We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maehaad Bay Resort
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We found this resort by accident when looking around this lovely beach. We decided to stay as it looked so beautiful and we weren't disappointed. Friendly attentive staff, a lovely room with a great view, standard Thai breakfast and a fantastic location. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mthcmb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the second year that we (active retired couple) have been able to stay a week or more at Maehaad resort. It suits us perfectly: ordinary ("superior") room is 4-star quality, clean and bright, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, nice balcony. We are happy to stay on the resort without seeking off-resort entertainment. We read, doze, swim a lot in the clean and huge wonderful pool, swim in the ocean at the adjacent beach, and enjoy the very nice beachfront restaurant at the adjacent backpacker-level hotel. Breakfasts are very pleasurable.

I wasn't going to offer this review, as almost all reviews are similarly positive. Until I read meat82's review, who finds poor quality everywhere in this resort. I simply do not recognize the resort about which he writes. Perhaps he misses the gold-plated taps?

The resort is not inexpensive. But it is well worth the cost. I have used countless hotels in Thailand over the past several years at all star levels. The Maehaad resort has twice given me as fine a holiday as I can imagine. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in this resort for 10 days and we loved it. We had a villa with private jacuzzi right in front the pool and just few steps away from the beach. It was awesome! The resort is luxurious and very quiet (don't come here if you want to party). The restaurant is very good and not too expensive, compared to other resorts of the same category. The pool is amazingly huge. The staff is very friendly but their level of English is not soo good. Mehaad beach is great for snorkling and diving and is still very wild (so not so much shops and restaurants around as some other beaches). On the downside, we had free wifi but it was real slow and sometimes not working at all, except in the commun areas (restaurant, pool, front desk).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was the largest hotel we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in Thailand. Whilst our room was huge, clean and extremely comfortable (largest bed ever) as others have pointed out furnishings are starting to show wear and tear. Service in restaurant was extremely slow and haphazard. Staff at both restaurant and reception pretty inept. Beach is lovely. With a bit of good management this could be a great hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a few nights in the full on Koh Saumi it was lovely to relax at the Maehaad bay resort in Koh Phangan. The staff are lovely, rooms are great, the pool is amazing! And breakfast by the beach was a great way to start the day. If you want somewhere lively then this is not the place for you its a 15minute scooter ride to the main village and 45mins from the full moon party but the hotel do a transfer service for those heading off to the full moon. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank con55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked for a 7 night stay on koh phangan. Chose this location as away from the party scene of the island and we were not disappointed. Stayed in deluxe room which was large, huge bathroom and big out door living area. Bed was big and hard- best nights sleep I've had in ages. Pool was lovely. Staff helpful and friendly. Can't give a big review on breakfast as only managed to get up in time for it once, but selection was good and tasty. Hired kayaks which I would recommend. Would def come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in their amazing and spacious villa with a outdoor Jacuzzi. Beach wasn't fantastic and we swam in their pool instead. I must say that we have truly enjoyed their speedy, personalised and warm service. Room was so comfortable and relaxing after a hard day of traveling from the jetty. There is this convenient store just right outside the resort where we stock up all the cheap drinks and snacks. The streets are unusually creepy and quiet at night. We have had reasonably priced and tasty home cooked thai food just a 5 min walk away outside the resort with nice ambience.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi villa just right in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
4.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
5.8 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#25 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
533 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chantaramas Resort
Chantaramas Resort
#23 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing