We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for comfortable Haad Rin away from FMP beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant

Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 129 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for comfortable Haad Rin away from FMP beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for the required 5 nights for the Full Moon Party. We were three people in a triple room (one single, one queen bed) on the main floor in the building on the same side as the reception. Our room was just what we needed. We had good AC, a clean room, and cable TV (for hangover maintenance time). The WiFi was a bit temperamental - it kicks you off if there are too many simultaneous users - but you just have go to the front desk and reset it (and then rush to be one of the first back on again.

Overall, our stay was great. The woman at reception was initially not friendly, but she warmed up to us eventually. She is very particular about the use of neon paint - you think you're not going to, then you get in the FMP spirit and next thing you know you glow in the dark - so don't use the paint in your room or you will be charged for damages. The hotel is right on Sunset Beach, but the beach is not actually a place where you can sit or go swimming, it's dirty. Instead walk the 6 minutes to the actual Haad Rin beach, or go somewhere up the island (there are incredible beaches away from the main FMP area!). You can walk anywhere in Haad Rin, so don't worry about 'missing the action', you will be right there in a five minute walk. On party nights, the the walk feels like walking into a music festival or concert. You have tons of bucket vendors, and partiers lining every street - then you get to the beach, and well, you know... craziness!

Back to the hotel - yeah it's expensive for FMP nights. Deal with it. If you stay somewhere that's not walking distance you will end up paying for it over and over and over again as you feed all your cash to the taxi pickup truck mafia. If you want to stay somewhere close to the party that is not thousands of dollars, this is a great bet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Haad Rin, mainly for the Half Moon party.
The room was the most expensive of all of our trip, and was clean and pleasant.
Unfortunately the tap broke in the bathroom the first day (the water pressure is ridiculously high for such a small shower), which flooded everything.
They also kept repeatedly badgering us about not using UV paint in the room, which we never intended to do, but they harassed us about it every time we saw them.
There was no toilet roll, we had to buy our own, and the room wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there which is kind of annoying what with all the sand and bits you unintentionally walk in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hostel was very expensive compared to everywhere else when we were travelling Thailand (£36 a night so about 10x the price infact) but it was nice and on Sunset beach so out of the way of the full moon beach in Haadrin but still only a 5 minute walk! The only issue was they clean the rooms every 3 days and for £36 in Thailand I would expect them to do this alot more! We had to ask and we also had to ask for more loo roll.. one for 3 people sharing is not adequate! It was a nice room though, howvever next time I wouldn't pay this much as other people paid about £5!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Booked a 'bungalow' for 5 nights during the full moon period, the bungalow was actually a room that was upstairs in a complex, didn't really bother me just thought it was weird. They expect 50% of the room cost when booking online which is a bit of a nuisance but has to be done to confirm booking. The remaining cost of the room had to be paid when we arrived, again a bit annoying.

The resort is situated on Sunset road, around a 5-10 minute stroll to the full moon beach. It's surrounded by a few other bungalow resorts and numerous minimarts. Our room was right next to the sunset beach, the beach itself is not quite idyllic but it makes for a nice view. I would advise swimming elsewhere on the island.

The room itself is well presented, we had a double and a single in our room, with hammock on the balcony. The bathroom is adequate, however you have to ask for toilet roll from reception every time you run out. The shower area is not seperated well from the rest of the bathroom which means the floor gets quite wet, it's also an open air bathroom so it can get very hot if you spend too long in there.

We had A/C, TV and a fridge in our room which all worked very well, the a/c held up well during temperatures of 30+ making the room very bearable at night.

+ Proximity to sunrise beach/party area
+ WiFi (albeit patchy)
+ Hammock
+ Sunny everyday (August)

- Open air bathroom
- Frequent power cuts
- Not the cheapest
- The beach
- Staff aren't overly friendly and expect money up front

Take your key card off the keyring and you can have the a/c keeping the room nice for when you return from the heat of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Paradise
Little Paradise
#118 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarana Bungalows
Sarana Bungalows
#29 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#36 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rin Beach Resort
Rin Beach Resort
#85 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban Tai Resort
Ban Tai Resort
#20 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant

Property: Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant
Address: 110/4 Moo 6 | Tambon Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing