We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Rooms are poorly mentained. Stay away from them”
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maehaad Bay Resort
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've booked three luxurious villas for 3 families for 5 nights. Rooms are quite spacious and each contains a Jacuzzi. That's why we agreed to pay 7000 Baht per night per family. But once we tried using the hot water (for showers) it never worked for more than 15 minutes. 3 days we were told it's being fixed... Then we were told that the hot water run out when we fill the Jacuzzi. That all the 3 villas have one hot water container and we can't fill them all together!! but we couldn't fill one! and even in 6am there were no hot water! The manager refused to compensate us in any way. In the last night they even forced us to pay cash for dinner and not charge the room or pay with credit card (had to go to ATM...). Will NOT return!!!

Room Tip: The pool and restaurant are great but the management and maintenance is poor and hotel should be avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drorcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife & I had a six night stay at this resort. We stayed in a superior room which was enormous. There was a sitting area with direct access to the balcony that over looked the pool. The bedroom had a huge bed and adjacent bathroom with separate shower & enormous bath. The pool is long and attractive with 'infinity' views at either end. We ate at the restaurant on three occasions and while more expensive than eating out, is still reasonably priced and the food is good. Breakfast is okay but a little basic but as included in the price for our stay, it was fine. Our main reservation was with the lack of sun beds and sun bed cushions. The resort was quiet and fairly empty as far as we could tell, but there are limited numbers of sun beds and even fewer with cushions. Also, the Wi-Fi is free but not great and it appears that only one log-in is possible per booking. although I am pretty sure that you could ask for additional login's.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the top floors (third storey) have balconies that are in the sun during the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoda_ckte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It could have been located in the Saudi desert, all green up until the end of the watering line. All brand new, luxuriously fitted out. The pool is incredible: huge (at fleast 50m), and bath-tub warm. And hot: few trees for shading. Wonderful room, bed, bathroom. The resort certainly provides all the creature physical comforts.

And full of emptiness. Maybe 6 parties (for about 50 rooms). Strange. Nobody in the more expensive chalets or suites.

The included breakfast buffet was excellent. We ate dinner at the next resort: walk toward the beach and turn left. The fish was superb.

I have felt odd about this review: such beautiful fabric, but leaving me with an emptiness.

And I have to add a comment about noise in tropical paradise. A loud tracked excavator worked all the time of our stay at building beach reinforcements. A groundskeeper of the resort spent all afternoon mowing the (1-cm high grass) lawn with a noisy 2-stroke weed-eater. A carpenter crew set up a bench saw underneath our apartment (until I stopped them). All I can say is: be careful. Ask whether construction is part of this resort menu.

Room Tip: Third floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

In january we went to thailand for almost 2,5 weeks stying at Koh Samui for first 3 nights, then 5 nights in Koh Phangan, then back to Koh Samui and few nights in Bangkok on the way there. If we knew these places before we would go directly to Maehaad bay Resort. We booked this hotel via AGODA.com before leaving Europe and were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surpised :)
Great new hotel, nice clean pool althoug i am not really a pool person. Definitely not one of those huge hotels but very cosy, increadibly clean with very friendly staff. The beach directly in front of the hotel is not the best, but when you turn to the right and walk for 2 minutes you will find there a wonderful beach.
We only had breakfast at the hotel which was sufficient. We always ate out and the food was amazing.
Do not expect wild nighlife or any other exciting entertainments. It a place to relax and enjoy the peace. There is a great place on the beach called Mama´s where i was given the best massage ever from fresh aloe that they grow behind the building.
one day we took a guy from the beach with a small motor boat who took us around the eastern cost of the island. That was very nice. we stopped with him at variuos bays for coffees, bit of suntan and lunch and it was a very nice small adventure trip. He did not speak much english but it was fun.
I would definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: if you like to experience local food book only breakfast and eat out :) cheap and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leska31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Amazing hotel - beautiful rooms and the biggest, most comfortable beds!!! Perfect setting for a wedding, it looked spectacular! The bartender B was so knowledgeable and accommodating and really went out of his way for us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asanka84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mae haad for 7 days. It was one of the hotels that we had booket from home, and the deposit we had to pay in advance was the full amount for the stay. (Which striked us kinda odd, but we paid anyhow.. Knowing that we could get no refund if we where to cancel)! We arrived Mae haad, and where so happy.. Nice Big and clean rooms (deluxe) big nice pool and friendly staff...... BUT, the downsides we also learned about; the food in the restaurant is really bad AND expensive. (Thankfully we found a perfect restaurant called Pims restaurant just behind the hotel. (And half price) The beach was not that nice and its kinda dirty around it. There is absolutely nothing to do in the area, it's very very very quit. (For us it was ok since we travelled with our little baby, but if he had been 5 years or more we would have been bored to death staying there 7 days. (I actually think that is why they require the full amount when paying deposit and no refunds. Because they know that people will leave earlier, cause it is that boring)
Further, we where more or less the only ones at the hotel.. Weird!
The rooms was perfect and clean when we arrived, but as the days passed the cleaning got more and more lazy.. They didn't even bother to refill the snackbar, change and put in new glasses, give us new soap.....!
Finally - the wifi is almost non exciting, they say the have high speed Internet. - but it didn't work half the time, and it was sooo slow.
All in all... It's a nice place to stay for 2-3 days (if you eat at Pims restaurant) OR longer if you wish to do and see nothing. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieLinblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

1)Has a really nice and big pool without cleaning materials, and water all the time changing, exellent.
2)Rooms really impressive.
3) Inside rooms have ants, not so nice, cause they are also in the bad, better check...
4)Giving big fines, for a dirty badclothes or towel, better use yours, other wise will wait for you fines on leaving :-)
5)Good restairant.
6) Found in an area very far from some bars and night life, its a place to sleep after 19:00...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Generalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
8.1 mi away
Chantaramas Resort
Chantaramas Resort
#23 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
407 reviews
5.8 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
448 reviews
10.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
5.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing