We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money! Lovely beach! Great staff!”
Review of Mac's Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mac's Bay Resort
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money! Lovely beach! Great staff!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I visited Mac's Bay Resort with 4 other friends in December for 2 nights. We had come from Koh Samui and were in Koh Phangan for the half moon party. We were slightly nervous about getting to Macs Bay as we had booked the rooms for a very cheap price and and as such we were not sure how good it was going to be. Upon arriving at the pier it was easy to negotiate a cheap taxi journey to Mac's Bay. On arrival at the hotel we were all pleasantly suprised by the open air wodden lobby (very good design) and the fact that it was less than 10 steps from the lobby to the sea water! We had booked 2 triple rooms. The rooms themselves were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very basic, however they were clean and there was always hot water. Macs Bay is fortunate to be right on the beach. It is a quiet part of the island and the beach is very clean. The water is nice, however the base is fairly pebbly and rocky so watch out. The guy Mac was very accomodating and arranged our trip to the half moon and for us to have a driver for the day the following day. His recommendation of both restaurants and bars was very good. The food itself in the hotel is good. Tailored towards the western market, however the traditional thai dishes were sublime. On the whole this is a very good hotel both for its location, price and atmosphere. Mac will also sort out a smoke if you need it!

Room Tip: If we were to go to this again, I would try and get one of the beachside bungalows/huts. They are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    37
    16
    12
    4
See reviews for
9
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and 3 friends stayed here for 5 nights around the full moon party in January. Our room was lovely and clean and the staff very nice. Food was lovely and the guy on reception was extremely helpful giving us advice on where to go and organising transport for us. The beach was lovely although watch out for falling coconuts! Only thing I would say to avoid would be having a pedicure on the beach. My friend had it done and come out in terrible blisters. Also had to keep asking for toilet rolls. But other than that a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernowtoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I travel every winter in Asia and the relaxing part of my journey for the past 6 years has always been at McBay's.(or as it is called here in Trip Advisor "Mac's Bay Resort"). The owners and the staff are fantastic - in the meantime they are almost like a second family to me. They are always friendly and willing to help. Some of the rooms show a bit of wear and tear but they are constantly renovating and improving the resort. There is air con in all of the bungalows and rooms, bathrooms with warm showers, refrigerators, flat screen TVs and everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. A tip: They are happy to clean the rooms, furnish you with more toilet paper, etc. but you have to ask for it.

The pool is wonderful; the restaurant is brand new and looks out on the beach and the water. The food -Thai and western- is good and inexpensive. There is also an open massage stand on the beach. You can rent motorbikes directly from the owner. The resort offers everything you need.

A word of warning:
Koh Panghan is a party island. Luckily, MacBay's is located far enough away from the famous Full Moon Party to avoid the noise. The resort does fill up at that time and it can become loud at night when the partyers return home. The resort itself is also the scene of the monthly Black Moon Party. I am not a party goer which is no problem because it's easy to arrange to stay somewhere else for that one night. It gives me the chance to see another part of the island. Once the parties are over and the party-goers have gone home, the island and the resort become quiet and tranquil again.

I can highly recommend this resort. It's great for everyone: young, older guests, families, people traveling alone. Best value for the money and a good feeling of belonging.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearlnitsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I already stayed for the second time here in a beach hut and it was wonderful.
Compared to 3 years ago the beach huts are brand new with airco and a television. Worth the money!

Friendly staff and good food!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This Place was great. I stayed here 3 weeks ago with two mates in a triple room for 4 nights,
Number 1 reason we came to Koh Phangan was for the full moon party, the resort is about 10 mins drive away from the main party beach which is great because u can actually sleep at night.
Anything we needed mac would sort us out from taxi, ferry to club tickets top bloke. I was looking online at all different resorts, hotels at double the price but as we was trying to spend as little as we could i went with Mac`s Bay and im well glad i did the room was great, it had a hot powerful shower, air con and the beds were very very comfortable and clean! The food was great a priced well, And the beach and pool were clean. So i was very happy as was expecting at lest something wrong as price was so good. All in all it was a great place to stay and if i ever return for the full moon party again i will be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of my Starfish Thailand tour and had a very good stay here. Stayed in one of the bungalows just behind the pool, which had really comfortable and clean beds. A very spacious bathroom and a powerful shower. Just what I needed to get the neon paint off my body after the Full Moon Party. The beach is great as is the pool, although the pool can get crowded at times. The only bad side to the resort is the quality of food served from the restaurant. They seem to microwave a lot of it, partly due to the high volume of orders from backpackers who can't be bothered to walk 5 mins up the road to another restaurant. I also had to keep going to the restaurant area to get a new roll of toilet paper which wasn't ideal.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the beach bungalows. They may look good from the outside but they're nothing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottdogg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here for a week in August and was assigned a beach hut... It was horrible!! Dirty, bathroom door didn't close, sand EVERYWHERE! It looked like something had been murdered in there based on the stains on the walls! We paid extra and moved to a double room which was FANTASTIC!! Clean beds, a bath tub, no bugs, no stains on the walls (or sheets!). The location is beautiful, the beach and pool are on your doorstep! Watching the sun set on the beach was lovely! Mac Bay resort also hosts the Black Moon party which is good fun, although don't expect much sleep as it goes on past 7am!! The food is OK.. I tried to stick to the Thai food as much as possible and it was always nice!! Would recommend staying here if you are on the island!

Room Tip: Avoid the beach hut at all costs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steff_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
7.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
3.1 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
1.9 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
461 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#44 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mac's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac's Bay Resort

Property: Mac's Bay Resort
Address: 64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mac's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mac's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing