We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day out, Perfect hangover Cure”

The Challenge Phangan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.93*
and up
Day Pass to The Challenge Phangan in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ***PLEASE NOTE THE CHALLENGE PHANGAN WILL BE CLOSED FROM MARCH 31st TO APRIL 7th FOR SEMI ANNUAL RENOVATIONS!!*** The Challenge Phangan is a heart-pumping, limit-testing, epic water obstacle course, Located on the tropical paradise island, Koh Phangan, Thailand. Test your skills and see how quickly you can complete the tricky and exhilarating course, or just try for fun! Comprising of rope swing, stepping stones, monkey bars, rolling barrels, climbing mountain, balance beams, swinging shapes and the infamous big red balls, the course has something for every ability. See how high you can fly and get launched off The Blob! Beat the clock and earn yourself a place in The Challenge Phangan leader board wall of fame! After a workout, take a break; fill up in the restaurant, and try out our delicious menu. Cocktail happy hour is everyday between 4pm-6pm. Opening hours are from 10:00am - 6:00pm. Use of the Kayaks is also free to any paying Challenge Phangan customer! Head to our 'Book Now' page to get in on the action! Select the date you wish to visit the park and keep a copy of your checkout receipt for reference when you arrive. CHILDREN'S POLICY: Anybody under the age of 18 MUST wear a life-jacket. Any child under the age of 10 MUST be accompanied by an adult in the water at all times.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Day out, Perfect hangover Cure”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Loved this for a day out in between all of the partying and drinking. Staff were friendly, Atmosphere was chilled and we stayed most of the day. Had food and although it wasn't as cheap as a lot of the options in Phangan it was still good value and wasn't bad.

Found the course to be Challenging but fun! Swing into the lake was actually a small thing bucket list so it kinda made my day i plucked up the courage to do it!

:)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrainneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    26
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buriram, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dumb, Dangerous. Bad Food and Expensive”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This Cheesy place is a good idea gone wrong. Total tourist trap!
The building itself looks cool, kind of a large Balinese style pavilion overlooking a lake. But the food is absolutely horrible and over priced.
The course is very dangerous, lots of steel framing and cables everywhere. A Big group was there when we were and people were getting stacked at all the obstacles sometimes having to tread water while waiting for a place to open. The water is murky and muddy.
I'd recommend it only to sit and have a beer while laughing at the slapstick comedy in the lake, but nothing more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiamYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get ready for some serious fun!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went to Phangan Wipeout as part of Backpackers Thailand Eco Discovery Tour (look up their Full Moon Party package for more details - would definitely recommend!) and had the best time!
First, you get to swing into the lake (I was too chicken to do it, but looked like fun!) and then you do an obstacle course around the lake. If you want to just chill out at any point, there's floating loungers in the lake. Or, you can really challenge yourself by timing yourself completing the course! The "Big Red Balls" are a serious challenge, especially with the promise of a free tshirt if you can complete them! No one in my group was able to complete them - but then we were all showed up by a 9-year-old!!! (Personally, it was enough of a challenge on my upper-body strength to even get up on the island in the first place!)
Such a fun day out (you'll be wrecked after it) - would DEFINITELY recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Had so much fun here, 3 of us went the whole place had a great atmosphere, there was quite few people there some were eating and chilling whilst others were on the course. The course us great its a challenge but it doesnt have to be taken seriously ! We went round together having a laugh and doing the obstacles. The thing at the end where they throw you up is so scary but needs to be done. If u ask for life jacket on this then it doesnt hurt if u hit water on your stomach. Food was great and nice to relax after the course. Guys who run it was great and helped u do the swing at the start until u got hang of it then bu can do it on your own. Also a couple of people got timed which is good to watch they blow a whistle for this so you have to respect therr attempt and move to the side. 500baht definitely well spent!

Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This place was my favourite part of Thailand so far and I've been here for 3 weeks. We visited in April and it was hot and sunny so obviously the lake was a perfect place to spend the day. I've always wanted to do something like this and it was soo fun! There is a bar/restaurant with reasonably priced food and drinks and a perfect view of everyone wiping out. It was 500 baht to get in which I think is a great price and I'm on a budget. The only thing I was not super pleased with was service in the restaurant. I felt like every time I ordered a snack or drink I was bothering them.

Overall: don't miss it! It's so much fun for everyone and at a very fair price.

Here's a link to a video going through it the course:
http://youtu.be/AptR2mJxgsQ

Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Challenge Phangan also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Challenge Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing