We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for our Honeymoon at the end of March through to the beginning of April. After a mess-up with the airline, we couldn't have wished for any better after being blown away by the beauty of the resort. The mess-up also meant 4 extra nights here! First impressions were very good, everything well maintained with a very quiet, peaceful setting which is exactly what we wanted.

The villas are very spacious and tastefully decorated. The only issue we encountered was a faulty DVD player, but this was swiftly replaced. In truth the position of each villa offered its own benefits and beauty, but we were fortunate to stay in the deluxe beach villa.. heaven!

The food here was absolutely delicious - a selection of Thai and western foods to satisfy most peoples needs along with a specials board which was usually catch of the day.

The only negative really was the building work that was going on throughout the resort, however its clear this hotel is keen on improving the resort - fortunately there was no excessive noise so it wasn't much of a problem.

The best part of this hotel was simply the staff and service as both were exceptional. Everyone was very approachable and attentive. On our last night we took the challenge of the honeymoon dinner and wow were we in for a feast! The dinner included 'personalised' food that we had favoured throughout the holiday and I thought this was a superb touch.

All in all we had a perfect honeymoon and we are looking forward to coming back to see how this resort has developed further.

Many many thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda_0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Lucinda,

Thank you for your comment about your stay.

We pay a lot of attention on our accommodation and food and beverage. We are glad you had the perfect honey moon in our resort.

When it comes to the small challenges you had, we had a maintenance within the resort that is now over. The DVD player within your room has been replaced already.

We thank you again for your time in posting this comment for us and we hope to see you again soon in our resort.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in villa witj plunge pool third from the beach. As we arrived to hotel we were wowed by the views. Absolutely breathtaking. Room was huge with our own plunge pool , stand alone bath massive bed and beach views.
Beach is beautiful but very shallow so you cannot seim in it. If you kayak in further you can see some amazing coral and fish. Breakfast was outstanding. buffet of fruits cheese and pastries with ala carte cooked options. All food was really good.
While this is a good base to explore phangan, it is not near anything and there is nothing in thongsala . However we took tuktuks to mae head and haad rin and to dinner in thongsala which was good.

I recommend that the hotel includes notes to guests each day on what to do around and info about thai culture. I also think staff at reception can be proactive with local knowledge (not just tours).

The downside was that our bath plug was rusting and we could not use the bath as it has red water. we also found clothes of previous guests in the closet and cleanliness could be slightly improved.

All in all, highly recommended, as management appeats keen to continue improving and impressing and pool and views are to die for.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilana_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Llana,

Thanks for having shared your feedback about your stay in our resort.

Food and Beverage & Accommodation are the core components of our service and we are perpetually improving to give the best service.

We are glad you enjoy your stay and we appreciate your feedback regarding the maintenance of your room.
We have done intervention on the room your stay and now all is operational. Housekeeping department has been informed of your feedback as well.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you back for your next visit.

Fabrice
Resort Manager


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The whole hotel, helpfull and very nice staff, French Chef, great European and local menu, views, rooms with pools, own beach, restaurant in pool, romantic atmosphere, silence - all was great. It was the best hotel in my life and I hope I I'll be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izabela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Izabela K.,

Thanks for such a wonderful comment. Being awarded of ''best hotel in your life'' is such an honor.

We focus on quality every day and we are sincerely glad you experience it the right way.

Once again, thanks for your comment, and we hope to see you back for your next visit to Koh Phangan

Regards

Fabrice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

spent 5 nights at kupu kupu. On arrival you are greeted by friendly staff who give you a cold drink. Check in was simple and nothing was a problem. We were shown to our room which was lovely, the bed was comfy and you get a his and hers sink. Could not fault the room at all, it was cleaned daily and the Jasmine smell after they cleaners left was amazing!
the pool in the garden view villa was brilliant, and the sun on the decking allowed you to sit there all day if you wished. The restaurant was lovely, serving some nice food by the French chef. Breakfast was also lovely with some gorgeous bread.
The staff make this hotel an even better place to relax at. Nothing was too much trouble, and always smiling and willing to help you whilst staying at the hotel.

Don't necessarily have any complaints as such, but I do think the hotel could clean up the beach area at the front of the hotel. the water is quite shallow, so bit hard to go for a good swim.

I would also suggest doing themed nights at the hotel, after a couple of days the menu can get a bit boring. So maybe advanced BBQ nights or something like that.

overall an amazing hotel, we had a brilliant time and if we were to come to koh phangan again we wouldn't have a problem booking in again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gussy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Gussy 1979,

Thanks for your feedback about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoy your time in our resort.

Our staff is the core component of our resort, and we pay a lot of attention to our training and service quality. In a highly competitive industry, it is what makes the difference among all the resorts.

Food and beverage is as important for us, Kupu Kupu is a French managed resort and we are all about Food and Beverage, we are glad you enjoy it during your stay.

Our beach is not deep, but cleaned daily. We do not throw away sea weed but put them aside for the next high tides to pick them up. Sea weed is source of food for the fish and marine life and we do not want to remove this from our landscape.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Koh Phangan.

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Staff very nice. Views are incredible.

Our room has a strong sewage smell, and is very tired in appearance.

Booked a king room, got a room with 2 beds -huge personal pet peeve on mine.

Will update after check out but so far disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sd0483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear sd0483,

Thanks for your comment at check-in of our resort.

We are glad you took the time to share your observations with other travelers. You stayed in as seaview room. this room feature one king bed and one single bed as a standard feature.

As the room is very spacious (75m2) we can accommodate a larger amount of people wile offering the same accommodation standards than our villas.

Regarding the smell you had, and engineer has been sent to solve the issue.

We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you soon in our resort.

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I went with my wife to spend 10 days in this Hotel (18/02-01/03). I can only recommend it to everybody who is visiting Thailand. Amazign atmosphere, beautiful decoration and Great services. Thanks to everybody for this wonderfull time.

A Great thanks to Emmanuelle, Bruno, Nu and Fabrice (The Manager) for their kindness and availabilities.

Hope to see you soon for a longer journey (I hope).

Dine

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faouadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear faoudi,

Thanks for such a great feedback about your stay. We are glad we reach your high expectations and make your stay in Koh Phangan the best possible.

We hope to see you soon again, during your next visit to the island!

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a Wedding to attend on Koh Phangan and could not have had a better time. The staff were amazing and so helpful. We hired the boat for a trip with snorkelling gear, drinks and lunch provided and we all had a great day The rooms were exceptionally clean and the breakfast was more than adequate, loved Happy Hour (goes for 2 hours) Hope to be able to go back one day. My only concern was no railings on the steps going up and down to the road and the reception area which are quite steep for an older person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogojogoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Jogojogoaus,

Thank you to share such a wonderful feedback with us. We are pleased you love your stay with us and that you select us as your resort for the time of the wedding event.

We do know that our resort is made in several levels, due to the geographical aspect. of the island. The both ways we have to access the bottom part of the resort are made with railways and smooth stairs, and we have as well a slope on the side to have the taxi come to pick you up directly at the lower level. Hope this did not make your stay too difficult and we are sorry that it annoy you.

Once again we thank you feedback and do not hesitate to stay with us during your future stay in Phangan.

Fabrice
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
2.3 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,486 reviews
6.6 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach | Nai Wok beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £83 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane Kupu Kupu Phangan is a quaint, 33 pool villas and 3 Suites resort that takes its influence in design and architecture from Thai culture, with a hint of Balinese charm. The traditional style villa using ceramic and Balinese wood is a trade mark of Kupu Kupu Resorts. Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. The Spa by L'Occitane incorporates two double treatment rooms facing an infinity pool with unparalleled sea view. It offers a customized menu of well-being and beauty rituals delivered using modern expertise to nurture the body, mind and spirit. Signature rituals, inspired by Provence, also address the effects of modern living using natural ingredients and the intuitive art of touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing