We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 139 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the Bay Lounge resort a little set back from the venue of the Full Moon Party about 3km. However the rooms with the view of the sea onto the private beach is absolutely stunning. The large windows give the room an airy , light, feel, which is refreshing. The staff were simply amazing , friendly, courteous and helpful. They picked me up from the pier and delivered me to the resort. They even took the liberty to drop me off and pick me up from the 7/11 store so i could pick up some sundries. The resort is warm and welcoming and it is very easy to get to know the staff . It was the personal touch to my individual needs that I liked , from booking tours and making reservations for dinner to making polite conversation. A very enjoyable stay. A DJ comes in once a week who also plays at the Fullmoon Party who I thought was excellent and it does liven up the place. The resort does not attract the backpacker type, more for couples and or groups of friends. It's a place to relax away from the banging tunes of Haad Rin and after a busy morning / afternoon of activities and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 899sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for the half moon party. The location is great and the rooms were right on the water. The beds were super comfortable and the room was nice and clean. If you like super hot showers though don't look for that here. Shower was lukewarm. Also the hotel was the "official" hotel for the Half moon party but yet charged us for getting UV body paint on their towels (we were charged about $11 USD), however to be fair they do warn you about this but I think it's kind of ridiculous. Also keep in mind this property is located at the bottom of a steeep hill and most taxi drivers do not go down to drop you off so you have to walk with your luggage down this super steep hill. The restaurant at the hotel was above average and fairly priced as well and the staff was pretty nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The location is nice, great view, however it is in the middle of nowhere, and the water on the beach is too shallow to swim in.
However the location is mainly beautiful, and the resort nice and clean, but the main problem is the staff. The housekeeping is not cleaning the room, even after asking for it several times nothing happend. So we end up cleaning our room by ourselves and just asking for toilet paper, because even that was lacking... They write in the hotel description that you would get free bottles of water in your room, but since no housekeeping is ever coming, of course you are not getting any water in the room. Even worse is the staff at the reception (two women), rude is just an understatement... you just can be lucky if they have "a good day" and allow your beach towels to be changed. But it also happened that we had to share one beach towel for several days... Within this rude staff, the outstanding people are the waiters, who are also helping you with luggage, kayak etc. they are amazingly polite, trying to help you wherever they can.
In total it is a nice resort, but on the way to Haad Rin beach there are several resorts which are nicer, more central, and where we would chose to go next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maajaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

staff were rude - pretended they could not understand english when we asked for anything and then one day they could understand us when their manager was there!! (the manager herself was lovely!!!) we had to ask for our room to be cleaned everyday which was only done 3 out of the 5 times we asked! food is nothing special and pricey compared to the island. rooms were small nothing special. beach was nice and nice views but water is shallow so cant swim. oh the the hill to get to the hotel is not a hill it is a small mountain!! taxi's would not go down there and to try and get down the hill after a few buckets is so dangerous!

Room Tip: do bother! much better places around!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxfkxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Firstly, there is supposedly free transfer from the ferries to the hotel, however this isn't mentioned until you arrive at your hotel in a taxi you've paid for.

Secondly, this hotel is situated down such a steep hill, that literally no taxis are willing to drop you off at the hotel or pick you up. Instead, you have to walk up/down this crazy hill to get anywhere. It's a bit frustrating when you get dumped there with suitcases. The hotel provides some taxi service that will pick you up from the bottom of the hill, but it seems unofficial, the prices are chosen randomly, and we waited almost an hour for pick up.

We were very kindly upgraded to a beachfront room, but this was because it was low season (June) and there were no other hotel guests. The room was very small and smelled like mildew but was nicely decorated and we were given two bottles of water a day. Bathroom is a big shower room. Mosquitos are a problem.

The pool and beach area is nice with a good sunset view. Beach isn't really swimmable. It's very hard to stay there if you want to see the island as it feels far from anything else. The woman who runs the hotel is friendly and helpful with perfect English. Staff are generally sweet except one woman behind the bar, who seemed to have a constant frown.

Breakfast was included for us and was simple but good. Also, power was out with no warning/apology/attempt to compensate for a good few hours. This is quite a big deal in that sort of heat and frustrating to lose charging and wifi capabilities. The shower is also electric, so we lost that too.

Room Tip: I think we had the best room, and it wasn't great. If you're in the low season, don't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaacisseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Brilliant if you goin half moon party because of preparty drink is little high priced. Didn't enjoy the food rooms lovely view lovely. Can't really swim in d sea though cause the water doesnt get deep for ages and ya keep banging your foot on rocks

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over half moon, had a nightmare before arriving with another resort and the lovely staff were incredibly helpful and kind to us and sorted us out with a room last minute. Room was spotless and minimalist but had a fridge, safety deposit box and music player. Nice big queen bed too. is on its own private bay with a pool just above the beach so it has great views - lovely place to read a book! Bar is a really cool place with chilled music and regular live dj sets. over the half moon transport to the jungle party and entry (which is normally 500 baht) is sorted for you!! Breakfast included american, asian or fruit,yoghurt and toast. free kayak rental and transport to/from the pier and twice daily into haad rin! would recommend to anyone looking for an intimate and pituresque resort with a 2nd home feeling! Definately the staff that make this place .... p.s. dont miss out on happy hour cocktails .... great for watching the sun go down with by the pool!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.8 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
1.8 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
548 reviews
6.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,570 reviews
2 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE BAY Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE BAY Resort & Restaurant

Address: 32/6 Moo 4, Bankai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £30 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THE BAY Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your THE BAY Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing