We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Hansa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hansa Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Hansa Resort for 4 days and it was awesome.
Our bungalow was beautiful and smart with air condition in front of the beach.
The restaurant had one of the best cooker in koh phangan and it also really cheap!
Bernie is awesome, he's really smart and helpfull... If tou need any information he will help you for sure.
The energy in that place is something special... All of us become a big family... It was the best place ever!
Definetely I will be there soon again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babybabu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here to attend the half moon party in Koh Phangan. It was the best location to stay for this because the party is just down the road. We even loved it so much that we stayed another night.

Bernie is helpful, always going out of his way to ensure you are looked after. He is an amazing host and really made us feel welcome. He knows everything about the place so if you are stuck planning anything then just wait til you chat to Bernie. In fact you will probably get you better deals through him booking for you.

The bar/lounge/dining room is a great communal space where the guests hang out get to know each other, eat dinner and drink. Oh and admire the gorgeous sunsets - such a perfect view.

The food was beautiful and freshly cooked to your tastes.

We paid a little more and got the beachfront bungalow and it was totally worth it. Just left the curtains open and woke up to the waves lapping at the doorstep and the glorious sunrise. The rooms are basic but they are clean, spacious and a wonderful get away from the stuffy hotel rooms.

I didn't swim in the pool and no one really swum in the pool - it didn't look that appetising but it's probably just because it's down season.

Highlight of our stay was watching South Africa play the All Blacks in rugby with Bernie, the owner. He bet us that South Africa would win, and if they didn't, we would get our room half price. All I can say is, I'm pleased to be from New Zealand! Bernie was true to his word and gave us half off our room.

Would absolutely stay again. I didn't feel rushed or out of place here, it was relaxed and chilled fun.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiepai-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I ended up staying here by mistake… Got to Koh Phangan really late and had nothing booked…
Ended up here… So so pleased…
Totally made my stay in Koh Phangan worth while

Kenny and his family are fantastic and make you feel so so welcome
Food is excellent… Yellow curry is by far the best
Kenny even arranged for a Barracuda which we BBQ’d
Rooms are also fantastic..

This place has it right
Well done see you again soon I hope
Nick

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Bunch of us took Hansa package from Phanganist.com and it turns out to be most wonderful retreat in Koh Phangan. The beach was nice, cosy room, good food, owner staff and other occupants are friendly. They arranged everything for us from pier transfer, bike rent to ==~~ times ;D. Pad Ka Pao is must try. Recommended for group travellers.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Melayu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Four girls and myself arrived in Koh Phangan with no accommodations planned and the intentions to only stay on the island for two nights. After the slightly overwhelming hustle and bustle getting off the ferry, we decided to say "[--] it", and just take a taxi to Ban Tai Beach and linger on down the road until something caught our eye. After about an hour of searching and not finding anything that tickled our fancy (prices too high,unwelcoming staff, not as beach front as we were looking to treat ourselves to for a night or two, etc.) we stumbled upon Hansa Resort.

Literally from the moment walking in there it felt like they had been expecting us and waiting with open arms and warm hearts. Bernie whipped us up drinks to sip on while we figured out our accommodations just in time to watch the most beautiful sunset go down over the perfectly calm water.

They allowed us to put three girls in one bungalow and two in the other with no problems whatsoever (whereas many other places refused and insisted on raising the price or just not allowing it at all). It was exactly what we were looking for. clean bungalows, AMAZING beach, safe and comfortable environment and good friends. Long story short, our stay was extended for another 6 nights because we couldn't let ourselves leave. Honestly, it would have been more if our flights elsewhere weren't already booked.

The food was incredible, and the hospitality impeccable. Kenny, Bernie and the other staff accommodated us to the fullest: helping us arrange tuk-tuk/motorbike rides, giving advice on things to do and see, the hot night spots, taking us on adventures around the island, delicious dinners... I could go on and on, but I just remembered this isn't my personal blog.

The atmosphere is chill and relaxed. Drama and hassle free (IMPORTANT: travelers with bad attitudes need not apply). The main lounge area is open and welcoming, with fantastic music playing at all times to help set the mood. Many conversations were had with new found friends from all over the world.

At the end of the week we settled up all payments for our week of food, lodging, and drinks. The staff kept excellent track of meals and drinks. It was easy and hassle free - you could pay cash or card, and knew you weren't getting scammed.

All in all, it was one of the best weeks of my life, with some of the best people I know. I can't wait to head back to Hansa !!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I think the title beach resort says it all , about five minutes after arriving after what is quite a mission to get there on the plane and ferry after a long 12 hour flight I was instantly relaxed and at the end of the first night it already felt like we'd been there 3 or 4 days.People expecting a european hotel type block layout with loads of organised tables laid out for breakfast will not expect what you get at all , there are only 12 bungalows something i didn't realise when i booked but this adds to the homely feel of the place.Breakfast as well as many other things take place at one big community table at the head of the table are clan leaders Kenny and Bernie (usually eating mangos) and this encourages people to be sociable and generally make fun of each other and the various states the guests are in.

It's tucked right out the way off the road but still within 200 yards of a regular after party ban sabaai next door to the place and a small high street and seven eleven lifesaver store just a minute bike ride or 5 minutes walk away.Yet still within a five minute rollercoaster thrill ride up and down the hills in to haad rin or just a 10 minute ride to the main and biggest town thong sala where you can get everything.

The other staff there the girls that run things are fantastic and will tend to your every need whether you are up and out at 7am going on an expedition or having breakfast at 2.30 in the afternoon as we were frequently doing , they were very kind and the breakfasts were getting bigger the longer we stayed there :-)

Bernie and Kenny are connected and will sort pretty much anything out for you from motorbikes from the friendly Mr Kosin around the corner , travel agents for trips just along the road , taxis to and from anywhere , keeping stuff like your passports and valuables locked away , where to eat , what bars to go to , what partys are going on and much more , whatever you want to do.

The rooms we had were "beachfront" yeah they all say that don't they and when you get there you are actually a 200 metre walk away , well the 2 most expensive ones at the front that we had are just a piece of decking from the beach and the beach isn't that big so you are about 20-30ft from the water and can hear the waves as you get hypnotised to sleep night after night.

Oh and the hammocks are something else you have to try them i slept the night in one very comfortable !

One thing to warn white skinned brits about is the sun , it's evil and it hurts for days if you get burnt , i had factor 50 it wasn't high enough , be warned , dose up but if you do get caught out there's nobetter place to chill out and do bugger all than Hansa resort :-)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have just got back from a 16 day stay at this amazing resort. My only regret is that i had to leave. From the moment i and my friend arrived we were made to feel utterly at home. We stayed in the beach front bungalows and they couldn't have been better. Lovely design and decor and with a fantastic view over Koh Samui during the day (from the bed) and an even better view of the electrical storms at night!

Although the best place in the resort has to be the lounge/bar area or 'The big table' as it affectionately known! Perfect for meeting other guests (or friends as they become) and talking about the days goings on and tomorrow's plans or the evenings expectations. Everyone that i saw pass through the place was very friendly and chilled out, and i seemed to have a whole bunch of new best friends :o)

The management of Hansa (owner kenny and top man bernie) are the frendliest people you could meet and have all the information about whats going on,where to go to get good deals on bike hire and trips out around on the island and also 'whats hot whats not on' the party scene and anything at all really! we had many great nights either out on the town at the bars or sitting around the big table drinking beer and listening to the coolest music (although i like to think i added to that)

And i have to comment on the other staff aswell, the food was amazing! every single dish i ate was a real treat, even getting to try some dishes not on the menu at the suggestion of the management! you get truly looked after here. All 4 girls are the friendliest you could meet, always having a chat, nothing too much trouble, i really can't say enough about them, another perfect piece to this beautiful exotic hide away on ban tai beach. and where else does the level of trust exist? no money changes hands if you want something from the bar or kitchen, just ask the girls and they sort it for you, or if they are busy just shout 'im getting a beer man' and go and get it from the bar yourself. all monies sorted on a weekly/what you fancy basis. utterly civilised.

I can't say enough about Hansa resort, the holiday of a lifetime made so much better by the Hansa team. I'll be going back there many times now as i have made so many good friends there! Perfect.

One last thing, Big Up to Edward and Zombie!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the beach front bungalows, nothing beats the view day or night and the waves can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
723 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#45 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
288 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
1.6 mi away
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
#15 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Beach Resort

Address: 52/5 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £24 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hansa Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hansa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing