We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quiet getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet getaway!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Quiet, serene location: tranquility!
Friendly, service minded staff.
Clean, spacious villas, we stayed in Villa 21. Great with own pool.
European owners influenced aesthetic, very nice.
Great food, pricey by Thai standards.

Downside: Location offers little else, great for quiet getaway. Some restaurants are further up the beach around the bend, recommended.
Ongoing refurbishment at the time of our stay detracted a little on the general overall impression.

Tip: Amsterdam Bar, vis a vis main entrance. Best sunset and drinks on Koh Phangan!

Overall we had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    116
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
102
373
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very enjoyable holiday in Koh Phangan Kupu Kupu, Beautiful sunset from the beach. Enjoyed a boat tour on offer is very challenging. Beautiful scenery, a touch of the arrangement of rooms and environments are unique and charming. Friendly service. Will definitely come again. want to share to all colleagues for a vacation in Kupu Kupu Phangan

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyoman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moskova, Rusya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked a beach villa for 10 nights with my wife. First Night we stayed at villa 28- but could not sleep all night because of the bad smell of toilet, also the voice of the air-con!! Morning i talked to management, they changed our villa to oher side, villa : 14, it was better, but all same! shower with electricity water heater! toilet is also like a 3 star hotel- no ventilation, shover gel, shampoo like dish-soap! You pay like 5 star, but service and room quality is only 3 star!

Prices included with breakfast, but there are only 3 type breaksfast, what you can choose, Thai, European and American, after 3 days, you can be bored, what you should eat!!! The prices is 3-5 times expensive than town restaurants, Evening, if you want to eat hotel, you have to pay around 1000-1500 Baht for a dinner for a person, and that time there was a French Chef, only French Meals, or you should go to town, but it is not easy, you should find a taxi, or rent a bike!! If you are not a good moto-bike driver, it can be risky, we had a small accident :( In town, there are local restaurant, open air food seller, what you can choose, yes maybe not very hygenic, but tasty.

Hotel is nice, slient, place, you can relax, but not ideal sea for swim, only knee level, maybe it can be good family with children. you can relax at your villa and your private pool, but be careful, i had an ear infection from the private pool, although they disinfect the private pool regularly.

Also be careful, the hotel management charge 3% extra, if you wish to pay with credit card. it was a bag surprise for us.

Looks like paradise, but after 1 night, you woke up from dream

Room Tip: Looks like paradise, but after 1 night, you woke up from dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyTurkeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We went 4 times in Ko Phangan and it is the first hotel in the Island we loved so much !
Everything is perfect , the location was so beautiful , with amazing sunset and very nice view on small islands , the garden was very charming with an incredible pool , the decoration in the room was just so nice with wood everywhere , very confortable , the private pool in front of the beach was a dream ...
all the people working inside were very kind and very profesional ,

We tasted the restaurant also , the food was delicious , and the place so good to eat or drink a cocktail with the wonderful sunset !

so the only thing we can say is I think it is certainly one of the best hotel in Ko Phangan , near Thong Sala wich is very convenient , if we have chance to come back in Ko Phangan we will go in Kupu Kupu for sure !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOUIS33ANTOINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at Kupu Kupu for a long stay during the beginning of April. What a disappointment. The staff was confused of anything on the menu and brought us the wrong drinks and food just about every time we ordered, food was way overpriced, cobwebs in all corners of my room. Safe has a constant malfunction and beeping, and despite the staffs efforts they just seem to be running around covering up imperfections. Just not the experience we were expecting. Yes the property is great and has a lot of potential, but to be honest they are just superbly unfit for service and unprofessional in their operations. Oh, not to mention our pool was foggy on it's best day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEPHRS308272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This has to be the most amazing place i have ever stayed ever!!!!
Myself and my husband were staying on the island after just getting married at the b52 resort and were looking for somewhere abit more luxurious to have our honeymoon, we couldn't have possibly picked better if we tried!! As soon as we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a villa by the pool number 29 and offered complimentary massages as it was our honeymoon!!
When we got to our room we were blown away it was stunning we had our own pool which we spent most of our time in and our room "wow" it was simply stunning beautiful bath and amazing big bed with beautiful drapes around it just perfect, i saw in another review someone complaining there wasn't any hot water you just request it at reception and they bring over a big tanks of steaming hot water and we had the most amazing bath. The breakfast is gorgeous i loved it and the bring it to your room so you can enjoy the beautiful balcony.
If you enjoy a spectacular view and outstanding sunset this is the place to go OMG the the most perfect location for the sunset, there is a bar opposite the resort called the amsterdam bar where people all gather especially for the sunset well the resorts has an even better view i was so impressed!!
I could go on and on about this place but one things for sure i highly recommend its paradise and we had the perfect honeymoon here its romantic, quiet, peaceful and beautiful, the staff are so friendly and always say hello and make you feel so welcome they speak perfect english and the manager is so lovely.
We would defiantly return without a doubt maybe for our anniversary and considering its only been open a few months its doing great theres only one thing that i will say thats a negative and that its very pricey drinks and food but that literally is it.
We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmat748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

For those who are going first time to the island of Koh Phangan, the Kupu Kupu is definitely one of the best, if not the best, hotel property on the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights in our beach front villa, and wished we could have stayed MUCH longer.

The staff attention to detail was excellent. We truly felt that we were waited on hand on foot. Everyone greeted you with a smile, and great attitude.

The property and accommodations are gorgeous. We had a truly comfortable stay ...two very big thumbs up there. Also, on an island where everything is so exposed (beaches are full public access), we felt very safe around the clock.

The one thing I will say is that the beach by the property is not the best for swimming. Being west facing, the beaches are mostly coral reef and very shallow making beach swimming very difficult. I would encourage anyone staying here to rent one of the properties motorbikes and explore the north east side of the island for this. It will also give you a chance to sample some of the great food and nightlife that the island has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
7.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
615 reviews
7.1 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Property: Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach | Nai Wok beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane Kupu Kupu Phangan is a quaint, 33 pool villas and 3 Suites resort that takes its influence in design and architecture from Thai culture, with a hint of Balinese charm. The traditional style villa using ceramic and Balinese wood is a trade mark of Kupu Kupu Resorts. Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. The Spa by L'Occitane incorporates two double treatment rooms facing an infinity pool with unparalleled sea view. It offers a customized menu of well-being and beauty rituals delivered using modern expertise to nurture the body, mind and spirit. Signature rituals, inspired by Provence, also address the effects of modern living using natural ingredients and the intuitive art of touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing