We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross.”
Review of OM Ganesh Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OM Ganesh Hostel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gross.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The location is great. Right next to the pier and sunrise beach for full moon party. We didn't stay at the time for a full moon so we thought the price was expensive.
The bathrooms stink like rotten eggs, and there are 4 showers which drizzle and cut out at times. These showers accommodate for up to 65 guests!!
The actual rooms were okay, they were fairly clean and the AC was effective but the wifi didn't work in the rooms so we had to sit in the uncomfortable and hot lobby.
There was one member of staff who very slowly checked us in and spent half an hour changing one bed in our room in the morning, which was very annoying as we wanted to get changed.
There is nowhere to keep food or cook. There are small safes for valuables downstairs but you need your own padlock. There is no communal living area for socialising so it was quite depressing.
This place is alright for a night or two of sleep in a bed, but the bathrooms are horrific and you should haggle a better price outside of full moon times.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
1
3
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really good place, the people are very nice, the guy govinda is the best guy ever, he is the security, a very strong man. He works 24 hours and watch your stuff . The food and the buckets are delicious and it is a nice place for pre partying! The toilet and the showers are clean, the rooms are good and very cold.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely filthy. Bathrooms in an absolute state and went uncleaned the duration of my two night stay. It was just gross. Don't go there. I swear. Even if you're desperate like we were. You'd probably be happier sleeping on the street with dogs.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during full moon was brilliant good location, free indian buffet and free bucket what more could you want. Staff were lovely and very helpful, good music was a bonus to get you into full moon spirit.Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porterlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We add a very good time at Om Ganesh Hostel in koh Phangan, The is well located not to close, not far from the beach so you can sleep (if you want). It was very clean, they have all the service and accommodation we needed. They also take good care about the security, what is for me very important specially the night of the full moon party. The hospitality of the employee, the owner and is family is exceptional. I recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Initially booked 4 nights there, in arrival I'm am greeted by the managers son, to nothing more than a construction site. They are currently undergoing building work which was advertised nowhere when we booked. We thought maybe ignore the booking and look elsewhere, but asked to see the room first - which was 'okay' as we'd booked and the first night had already been paid for we thought stick it out and see how it goes. This is where things went from bad to much worse. We are taken to the room, which is somewhat clean, but a tiny dirty mirror, no bin, minimal sockets to charge your phone etc. but the biggest things was - no key. I asked thinking they forgot to give it to us, but no, we are not allowed a key, the door is to therefore be left open at all times, and there are security deposit boxes downstairs. I went to put our passports etc in the safety deposit box and was told no no, there's us no need, as we were the only people in the room (other people probably had the sense to walk away just seeing be building), it is safe in the room (I disagreed and ignored him being that we couldn't even lock the door).

The showers and toilets at just a place of no matter how hard you scrub you just won't get clean. The sinks has a layer of dust from all the building work, they didn't look like they'd been cleaned for weeks.

Just to had insult to injury, the beds...well it would be more comfortable to sleep on a wooden box.

After our 'delightful' night sleep I was woken up at 8am to drills and hammers. Whilst getting dressed at no earlier than 9am, the owners son feels this is a fit time to come into the room and clean if - many people could still be sleeping at this time, or as I said, I was changing.

All this wouldn't be so bad if the place was a good location but it was still a 10-15m walk to the main beach in haad rin. Or if prehaps the staff were friendly and helpful, the owners son can't speak English, and both owners (brothers) are so rude it's shocking.

Unfortunately that day, I noticed my sister had developed quite a bad infection in her foot, having seen a doctor she needed to go to hospital for treatment. Even though we booked four nights, we had to leave early, explaining my sister needed to go to the hospital. Not only was there no empathy, or assistance with transport. They genuinely didn't care, refusing to give us back our deposit for the room (1000baht) as we were leaving early.....there words were when I said my sister must go to hospital were 'its not our problem'.
I was disgusted!

To anyone thinking of staying there, please please think again, it was an awful experience. I don't normally write reviews, as I normally feel sometimes people can have a bad experience even in nice places, by this was all round a terrible place to stay - location, staff, security, cleanliness etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACH0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Was here in May for the full moon party with 3 of my friends for 3 night. This was our last stop of a 2 week trip around Thailand and Cambodia. Out of all of the hostels we've stays at this was by far the best. Very Clean. The washrooms were spotless, Shower area was very clean. They provide you free coffee, Tea and Water. First they had a free BBQ which got the whole hostel outside and got to know a lot of people there. also gave us a 100 Bhat off of a full moon party Tshirt and a Free bucket. Right before the full moon party they gave free body painting. Amazing place. If you are going for the full moon party this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunndrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OM Ganesh Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OM Ganesh Hostel

Property: OM Ganesh Hostel
Address: 130/1 Haad Rin | Ban Tai Subdistrict, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 367 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellow sawasdeekhrap and warmly welcome from om ganesh hostel . om ganesh hostel build since 2010. we have 15 room with 138 share dorm bed. with full airconditions and ciling fan . we have 4 room with 14 bed dorm. 1 room with 12 bed dorm. 2 room with 1o bed dorm. 1 room with 8 bed dorm .and 7 room with 6 bed dorm , also we have 3 private double bed room. all guest can recieved free indian buffet dinner one day before full moon party and freee bucket on full moon night with freee budy paint, our aim is before build hostel most all people can stay we means for bagpack. cheap and comfirtable . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your OM Ganesh Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing