We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mason's Arms

The Mason's Arms
Ranked #64 of 355 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Want a taste of delicious home cooked food? Visit the Masons Arms English Pub during your stay on Koh Phangan. Air-conditioned smoke free restaurant. Free Wifi and Jukebox. Pool and darts, live football, open mic nights, extensive menu, with take away service. Good selection of beer and cider. UK Military Discount offered.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good night out”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Mason's Arms is a typical English Pub but set in Thailand. The hosts and the staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome from the moment you step in through the door. You can drink or eat either indoors or in the extensive grounds to the front and back of the pub. The food is excellent, freshly cooked and served up in enormous portions. A really friendly place and if you want a taste of England away from home there is no better place to go. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    41
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Idea but could be much better”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Love the idea of home from home food when you are travelling for a long period of time, but this just isnt up to scratch! The pub looks great but the food is basically just freezer to microwave to plate. Make the menu smaller and actually cook the food!! And then you will be onto a winner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good night out”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Masons Arms is a piece of England in Thailand. The staff are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome from the moment you step in the door. The food is of a very good quality and I can't find fault with the place. I have spent many a pleasant evening here. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great looking pub shocking food”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend came to this place because drove past it and couldnt believe found a pub that looks like something from back home. Went there that evening surprised how it literally is a perfect copy of a typical country pub from back home. .Hats off to owner for design however and a big however we ate there after seeing reviews, lets just say me and my girlfriend were laughing about whether these reviews were genuine. Anyone from England will know that this food is basically he cheapest pub grub like a weatherspoons u can get. I ordered the macaroni cheese as review said it was good, whoever on the reviews below said it was, definitely aint from the uk. The owner has literally got the macaroni cheese in a can u get in uk and brought them here, the peas from a can and chips from bag to fryer. My girlfriend had fish cakes were like ones u would probably find in Iceland supermarket straight in the oven, heinz beans obviously from can and same chips as me, we were sat there wondering if any cooking physically had been done. For those prices in thailand u would expect it to be especially when u could get same in England in a cheap pub for same worked out at 4-5 pound each. If u want english grub or home away from home food go to thai place more likely to put effort in and at least try and will be cheaper. We are actually annoyed at how muh effort the owner has made designing and perfecting english pub but serves up what he knows would literally be cheapest of the cheap in uk.

Helpful?
Thank adham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Came here on Christmas Day 2013 for a Christmas roast and it was perfect. Only cost 500b for a full roast dinner including 7 pieces of turkey a large Yorkshire pudding and plenty of roast potatoes and veg. Atmosphere was great and very busy Xmas day but they still got the food out to us quick and was very large portions. Came back a week later for a Sunday roast costing 290b was just as good as before but with roast chicken. Would recommend to anyone visiting the island

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AimeeJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mason's Arms also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Mason's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing