We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget all the way...”
Review of Island View Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island View Cabana
Ranked #96 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
International
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Budget all the way...”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

when you pay 400thb a night you can't really argue. You get a beach bungalow very near others (meaning noise); on the beach, rustic. To be fair it is pretty scenic, relaxed and quiet; plus staff were friendly. Snorkeling was ok if nothing special. Mostly families, couples and young groups when we were there. There is a little beach bear down the end of the beach with good pina coladas. That's about it so don't expect more...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    27
    15
    18
See reviews for
8
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Many bungalows by the water are around 900-3000 baht.at nicer places . Here theybrange from 400- 1500. If u want cheap then go here.. if u are a complainer dont! This place has no sense of service. If the staff set fire of your bungalow in the middle of the night, dont expect an apology. The 21 year old "manager" would simply tell you "not my fault" and walk away. We traveled with a show dog (minpin), and the pack of stray dogs that live on the premises howled and scrapped at my dog all night and tried to kill our dog. I felt hunted. "Manager" says " not our dogs". I say " but they live in one of the bungalows" she says " your dog not allowed". The nerve. This "resorts" goal is to collect money and not interact with guests. If u have problem. , they rather u leave and not come back. Dogs always walk into restaurant asking for food. They make non attempt to clean up dogs and make beach a safe place. Also manager admitted that the dogs have bitten guests before!. Still no effort to get ride of them..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2005boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arrived at the beach on the 5th October, viewed the cheapest hut - 500 baht, and we laughed as we looked inside for two seconds, and then walked back out.
The second hut was 1200 baht, but we haggled for 1000. It wasn't good, but we were tired so took it. Big mistake!
Hut 19 was dark, even with three lights on, the shower head broke, the shower was weak, the sink tap was useless, the mattress was very uncomfortable, the linen was sticky!!!! There were bugs in the bed, no windows, and the wooden shutters let in light, the insects got through all the gaps in the woodwork, the dogs were yelping outside, and we had the worst night's sleep throughout our stay in Thailand.
Wifi is only accessible from the restaurant.
On the plus side...The fridge worked!

Baguettes in the restaurant were nice, but prices are poor.

Koh Ma is a tip, the beach is not pristine, and we viewed several resorts in that specific area. Avoid and do a day visit. Haad Salad beach is much better.

Room Tip: Go to haad salad beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

One posive point, the beach and the island view... Many negative points: overpriced restaurant and low quality of food, overpriced services ( ie. Laundry), they want be paid immediately at the beginning of your stay. Quality of bungalows could be improved.
Conclusion: enjoy the bungalows view but I suggest strongly to eat in the sympatic thaï restaurants nearby the resort

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JF D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We booked a seafront bungalow in advance. After arriving to the reception we noted that the prices are higher (with 200 THB) if you book in advance than "walk-in" prices. Although it was Full moon party season, there were lot of empty bungalows. I read a lot of reviews where lack of cleaning was put as a negative thing-as we were informed, cleaning is done only on request. Overall the accomodation is good, our bungalow was a little bit dark, but we did not spend too much time there. Beautiful sunsets can be seen from the balcony, beach is good as well for swimming and snorkeling. Don't go there is you do not want to meet geckos (we had our own gecko outside the bungalow).
Prices for laundry, internet, snorkel rental , massage are higher than in other places situated in the neighborhood. I would say price of bungalow (1700 THB/night) was a little bit high as well compared to other prices in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ildi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I recently stayed here for 1 night (planned for 2 but moved out early as it was really quite poor...). Had a third row bungalow with fan and hot water (pretty pointless in this climate and in this kind of accommodation, ie budget backpacker type). I would have been ok with this for 300B (10 USD) but it was 500B (£10), same price as a 10x better accommodation in the next bay as I later found out... Anyway, what really did it for me was the attitude when I complained about a leak (it rained heavinly at night) which resulted in my shoes being completely soaked and the response I got was really quite shocking. Absolutely no apology and a level of rudeness I have not encountered in quite a long time. On the plus side, the restaurant is decent with very lovely (mainly Burmese) staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKeenFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Ma Beach Resort & Spa
Koh Ma Beach Resort & Spa
#168 of 375 in Ko Pha Ngan
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phangan Utopia Resort
Phangan Utopia Resort
#36 of 375 in Ko Pha Ngan
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#4 of 375 in Ko Pha Ngan
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
My Way Bungalows
My Way Bungalows
#84 of 375 in Ko Pha Ngan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Cabana

Property: Island View Cabana
Address: 106/3 Moo 7 | MaeHaad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Cabana 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island View Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing