We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do u give me this crappy bungalow?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Resort Hacienda
Ranked #84 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“Why do u give me this crappy bungalow?”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed in Hacienda Beach Resort for 5 nights in a bungalow with fan. First I was given a really crappy Bungalow which gave me the creeps just as I entered but due to my budget I refused an up-grade to AC bungalow. After 3 nights and a cockroach under my pillow, I found out that there were better equipped bungalows in the same price category and asked to switch rooms which was no problem.
Besides this the Resort is really enjoyable, the pool is refreshing cold and clean, there are wooden chairs to enjoy the sun. Swimming is impossible since the water is very flat and the ground spiked with shells which makes walking in the water unpleasant. The food at the restaurant is okay but prices are higher than outside. The resort lies in short walking distance to restaurants and there is even a Tesco available be 20 minutes walk. wifi is available but only at the restaurant and not very strong.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Hello Marry M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are currently renovating all of our wooden bungalows. Any time one of the renovated bungalows becomes available we always offer guests in non renovated rooms to change rooms which usually puts a smile on their face just as it did for you.
Due to the geographical layout of the island, most of the resorts, restaurants, retail and main towns are located on the southern part of the island. There are some stunning beach's only ten to fifteen minutes away by moped or taxi.
Thank you for the nice comments on the resort and the facilities and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again one day.

David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    41
    42
    29
    70
See reviews for
5
65
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Terrible rooms, stinky showers (with no water pressure), windows didn't lock properly and you weren't allowed food or drink from outside the resort. As for the rest of the 'resort'... Somehow even worse. Most expensive meals on island and they were the worst meals of our entire trip in Thailand. Small, pool with bar attached, but drinks are super expensive. Beach was super rocky and not easy to access. Staff were extremely unhelpful and there were soo many of them, most seemed to just sit around and act nonplussed if asked a question. Basically spent as little time at 'resort' as possible. Would literally have stayed anywhere else on island if I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Overall it is a good resort, right at the beach, even though it may be a little noisy at times.

However we had to throw out cockroaches and lizards every night before sleep. They always managed to faind their way back in. Also heard a story about a snake in another room. Rooms should be better isolated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurynas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Hi Laurynas83
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our resort.
I suspect you were staying in one of our non renovated wooden bungalows.There are spaces that these little harmless Gecko's ( not lizards) can get through and they feed on mosquitoes and other insects which is not such a bad thing. We apologize about the cockroaches in your room but if you did not request to have your room cleaned we would not have had a chance to spray for them.
Every 2 or 3 months a small non poisonous grass snake finds it way on to the resort. I remember this incident and the little guy was actually outside on one of the open balconies. The maintenance crew always have a laugh trying to catch them and they are promptly returned to their natural habitat.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Hacienda was great, we stayed in one of the rooms poolside and this well presented and looked after.
Very hapopy with the overall experien ce, food was great, the pool was ideal and the location was OK too. You can rent Mopeds there for a very reasonable price and get around the rest of the island no problem,

Great for backpackers or casual holiday makers! DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A RESORT OR ARE ANNOIED BY YOUND PEOPLE HAVING FUN. You wont enjoy it and will just wind yourselves up.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Hey Joe
What a cracking review, the whole Hacienda team got a big grin on their face after reading it.
Thank you very much for your praise and comments and we would love to welcome you back any time.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Where to start. My partner and I arrived on the island for a week and split the stay between two resorts. First bit was on north island at a beautiful resort called cabana. The rest at Hacienda for full moon party. The day we came to hacienda we drove a scooter down to reception from the other resort and asked if they could pick us up with their "pick up service" the receptionist told us no they can't but for 500 baht they will be happy to.. Get Bent. The amount of money we spent on this place we shoulda had a truck pick us up no questions asked. We had booked a nice "poolside" room which really should be Roofview. Farthest thing from poolside. It was up stairs not even close to poolside. The rooms have two beds one double and one single. The food is VERY expensive and quite lame to be honest. We ended up goin next door to a place called cozy bungalow. the food was very reasonable.There is NO beach what's so ever. They have break rock in front of the property.. Infact in either direction of this dump is beautiful beach. Not sure why they wouldn't build a retaining wall with some steps down to a nice beach. Instead you have to climb over this dangerous sharp rock. I went to replace my towels with clean ones and no one could find a key to unlock the towel room?? Wifi sucks. Doesn't even work, I went down 4 times to find out whats up. they finally gave me the password for staff wifi which worked only part of the time. Save your money and stay anywhere but here. This place is a rip off. The moment we were checking out, a lot of people were checkin out at the same time. So many of the people were being charged an extra 1200 baht for sheets that had minor marks. They didnt even try to wash them. Seems like a money grab. Don't start a bar tab. Pay it and keep receipt. We saw people getting their wallets shuffled for that to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to address each issue.
We do offer free transfers from Thong Sala piers and surrounding areas however your previous accommodation is located in the north west part of the island which is a 50 minutes round trip.
As for your room, your balcony was overlooking the pool. These rooms have a door on either side, one over the pool and one at the back. We only have one pool so you would not have a “pool view” over every side, just the pool side. You were less than 10 meters from the pool. I am sorry if you expected something else.
At our restaurant we sell quality food which does cost more. Many places in Thailand use cheap ingredients (oil instead of butter, hot dogs instead of sausages, etc.) There are many budget restaurants in the area so we choose to have a quality restaurant. Cheaper food is located within a five minute walk of the resort.
As for the beach, we have addressed the problem. The rock wall was installed by the government late last year to combat the effects of erosion. The beach is still accessible within a 1 minute walk. We are in the process of creating a walkway but we had to wait until the rocks had settled into place. This has just recently happened and the walkway will be installed within one month.
Upon checking in we let you know reception here is not 24 hours. We are open from 7am until 9pm. There are signs up for those that forget this. If you need towels, room cleaning or any other services you need to ask during these hours. I do apologize for any confusion in this matter.
We have had problems with the WiFi over full moon periods due to the mass amounts of people that come for this event. We have now installed a powerful upgraded system to handle the heavier load. There are no more WiFi problems. I am sorry this was not ready for your stay with us but you should be pleased to hear there will no more complaints on this front.
When people check in we inform them that the glow in the dark party paint does not wash out of the sheets and advise them to shower before going to bed. Some of our guests get a little carried away at the beach parties and therefore forget our advice. We cannot reuse the stained sheets and have to charge accordingly. We go over this with everyone upon check in so there are no surprises. It is also clearly printed on the check in forms.
I do sincerely wish there was more we could have done for you. I hope the rest of your holiday was more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My girlfriend and i arrived at reception and we had to look all around the ''resort'' for staff to check in.Our check in was really quick, the man didnt tell us any information about the resort, facilities, breakfast times and didnt give us vouchers for our included breakfast which we needed the next morning.He just gave us information about which mushroom shakes to drink at the half moon party and that we should drink buckets that contain fake spirits 'poison' and its really cheap. ? We know that drugs are common but why should a receptionist at a ''resort'' for a couple who just wants to have a nice holiday recommend a magic mushroom drink...??? We stayed in a standard double room which was very disappointing for a resort it is more like a backpackers room. The bathroom was the worst part, For starters the drain for the shower was out the side of the wall and i assume from the smell that there was no trap on it as the drain stuck out our whole room. The water smelt like poo aswell so we could never feel clean.We were expected to use the toilet and than throw out the paper in the bin and not in the toilet.. how can you put pooey toilet paper in the bin?? The receptionist seemed shocked when we asked for our room to be cleaned.There is barely a beach,the pool died our swimwear orange (we still dont know what that pool could have contained) , every time when we tried to talk to the receptionist he was completely uninterested in holding any kind of conversation with us i could have gotten more out of a rock.We were also not aware that having 4 or 5 beers during work hours was acceptable from a resort either (the receptionist)... Overall this experience put a huge sad face on our holiday.

Room Tip: dont choose any of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

PORTUGUÊS:
Estive hospedada no hacienda e o hotel tem boas condições,mas o dono daquilo é uma pessoa que está sempre a tentar vender tudo e mais alguma coisa. Senti-me um pouco desconfortável com isso... não nos deixou fazer o check-out à hora que queriamos, obrigando-nos a fazer mais tarde para termos de apanhar um taxi com ele no valor de 200 baths (4€) para uma distância de 5minutos de carro e 15 minutos a pé... uma vez que tinhamos horas para apanhar o barco...
Para mim não foi uma boa experiência estar naquele hotel.

ENGLISH:
I've been staying at the hacienda and the hotel is well placed, but the owner of what is a person who is always trying to sell everything and anything. I felt a little uncomfortable with that ... Do not let us check out at the time we wanted, forcing us to do later in terms of catching a taxi with him worth 200 baht (€ 4) for a distance of 5minutos by car and 15 minutes by foot. .. once we had hours to take the boat ...
For me it was not a good experience to be in that hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ines_almeida_martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#79 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#18 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#12 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Oceanus Resort
#145 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#18 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Resort Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Resort Hacienda

Property: Beach Resort Hacienda
Address: 100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Hacienda Resort & Beach Club)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Resort Hacienda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Beach Resort Hacienda you will have an experience unlike anything else on this legendary party island. Owned and managed by a crew of vibrant, energetic Europeans and staffed by highly trained attentive locals, our mission is to exceed our guests expectations. With a full range of facilities & various types of rooms to fit into any budget, from backpacker to luxury travelers, Beach Resort Hacienda is the perfect place for your holiday. Beach Resort Hacienda is a five minute walk to the Thong Sala (main pier) and Thong Sala Town (main shopping area). It is a fifteen minute drive to Haad Rin (Full moon party) Beach. The half moon, shiva moon, waterfall and jungle experience parties are all within a 7 minute drive. Samui International Airport is a 30-minute ferry ride, followed by a 2-minute taxi ride. Our modern rooms are fitted with tiled flooring, private bathrooms and come with either air conditioning or fan. Cable TV, minibar and hot water shower are included in all rooms other than our budget wooden bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Resort Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing