We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never come to this hotel again. Very expensive and no place to relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

1.There are building constructions directly behind the villas and next to the pool. You have noise everywhere in the hotel from 8 am to 5 pm. No Chance to relax.

2. cockroaches in the Villa.

3. beachvilla which should be next to the Beach is near by the normal Pool. No privacy, everybody stares at your terrace.

4. no Beach at all available with this hotel. This hotel has no beach. See photos. Only a small arena for 4 sunbeds in the Pool area have a little bit of sand sprinkled but you can see the blue plastic below the sand.

5. Service: signs like " Do not disturb" were ignorated.
Management dont care about anything.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Funnysunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear ‘’Funny Sunflower’’,

Thanks to share your comment regarding your stay with us, we are doing our very best to satisfy your needs.
When it comes to the beach , the dates of your stay were actually matching high tides on the Island, leaving a very small space of beach in front of our resort. We are aware of the issue but cannot control it. Our two natural sand sundecks with over 25 sun beds with a direct seaview are our alternative to the caprices of nature.

Regarding the privacy of your villa, our 20 villas are stipulated on a floor plan and categorized accordingly from a range going from deluxe beach front (On the beach), to sunset view (On the higher part of the resort). You select to stay in a sea view pool villa (Close to the beach but not on the beach) and we respect your booking. We are sincerely sorry you did not like our product and the location of your villa.

The hygiene in the hotel is our priority and finding a cockroach in your villa is not acceptable. We treat weekly the resort area for mosquitoes and other kind of flying insect and bugs that could bother your stay at the resort. Our housekeeping team is on the watch to keep the resort up to European standards for hygiene and eco-friendly chemicals.

To sum up, we sincerely regret that your stay was not up to your expectations and we invite you to book again to our resort where your privacy, villa location and overall stay will match your high expectations.

Sincerely

Fabrice L
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Truly stunning. Staying in the beach front villa and wish I could live there. Massive room with an awesome plunge pool. Spent hours reading and drinking in that pool. Make sure you stay here. Only a short tuk tuk to the main area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Phillip,

Thanks for sharing such a great comment about out our resort.
Our team is dedicated in making your stay perfect and unforgettable, We sincerely look forward to see you back soon in Kupu Phangan.

Warm regards

Fabrice Lopinto
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Best resort In Koh Phangan! Great location, close to Thongsala and the main pier. The main swimming pool is really nice. The view from all the Villas is just amazing. The breakfast is really good, which is not always easy to find in Thailand...
I stayed in Kupu Kupu twice, first time with my girlfriend and second time with my family. we all loved the place!
And last but not least, the staff is very friendly (restaurant and front office)! Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Front Office Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Antoine,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review of your recent Kupu Kupu experience.

It was indeed a pleasure to meet you recently and I am delighted to hear that our staff could meet up to your wishes.

We will be glad to welcome you for a third time.

Thank you again and warm regards
Offermans Ivo
Front Office Manager
ivo@kupuphangan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Kupu Kupu KP... A 10/10 place for couples.

November is usually a peak monsoon time in KP(Koh Phangan). We were warned by one and all. But it does not rain on a stretch for more than 4 days. There are sunny times during the day. Reading all this, we had taken a risk to visit Koh Phangan. Now the whole point is, if it is raining what do you do on an island? You need to stay in a property which will be perfect even during the rains.

So Kupu Kupu made the perfect sense among all the hotels that we checked in KP. Every villa in Kupu has a private pool which is perfectly cleaned everyday. It is very close to Thong Sala the main pier of KP and the market area, around 10 odd mins by Bike. It has Kayaks, snorkeling kits, lengthy outdoor pool, sun decks, Spa, restaurant and a small size beach area.
All in all it has everything.

But people bring the most out of this place. We stayed for 6 nights... too less after we came here and experienced this place. Ivo and Marine were fantastic. They were the reservation managers who made sure that we had no trouble during our stay. We even got a complimentary upgrade thanks to Marine and even shifted our Villa type to experience a new accommodation. Everything was flawless. Ivo's knowledge about the island provided us with an understanding as to what is the best possible things to see on the island... Beaches ofcourse... :)

Being jains, our food requirements were a bit tricky when it came to meeting them on this island. Fabick(Hope I have spelled it correct) the F&B manager was awesome. He understood our requirements and provided us with the best possible service that we dreamt off. Pen and Kan were so sweet. I come for a country where I have seen, super high standards of hospitality. Seeing them, I felt, I was at home. Their support and caring made sure my food requirements are met to perfection.

Few of the pleasant surprises that they gave were the cake, mousse, coconut water... I have started missing all of them as I am typing.

The whole staff is always next to you and providing you with the utmost service, while providing the best possible privacy.

The Villas were just too good. A big bath tub right in the corridor made sure that you do not be away for a lot of time from water on this island. The beds were nicely prepared by house keeping staff.

Well maintained bike, Kayaks, snorkeling kit showed that the resort cares a lot for their customers. I would say that the beach area is too small and usually you find the same after 4pm. But being a low lying area, you can walk in the water for a good amount of area and enjoying swimming without fear of depths. There are rocks near the resort which are natural photoshoot points. Snorkeling near them, will give you a chance to enjoy the fishes that swim nearby.

Away from the party places, the quietness provides you with utmost relaxation. Enjoy snorkeling in the morning after breakfast, private pool in the afternoon, kayak in the evening with sunset view and the blanket of stars in the night... what else do you need.....

For the first 4 days we did find ample sunlight, but when it started raining, it was pouring. So if you are coming in November only for water sports, do come with good time in hand. You never know when the weather can get rough.

it makes no sense if i recommend this property. I feel the person who reads this review and experiences what it is like by standing in my shoes will surely decide whats the best choice.

Looking forward to come back asap! Thanks hotel staff for providing us with the memorable stay of our lives!

Room Tip: All the villas have their own privacy levels. The private pool of each is visible from some place or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Front Office Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Karan,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at our resort.
I am delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our resort/hotel has to offer.

It was certainly my pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kupu Kupu Phangan soon.

Thank you again and warm wishes,
Offermans Ivo
Front Office Manager
ivo@kupuphangan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have stayed for a few nights in November.
Good service, friendly staff. Very clean, nice environment, beautiful garden and pool, very calm. Rooms are beautiful. In restaurant the food was great.
I'd recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gutanasamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in early October. Found this resort to be wonderful. Lovely staff, french girl on reception was very helpful. Rooms are amazing, beautiful, you have your own plunge pool. The views are truly wonderful. Food was great, especially the breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Beautiful hotel located in a very quiet area, not much to do around there so we took a taxi for the foodmarket at nights. The beach wasn't that great outside the hotel, but the private pool was amazing! Loved it! We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. The room was nice, but the bathroom doesn't fit the standard at all. We enjoyed our stay here very much and the staff were so sweet.:-) It's a great place for a romantic getaway!<3

Room Tip: We stayed on the left handside (If you're facing the ocean) close to the beach and we had sun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily_81_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
7.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
660 reviews
6.8 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,533 reviews
6.5 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
6.6 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach | Nai Wok beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £71 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane Kupu Kupu Phangan is a quaint, 33 pool villas and 3 Suites resort that takes its influence in design and architecture from Thai culture, with a hint of Balinese charm. The traditional style villa using ceramic and Balinese wood is a trade mark of Kupu Kupu Resorts. Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. The Spa by L'Occitane incorporates two double treatment rooms facing an infinity pool with unparalleled sea view. It offers a customized menu of well-being and beauty rituals delivered using modern expertise to nurture the body, mind and spirit. Signature rituals, inspired by Provence, also address the effects of modern living using natural ingredients and the intuitive art of touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing