We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Resort Hacienda
Ranked #84 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ROOD”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda Resort since we found the comments and reviews quite positive and helpful.
The first impression on the location was very positive as well.
However here is what we experienced.
We checked in and were told that due to renovation we are offered a complimentary upgrade from our booked Bungalow.
We dropped the luggage to discover the area and returned late to the place. The bar music was at a comfortable noise level and all seemed very cozy. The next morning we discovered that the walls were covered with mold as well as the bathroom. Also the mattress was wet where it touched the wall leaving even the sheets wet. The blanket also had spots which we were unable to identify.
We informed the staff and were first told that our Bungalow shall be ready soon and we can relocate. After showing the room to one of the supervisors he agreed to the condition and assured us to look into further options once the guest relations manager would arrive.
We had to go to the reception asking for the manager since there was no reaction after one hour of waiting and we wanted to start our day.
Approaching to the reception we discovered that they were still having their breakfast and we felt uncomfortable interrupting.
By this moment we had already enough bad impressions and asked about the option to leave.
The manager offered us an additional upgrade with the impression that we do not deserve it and are acting so due to the upcoming events.
We were shown a very nice room but however due to the attitude provided to us we did not feel comfortable to stay and decided to leave the island.
Unfortunately the departure and discussion about a refund for the not used night went verbally very emotional, personal and was not representable for this place. The payment was not refunded since the money seemed to be more important then the satisfactory of their guest.
We thank Dave the supervisor for all his actions taken and sadly have to note that the guest relations manager at that day seemed dramatically rood giving us a very unprofessional bad attitude. Also talking about the bungalows being literally s**** and that you may see this on the website.
The blame for the mold in the room was given towards this "being a tropical Island in a THIRD WORLD COUNTRY". The term third world country was used completely incorrect in an inappropriate manner discriminating the Kingdom of Thailand. However our impression on Thailand is a different one.
You might have a different impression at this place but unfortunately we will not and can't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W, Front Office Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
I would like to start by apologizing to you again about the room. The weather for five days before you arrived was raining. That afternoon the sun came out. I assure you we did not know of any mold problem in the room or we would not have placed you there. The room is in the process of being repaired now. It will be closed down until we rectify this problem.

We were not trying to insult the Kingdom of Thailand by our comments either. As foreign residents of this country we are here because we love this country very much. The fact is building, electric and water standards are not at the same level as most Western countries. This is one of the reasons people flock here on holiday. It keeps everything inexpensive and is a perfect holiday destination for backpackers and budget travelers. Problems occur on a regular basis due to these facts. Air-conditioners burn out quickly due to electrical peaks and drops, water levels become low over dry season, and the tropical environment is a breeding ground for things like mold. All we can do is our best to fix problems quickly and efficiently and try our best to keep customers happy.

If any of us had noticed the issues the day we checked you in it would have been rectified right away. As the case was none of us, neither you nor our staff here, recognized this problem until the next day. We can do a lot to keep customers happy but unfortunately we cannot turn back time. By the morning you were already intent on leaving. We showed you several other rooms, all of which were a tremendous upgrade from what you had paid for. Nothing was going to make you happy. I truly wish we could have done more.

No one said anything about the bungalows not being up to par. We are constantly doing renovations on our rooms to make sure everyone's experience here is everything they expect it to be We make sure every few months the rooms are freshly painted and any issues are corrected before causing customers problems. This was the case with the room you had originally booked. We tried our best to fix everything before you arrived, but the room still smelled of paint and was not suitable for guests. Normally everything would have been ready and waiting for you, but the wet weather prevented the paint from drying quick enough. Rainy season in Thailand brings with it many problems. This, however, is not your problem, which is why we gave you a free upgrade as soon as you arrived.

Let me please note you did not even move to another resort on Koh Phangan but left the island completely. All of our websites state that Full Moon week is full of parties and this area of the island is not the place to stay if you are expecting a quiet, relaxing holiday. You had mentioned to us when you checked in that quiet and relaxing was what you were looking for. You were unhappy before even seeing the room. We offered to even give you a free upgrade to another location, one which tends to be a bit quieter, but you said you were not here for the Full Moon party and would be happier leaving Koh Phangan completely.

We can do a lot here to make sure your holiday is as perfect as possible, but we cannot stop the Full Moon party. It is the reason that every other person at this resort) and every other in the area) were here. To drink, party and have a fun time. Koh Phangan is quiet and tranquil for three weeks out of the month, you just happened to come the one week it is not.

I hope the rest of your holiday runs smoothly and you have a very happy honeymoon. I apologize Koh Phangan and Hacienda were not what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    41
    42
    29
    70
See reviews for
5
65
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My review starts with not being collected from the pier after paying for a taxi to hacienda i was told it wasnt included. After inquiring it turns out it was and we got an apology.

Moving on the room could do with an upgrade as the rest of the resort seems to be at a much higher standard but it did the job

food in the restaurant is really good and its price was ok aswell

one thing that did annoy me was when relaxing with about 7 other people watching a movie two lads turned up and it seemed even tho i had spent 2000 baht on food and drink within the hour that my opinion ment nothing a staff member turned on the other telly and was blaring a football game when we asked them to turn it down as we couldnt hear the movie it was ignored and the staff member little thai guy in a rooney jersey turned it up even more . I have no problem with a match being on but when i am half way through a movie and spent a fortune on dinner and drinks even by western standards i dont expect to loss preference over a football game .

Apart
accommidation ok
staff half and half
and location good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We greatly appreciate your comments, both good and bad.

For future travelers, we try to be at every ferry arrival, but sometimes two boats come in at the same time from different piers. To ensure we are their to collect you for your free pick-up (Thong Sala only) please call or email us either before you leave you last location or call from the pier once you arrive. The hotel you stay at before Koh Phangan should be more then happy to let you make a quick local phone call.

As for the situation with the football game, if it was just one or two people watching we would have turned it down for you. As the case was this was a major game and about 30 people were deeply involved with watching it. I apologize greatly if our staff seemed rude to you. There is no excuse for this. But please understand sometimes you cannot make everyone happy. The room you stayed in did have a private television with access to the same channels. I understand the group atmosphere in our lounge is nice, but when you want to do something differently than the group sometimes privacy is best.

Thank you very much for your honesty. We hope your holiday has been wonderful overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed for 2 nights, and on both occasions the staff where very helpfull and informtive, relaxed etc.. The rooms on both occasions where perfect, right next to the beach, with CLEAN swimming pool and pool bar, good food at restaurant, chill out area, motorbike hire, diving expeditions, (though expensive people said were awesome). I would recommend this place to anyone! (just make sure you book the resort and not the hostel, which is 5 minutes walk away and is very average

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks so much for your comments Andrew. We work very hard to keep our resort nice and make sure all of our guests are happy. It is always nice when someone lets us know our hard work is appreciated. It seems most people only remember to write reviews when something goes wrong! It takes a special person to take the time to give someone a compliment and we all thank you. Please come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here a while back on 2 seperate occasions. Stayed in one of the best rooms and one of the worst. 800 baht for the better room and 250 baht for one of the worst. in my opinion they overcharged on both accounts. More expensive room - strange smell, fridge didn't work, insects crawling around inside fridge, bathroom walls not closed - open to the rest of the room so no privacy. Cheaper Room - horrific little hut with holes in the walls, beds had holes and could see through to the ground below, bathroom crawling with ants. I know the price is extremely low but that's no excuse for how dirty these rooms were, considering it is under farang/foreign management I was shocked at how disorganised everything was. The resort itself is ok, reception is nice, restaurant looks ok, pool was good with swim up bar..Overall just not a good experience. Was supposed to stay more than one night the second time but checked out early.

Room Tip: Stay in the concrete building block, perhaps these rooms are less prone to bugs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
It sounds like you had many problems while you were staying here, but my staff said you never mentioned anything. Please be aware that our 800 baht bungalow is not "one of the best rooms." This room is a concrete fan room with television, hot water shower and minibar. Our best rooms go up to 4000 baht per night. I am not sure what strange smell you a referring to. These rooms are all newly painted and renovated. As for the fridge, I am not sure what room you stayed in exactly but no other customer had complained. We have checked all of our refrigerators since your response as we do take customer complaints very seriously. Nothing was found top be wrong with any of these. Some were turned down low and all that was needed was the temperature dial turned down. The bathrooms are all sealed. There is a gap between the door and the sealing about 2 meters up to allow air flow and prevent mold and mildew. This does not prevent privacy in a room. If the person staying in your room with you stands on the bed they can see down, but this is the person you are choosing to travel with! Our rooms are private rooms, not dorm rooms and we do not place other people in the rooms with you.

Our budget wooden bungalows are just that - budget. We lit them as open-air thai-style wooden bungalows. The description even says they are built to promote airflow and lizards and insects can get in. They are not newly built. They are cheap and affordable for the average backpacker, but they are not dirty. A spider on the wall and a gecko on the ceiling does not make a dirty room. This is a tropical island and if you are staying in a budget bungalow this is something you should expect. The bathrooms, walls, floors are all cleaned and disinfected and there are always clean linens on the beds. We do offer sealed concrete fan rooms for budget travelers that want a little more comfort and luxury.

It seems you were happy with everything other than your room. I truly wish you would have mentioned this to us while you were here. We are always happy to do our best to make sure all of our guests are happy and satisfied with their experience here. I apologize you did not enjoy your time with us. If you do ever choose to come back please let us know. We will do our best to make up for your bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After reading some of the reviews, i was worried at what i was going to find. I was glad we didn't cancel our stay at the hacienda because we really enjoyed the 7 days we stayed. I booked through the internet for 5 nights but after the great atmosphere and brilliant friendliness from the staff, such as Dave in reception and Tammy and Lee in the restaurant, we decided to extend for a further 2 nights. The food was excellent and reasonably priced for this type of holiday resort. As more mature guests, we didnt think on our 1st night of arrival that we would fit in to this very young scene. We were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in a lovely bungalow and found the accomodation really comfortable with a great mini bar.

Room Tip: Book via the web to get the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thanks for the comments. We had a great time while you were here and hope you will return again soon! Special thanks from Dave, Tami, and Lee for the shout out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Had a great time here over last full moon. Great resort, clean room and staff very friendly. What more could you ask for at this price! Ended up extending my stay to include a scuba diving course through the resorts diving school. Very friendly and helpful english speaking staff, more like your mates than instructors! Lovely pool side bar with great atmosphere will definitely be coming back here in the near future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyc301973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
We appreciate the comments Andy. The divers all miss having you around, as do the rest of us. Glad we managed to fit everything you wanted to do into the short time you had here, especially with the Full Moon madness! It's always good to plan things in advance if you have your heart set on an activity in Koh Phangan over this busy time period. Many people miss out! We can't wait until you return next year. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

An agent booked this resort for us telling us it would be great;, a bungalow by a beautifull beach, good rooms etc. On our arrival there was nobody at the reception to welcome us, we had to wait a long time for somebody to come. When we were brought to our room, it was old, dirty, shower was cold and only a drop of water came out, toilet was running, aircondition was very noisy.
When we asked for another room we had to wait till next morning, while ther were plenty of available rooms left. There was no beautiful beach only a smelly area.
The pool was nice and clean, there is a poolbar but the lights were awfull, no cosy atmosphere like the neighbours had. The staff is helpfull and friendly but a bit on the money.
We rented a new scooter there and we new about the fact that they are not insured and it would be our own risk if someting happened to the bike. So we drove very carefully and didnt let the bike out of our site. When we handledover the key they said that the bike had been severly damaged, while we checked it ourselfs the night before and the bike was fine.
We had to pay for it, it wasnt fare. So for us it was overall a big dissapointment, im sorry.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Hi Pat,

It is disappointing that you left feeling things were unfair. I apologize again for the water problem, but there was an issue with the main line due to some high winds we had the night before and it took us a couple hours to correct. This is the reason for the shower and toilet, it is not normal but sometimes things happen. We corrected it as quickly as possible. We moved your room as soon as we were able as there were no rooms open that had already been cleaned and inspected, but the water problem was the same in every room and was only temporary.

As for the scooter, the damage was very, very minor and we charged you less than our cost to repair it. I believe you did not get into an accident, but we all agreed the minor scuffing on the bike was not there when you rented it. Unfortunately there is no insurance on motorbike rentals on Koh Phangan and you are responsible for the bike while you have it. Any other rental company would have charged you the full price to replace the damaged panels. The only thing we charged you for was the mirror and a very small fee to repair the lower plastics. There are many motorbike scams in Thailand, but we pride ourselves on being fair and reasonable. I am sorry you left feeling that was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#79 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#18 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#12 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Oceanus Resort
#145 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#18 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Resort Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Resort Hacienda

Property: Beach Resort Hacienda
Address: 100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Hacienda Resort & Beach Club)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Resort Hacienda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Beach Resort Hacienda you will have an experience unlike anything else on this legendary party island. Owned and managed by a crew of vibrant, energetic Europeans and staffed by highly trained attentive locals, our mission is to exceed our guests expectations. With a full range of facilities & various types of rooms to fit into any budget, from backpacker to luxury travelers, Beach Resort Hacienda is the perfect place for your holiday. Beach Resort Hacienda is a five minute walk to the Thong Sala (main pier) and Thong Sala Town (main shopping area). It is a fifteen minute drive to Haad Rin (Full moon party) Beach. The half moon, shiva moon, waterfall and jungle experience parties are all within a 7 minute drive. Samui International Airport is a 30-minute ferry ride, followed by a 2-minute taxi ride. Our modern rooms are fitted with tiled flooring, private bathrooms and come with either air conditioning or fan. Cable TV, minibar and hot water shower are included in all rooms other than our budget wooden bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Resort Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing