We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing pool”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is modern and clean, they do a great breakfast and meals are tastey. The rooms are again modern, especially nice with the polished concrete flooring, there has been attention to detail in the design of this hotel. There are not enough sun loungers but they do have plenty of oversized bean bags you can use. The infinity pool is what makes the hotel, it edges nicely to the beach, the DJ's during the afternoons were a nice touch particularly whilst sipping cocktails at the swim-up to bar. The do not have enough dinning space when the hotel is full, there often was a que for a table at breakfast. The only bar in the hotel is around the pool and this closes at 10pm.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin-Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lin

Thanks for taking the time to review us and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay, liked the design and appreciated the service on offer. Maybe for next time we can look at keeping the bar open a little longer :)

Take care

Adam and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    209
    73
    11
    4
See reviews for
86
531
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here, although it's more expensive then accommodation in the area you get what you pay for. We paid around 2200 a night. Rooms are modern, not sure about the concrete floors tho, maybe they should look at getting tiles or carpet. Bathrooms are nice with a shower that is hot and has good water pressure. Bed are so comfortable and not rock hard like a lot of places I've stayed in Thailand. Pool is a great place to relax with the swim up bar where you can charge everything to the room so no need to carry cash. Food in restaurant was nice, nothing special and a bit over prices id say compared to other options close by. They ran out of bread one day so there was no sandwich or baguettes for lunch. Breakfast buffet was lovely with a wide selection to suit everybody. Check in was quick and painless and the glass of juice and cold towel while you wait was a nice touch. There is a lot of steps and stairs around the resort so be aware if that. About 10 minute walk to Haad Rin beach which was fine as your away from all the noise of bars at night time. Every member of staff was friendly and welcoming and overall we had a perfectly relaxing few days here which is what we wanted. If in Ko Phangan again I would definitely stay here and recommend to anybody going there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 0reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear O

We love to get reviews from Thai-National Guests and cannot be more proud if one of our own says that we are "Perfect."

Thanks for reviewing us, supporting us and recommending us and if you do decide to come to KP again please contact us direct on reservation@thecoastresorts.com and we'll show our appreciation by getting you the best deal possible.

Adam and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The coast is an amazing hotel
Its design is beautiful , the whole resort and the rooms that are small but well designed- really liked it
The pool is gorgeous, faced to sea even more beautiful than the pictures, you dont want to get out

You can feel it's a new hotel- and i mean it in a good way.

The beach, as some people said , is beautiful too, but pretty empty - I believe it depends on the time of the year (it's april) but even if not, I still recommend on this hotel with pleasure!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danaporat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Dan

Thanks for such an 'amazing' review and for your support !
The guys who designed and own the place will feel especially proud of your comments.

So from the owners, myself and the team, THANKS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Good clean and modern resort that has a neat restaurant / bar / pool set up overlooking a quiet beach. Guests here were rather civil and sober. The staff all too happy to recommend good businesses on the island. The resort has a gym but alas, no spa

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 561Daz050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Daz

Thanks for your review and support. With KP having such a reputation for being a party island we really appreciate when Guest in turn appreciate that we offer a haven from the nightlife the island has to offer. Whether you want to attend these events or not we offer the the real Phangan atmosphere of chilled relaxing natural surroundings.

Happy to have made you happy :)

Adam and Co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Amazing place to stay! As a solo traveler traveling south east Asia on a budget that allows more than hostels, this was the answer. Full of young people who came to have fun! Clean, modern and basic rooms which is all you need. Could use an upgrade on the hot water in the shower tho... Perfect beachfront pool where I spent every sunset either in the pool, on a bed by the beach, or in one of the complimentary kayaks. I ended up adding another night since the pace was so great. Location is perfect if you want access to he full moon but don't want to live right in the middle of it!
There are better swimming beaches on the island but the pool and the spectacular pool make up for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyhabosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Guy

Thanks for the great review and thanks for joining us on our Friends Of The COAST Facebook page. Glad you had a great time, enjoyed the pool, the sunsets and the kayaks .... and the hot water upgrade is on the way :)

Hope to see you again and as one of our Friends, don't forget to contact us direct on reservation to get the best price possible.

Cheers

Adam and The COAST Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My partner and I decided to stay here for a romantic stay out of the full moon period. We weren't that impressed. The location was not great. The beach is not appealing, very polluted. Some of the guests sit at the bar and get way too intoxicated. The resort doesn't handle this very well and one night we had a disgusting naked man running around vomiting on the beach while we tried our best to relax and watch the sunset. I wouldn't stay here again. The rooms are ok and you can see the wear on the rooms with splashes of fluorescent paint on the vanity and bumps in the walls and scratches on the closet doors. We stayed in room 2 deluxe sea view room. The staff could be more attentive in the restaurant and bar they stand around talking most of the time, I would have tipped any of the staff had they taken the initiative to walk up and ask if we needed anything. If you need anything you have to get up and order. Then after you eat and drink the staffs don't come to collect your empty plates etc. We had to go up and ask for it to be taken away. The pool is small and it would get very busy in full moon periods. If we were to go to Koh Phangan again we would stay near Haad Salad or Mae Haad we believe these are the better more idyllic friendlier locations. The best thing about the resort is the food at the restaurant. The chefs do a great job, unfortunately I don't have much more positive feedback to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jocelyn

We take all our Guest's feedback quiet seriously and so I'd like to offer some feedback as much as possible.

It's a shame that again (as the previous reviewer) that you've come at a time of low tide which affects the beauty of our beach but it certainly is not polluted as this is a quiet tropical island with no source of heavy pollution. The beach itself may have coconuts and other natural debris wash ashore but we clean our beach at least twice daily of this (as do other resorts along the beach). If you check out our Facebook page you will also see beach cleaning initiatives that we lead and take part in.

With regards to that once in a lifetime (hopefully) of that drunken customer, they actually arrived at the resort that day already intoxicated and were politely asked to calm themselves down from the moment of Check In. They were warned once again at the pool by myself, then when one guy jumped into the pool, his pants came off and he thought it was funny to climb out of the pool without them, our bar-staff immediately wrapped him in a towel and tried to pull him away. I then gave them a final warning that I would throw them out of the hotel and after that they behaved. I even assigned 1 member of staff to stay with the guy who had jumped into the pool for the rest of the day. He did not vomit anywhere so I am quite disappointed to hear that comment. I hope you appreciate that such a extraordinary situation is not easy to handle (they were actually complaining about us, saying that we were too strong with them, were stopping them from enjoying themselves and were going to write a bad review here on Trip Advisor).

One point I am deeply disappointed about is the poor standard of service our team has offered you. We try to build a culture here that is not only about service but about caring and your experience shows that the team at this time lacked both. They have been shown your comments and I'm sure it has affected them seriously; and I hope for a very positive reaction from them. They all send their apologies for giving you this feeling.

I would of course like to thank you for being our guest and for giving us this feedback and wake-up call to our service team that they should never forget to care.

Take care and if you do ever come to KP again I hope you at least pop by and allow me the opportunity to talk to you guys in person.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was hoping for a nicer beach but this one was a HUGE letdown! You are unable to swim there unless you love muddy waters filled with seaweed! The rooms are small but clean, so is the pool. The people that work there are very nice but overall I'm a bit disappointed. However one can defiantly do worse in the island.
It would be a solid 4* had the beach been top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axeljespersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Axel

It's a great shame that at the time you came I believe we had a very low tide which can lesson both the enjoyment and beauty of Haad Rin's Sunset Beach.

Luckily for Phangan visitors there are 3 beaches in Haad Rin alone and an almost countless number around the rest of the island; and luckily enough we usually are blessed with a beautiful looking beach. It is again a great shame that you missed this and it spoiled your experience here.

We're happy at least that you found some comfort in our other areas of the resort but appreciate your disappointment. We hope that if you visit Phangan and us again the tide will be a little more kind.

Thanks for being our Guest

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
6.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
7.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Property: The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Address: 117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us direct for the best rates available. Stylish and contemporary, our design is based on outdoor living bringing Koh Phangan's picturesque sunset beach and the tropical atmosphere into our resort, making it a special place for everyone to relax, enjoy and remember.Retreat to the peace and relaxation of our Sunset Beach after enjoying the island's colorful nightlife.Be our guest, make friends and experience the unique island of Koh Phangan with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing