We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am missing my daily yoga!”
Review of The Yoga Studio - CLOSED

The Yoga Studio
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I am missing my daily yoga!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Being a total yoga newbie made me a tad nervous about participating in a two hour Hatha yoga class, but I loved it from the get to, and attended the affordable classes almost every day that I spent on Koh Phangan.

Mel is an amazing instructor, very perceptive and hands on, she helped me stretch further, meditate deeper and breath better during every class with her dedicated and personable approach. I noticed significant improvements in my flexibility and balance after only a couple of classes.

Afterwards, my friend and I would eat lunch at the vegan restaurant attached - the food was so, so good...I still dream of it. Noodle and rice bowls, and big, fresh salads. Veggies, tofu, tempeh and sauces and dressings to die for. It was so good to eat such nourishing food, chat with Mel and cuddle her and Top's cute dogs, John and Pema.

So great, a definite highlight of my trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lidia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I loved this place”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I really enjoyed my time on the island largely because of how wonderful and healthy I felt. The Yoga Studio was a huge part of that experience. Waking up early and walking to a 2 hour session of Hatha yoga, followed by genuinely healthy and lovingly prepared food was just what I needed after the crowded streets of Bangkok. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get into the more relaxing side of Koh Phangan.
The Yoga instructor, Melanie, is a straight up gem. She teaches with a direct and articulate approach that had me stretching further and meditating more deeply than I have at any other studio at home in Melbourne, Australia.
My friend and I came here for lunch and dinner. The food is healthy and light whilst being deceptively filling! The juice shakes and rice bowls are divine and the only trouble I had there was deciding what to get because everything was too good. Mel and her partner are so lovely and friendly, I felt like I was visiting friends.
If you like yoga or have always wanted to try it you should come here. Come to eat too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing yoga and wonderful food!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Myself and partner spent 3 days doing yoga with Mel and eating at the vegan cafe. I am used to yoga but it was my partners first time, we were both really impressed. The sessions last just under 2 hours and the classes are generally quite small therefore Mel is able to give a lot of personal attention to every student so the classes are really fantastic value for money.

The vegan cafe serves amazingly fresh tasting healthy food and juices. My partner who is a big meat eater thought the food was great, which is about the biggest compliment I can think of!!

We also bought a painting from Top who runs the gallery attached to the studio which is beautiful and certainly worth a look - he has a wonderful diverse range of paintings, so beautiful.

If you are in the area the yoga studio is a must see! I would go back to Koh phanghan for much longer next time to enjoy more!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerrywheldon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“keep in touch with your practice”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Mel and her studio are a great option to stay in touch with your
practice and do some yoga in a good space with the necessary facilities.
located 10 minutes walk from the main street toward
thong nai phan noi - its fairly easy to find and a great start (10 am) to the day.
price seems fair and there was a discount for a full week .
seems best fitting for people who all ready practices yoga.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ori_bz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yoga Studio also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing