We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 23 April 2014

spent 5 nights at kupu kupu. On arrival you are greeted by friendly staff who give you a cold drink. Check in was simple and nothing was a problem. We were shown to our room which was lovely, the bed was comfy and you get a his and hers sink. Could not fault the room at all, it was cleaned daily and the Jasmine smell after they cleaners left was amazing!
the pool in the garden view villa was brilliant, and the sun on the decking allowed you to sit there all day if you wished. The restaurant was lovely, serving some nice food by the French chef. Breakfast was also lovely with some gorgeous bread.
The staff make this hotel an even better place to relax at. Nothing was too much trouble, and always smiling and willing to help you whilst staying at the hotel.

Don't necessarily have any complaints as such, but I do think the hotel could clean up the beach area at the front of the hotel. the water is quite shallow, so bit hard to go for a good swim.

I would also suggest doing themed nights at the hotel, after a couple of days the menu can get a bit boring. So maybe advanced BBQ nights or something like that.

overall an amazing hotel, we had a brilliant time and if we were to come to koh phangan again we wouldn't have a problem booking in again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gussy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Gussy 1979,

Thanks for your feedback about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoy your time in our resort.

Our staff is the core component of our resort, and we pay a lot of attention to our training and service quality. In a highly competitive industry, it is what makes the difference among all the resorts.

Food and beverage is as important for us, Kupu Kupu is a French managed resort and we are all about Food and Beverage, we are glad you enjoy it during your stay.

Our beach is not deep, but cleaned daily. We do not throw away sea weed but put them aside for the next high tides to pick them up. Sea weed is source of food for the fish and marine life and we do not want to remove this from our landscape.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Koh Phangan.

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Staff very nice. Views are incredible.

Our room has a strong sewage smell, and is very tired in appearance.

Booked a king room, got a room with 2 beds -huge personal pet peeve on mine.

Will update after check out but so far disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sd0483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear sd0483,

Thanks for your comment at check-in of our resort.

We are glad you took the time to share your observations with other travelers. You stayed in as seaview room. this room feature one king bed and one single bed as a standard feature.

As the room is very spacious (75m2) we can accommodate a larger amount of people wile offering the same accommodation standards than our villas.

Regarding the smell you had, and engineer has been sent to solve the issue.

We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you soon in our resort.

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I went with my wife to spend 10 days in this Hotel (18/02-01/03). I can only recommend it to everybody who is visiting Thailand. Amazign atmosphere, beautiful decoration and Great services. Thanks to everybody for this wonderfull time.

A Great thanks to Emmanuelle, Bruno, Nu and Fabrice (The Manager) for their kindness and availabilities.

Hope to see you soon for a longer journey (I hope).

Dine

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faouadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear faoudi,

Thanks for such a great feedback about your stay. We are glad we reach your high expectations and make your stay in Koh Phangan the best possible.

We hope to see you soon again, during your next visit to the island!

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a Wedding to attend on Koh Phangan and could not have had a better time. The staff were amazing and so helpful. We hired the boat for a trip with snorkelling gear, drinks and lunch provided and we all had a great day The rooms were exceptionally clean and the breakfast was more than adequate, loved Happy Hour (goes for 2 hours) Hope to be able to go back one day. My only concern was no railings on the steps going up and down to the road and the reception area which are quite steep for an older person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogojogoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Jogojogoaus,

Thank you to share such a wonderful feedback with us. We are pleased you love your stay with us and that you select us as your resort for the time of the wedding event.

We do know that our resort is made in several levels, due to the geographical aspect. of the island. The both ways we have to access the bottom part of the resort are made with railways and smooth stairs, and we have as well a slope on the side to have the taxi come to pick you up directly at the lower level. Hope this did not make your stay too difficult and we are sorry that it annoy you.

Once again we thank you feedback and do not hesitate to stay with us during your future stay in Phangan.

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It was not the first nor second stay in Panghan, but i used to stay in one other hotel. I wanted to try newly Kupu Kupu, as i have so many very good memories from Ubud. Well, the villas are very nice and comfortable, all the staff makes it outmost to please and help you in whatever manner they know and can! I can't consider it excellent only, because, i know that in the future, they will be better.. F/B has a lot to improve, breakfast, has to be richer, specially in goods they have plenty around! I will keep the same very good memories from this stay and intend to be back in the future..

Room Tip: The villas closer to be beach, are nicer...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Zebanaco,

Thanks for your comment about your stay in our resort. You rich feedback will help us to improve our service and product and we are sincerely thankful of for the time you took to do it.

Our breakfast offer a mix between a la carte dishes and buffet items. We are actually targeting quality over quantity and we do not have a huge breakfast buffet like other resorts, that generate unwanted spoilage.

We are a eco-friendly resort and respect local communities, and for this, we have to think our product differently.

According to our size (23 villas), our buffet size is correct. We offer 10 dishes a la carte, as we think that a pancakes or scrambled eggs that seat more than 15 minutes on a buffet are not good any longer.

We are sorry our buffet breakfast did not pleased you.

Once again, thanks for your feedback, and hope you will be back to enjoy our homemade bread and croissant, 100% Fresh juices and selection of French Cheeses!

Regards

Fabrice Lopinto
Resort Manager

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

On the left side of the hotel is a big construction area. You can hear the noise at the whole resort.
We canceled our booking after one night - no relaxation was possible. The hotel didn't want to return our money for the non used nights (the hotel told us it is a hotel policy because of a special offer). The excuse was "the noise is not audible at the room" - but it was audible even inside the room, if you have turned off the loud air condition. However who wants to stay at the room during the whole day?! After several discussions and phone calls we got the money back for the left over nights just because we've payed the regular price for the night (about 350 US$ per night incl. tax) Furthermore the resort is not worth the money. One year after opening the resort is already in a bad state. The breakfast offer is very poor. We have chosen a resort on Koh Samui - almost the same price but a real luxury stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lini1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Lini1985,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our resort. We do appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us.

Our resort is extending that is true. We do not use any heavy mechanical equipment such as caterpilars and other so we limit the noise. Moreover the extension is situated on the other side of the resort, apart from the hotel landscape and existing villas.

As you book directly via a 3rd party website with a non refundable rate, we have to deal with them in your favor by accepting to refund your money. However, since you had a promotional rate,, this 3rd party website would have remove the full commission for the value of your stay (Promotional package Stay 4 pay 3). We change your night rate for a regular rate and avoid you being charged for an over commission. It is unfortunate you were not informed this way.

Regarding our breakfast being poor, we got positive comments about guest staying in the same time as you did, about the quality of our breakfast. We will consider that as a personal point of view.

As I have said in earlier guest reply, our breakfast as nothing compare in size to huge 5 stars hotel that you can find in Thailand, but can compete in taste and quality to the European standards. Our Chef if French and it is not so common to get a breakfast prepared by a French chef on a Thai Island and getting the chef himself coming to check if everything is fine....

Once again. we thank you for your feedback and we thank you for the time you spent with us in our resort. Even if your first experience was not up to your liking, we hope to see you again soon, and have the chance to give you a positive experience this time.

Regards

Fabrice Lopinto
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I are staying nearby and spotted this delightful looking hotel as we walked along the beach, we decided to pop in for dinner after watching an amazing sunset...
I can only say I'm really glad we did!
The setting is amazing, really nice modern looking restaurant set in lovely grounds with a fabulous view. The menu seems modern with a European twist, it is certainly more expensive than other nearby restaurants but I will come I that at the end. We chose tempura and calamari to start, both very good, tempura slightly let down with only two prawns but the calamari was one of the best I've ever eaten. My partner had a red (medium) curry and I went with green (spicy) both were excellent, portion size good and it was a very enjoyable course. We then had a chocolate "lava" desserts to share I can only say it was amazing and one of the best desserts I've ever eaten.
The service throughout was perfect, attentive but not intrusive and ALL of the staff were very friendly.
Only negative (ish) was 10% service charge put on by the hotel, I would've tipped anyway but I like to do that myself, it makes it seem impersonal to do it that way but that's a minor point.
All in all a nice meal, worth the extra charge for a special night, and for a meal for two plus alcoholic drinks and tip it came to 1315 baht, not mega expensive and we had a lovely evening - thank you!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Mooky9,

Thanks for such a fine gourmet review! We are very pleased that the French cuisine of our chef Bruno pleased your senses and that we got awarded ''One of the best desserts you ever had''.

When it comes to the 10% service charge, this is part of the Thai Law Rules and Regulations and we cannot avoid it. 10% of service charge has to be added and you can see it in every restaurant you eat Thailand. We are sorry this importunate you slightly.

We thank you once again for your diner with us and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
2.3 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,490 reviews
6.6 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach | Nai Wok beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £82 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane Kupu Kupu Phangan is a quaint, 33 pool villas and 3 Suites resort that takes its influence in design and architecture from Thai culture, with a hint of Balinese charm. The traditional style villa using ceramic and Balinese wood is a trade mark of Kupu Kupu Resorts. Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. The Spa by L'Occitane incorporates two double treatment rooms facing an infinity pool with unparalleled sea view. It offers a customized menu of well-being and beauty rituals delivered using modern expertise to nurture the body, mind and spirit. Signature rituals, inspired by Provence, also address the effects of modern living using natural ingredients and the intuitive art of touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing