We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why it has any bad reviews!”
Review of Sun Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Sea Resort
Ranked #64 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

After reading the bad reviews we decided to book this place for the full moon party as it was one of the cheaper options even though we were slightly apprehensive!

However, I can barely say a bad thing about sunsea resort, perhaps the location lets it down as there's really not a lot around it and to get to haadrin (full moon party location and nearest down) we had to pay 100 baht each, each way. The shower pressure is also pretty weak in the evenings so I wouldn't definitely advise showering in the morning/day, especially if you're a girl trying to wash your hair!

The pros:
It's run by a lovely family, the children get involved and they will try to do everything they can to help, eg, arrange taxis, give you a lift, and book ferry/subsequent travel tickets.

It is right on a nice beach and there is a hammock area which is shaded which is super relaxing.

They have their own restaurant which has a lot of choice (western and Thai food) which is reasonably priced and really nice.

The air con in the bungalows is really good, probably the best we've had whilst travelling Thailand over the last month. The rooms also have fridges which is handy.

I would probably stay here again if I was to visit koh phanang for a second time, however I may try to find somewhere closer to more civilisation!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We rented their motorbike and got an accident that broke a few plastic frames parts of the it. A bike garage in the ara said 3,000 THB is enough to fix it but the hotel forced us to pay 20,000 THB.

If you come mainly for Full Moon Party it's not a good location. You have to pay 100 THB per person for a drive there, same price on the way back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teesid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in the resort for 4 nights. The bungalows were lovely but only certain bungalows actually had a sea view, but they are all a 30 second walk to the beach so we didn't mind.
There is a nice restaurant there which was a little expensive but nice food. There is a hammock area which was awesome.
It is owned by a lovely family who are very helpful. They will arrange anything for you including taxis.
There are no proper shops nearby but there was a little local shop a 1 min walk away. If you walk along the beach there are some nice bars including the lounge bar.
Its very quiet for the full moon party but only a 10 min taxi ride to the party for 100bt each.
It was lovely and relaxing and was like living in paradise for a few days.
Only reason I didn't give it full marks is because there's no WiFi in the rooms, only the restaurant area.

Room Tip: The air con was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

we stayed at this hotel 5 days in March.

not well located, there is nothing around close except a small shop selling chips for expensive price and a bar which seems to be a "lady bar". closest restaurant is the one of the hotel of course or with a 20 minutes walk on the beach. each time you want to move, you have to take a tuk tuk (one way was fixed price - 100THB)

amazing beach in front, beautiful sunsets, good common area with hammocs. place very very quite all the time, even when there is the full moon party. they have lockers you can use with your own padlock.
the hotel restaurant is good but quite expensive (i mean, everything is expensive in Ko Phangan anyway).

the room are ok. we had only a fan, worked well, but the bathroom was quite a mess, cockroaches and cold water.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayana1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beziersleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanouy Gardens
Tanouy Gardens
#79 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Palais Hotel
Le Palais Hotel
#2 of 3 in Baan Tai
6 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
0 mi away
Wild & Wandering Backpacker Hostel & Bar
6.1 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Sea Resort

Address: 26/6 Moo4, Thong Yang Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £9 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Sea Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sun Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing