water in the bathroom doesnt work for some hours every day.

Wifi works just sometimes and only in the pool area.

Besides my friends been threaten, the staff was rude since the moment we arrived, specially the manager, she gave us Orders.



  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vitormo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this "resort" a year ago with my girlfriend and best friend. We communicated clearly that we only wanted to stay for 2 nights and move on. After the second night had passed and we wanted to check out they claimed that we had booked for 7 days and that we had to pay for 5 additional days.

When we refused to do this they refused to give our deposit back, whilst arguing one of the employees hit my girlfriend in the face with a stick, there literally was blood coming out of her eye. Within another minute 20 more people were standing around us and beating into us with sticks, stones and fists. Whatever you do, do not go here.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank P0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Buri Beach Resort
Buri Beach Resort
#4 of 21 in Baan Tai
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#47 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#27 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rin Beach Resort

Address: 94 2 Moo 6, Haad Rin Pier (Haad Rin Nai Beach), Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £13 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing