We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the Moon Parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Echo Beach Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We only stayed for one night but we enjoyed our stay. The toilets, showers and room were all clean. The rooms crammed as many beds as possible in but if you're just here for a party that's no bother. The location is right on the beach and is excellent for the full and black moon parties. Staff were chatty and helpful, I'd happily recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I had holidy for a week with echo beach they people are kind and very friendly welcome( im thai lady so will be very difficult to walk in to stay in backpacker place n i been many places but not welcome)but for echo beach i just got friendly smile from them since the first day im walked in till the day i leaved n i will going to visit them again soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandyPsarkaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here over the full moon and had a great time! Like anywhere on Koh Phangan, prices are put up during this peak time, so we ended up paying about £10 per night. Really good atmosphere with pre-parties every night we were there, there was even a DJ on the Full Moon night. There's a bar at the hostel which serves very strong drinks! You're not allowed to bring in your own drinks though, so that's probably a god job. Really good free breakfast every morning and an all-you-can-eat buffet every night for about £2, which was of good quality. There's secure lockers, reasonable WiFi and a boutique hostel about 2 minutes away that lets you use its infinity pool for free! Only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars was because while we were there, we were told there was a 'water shortage' on the island which meant the showers only worked at certain times and there was no water at all at night. I'm not sure if I believed this excuse as I didn't see any signs of the 'water shortage' elsewhere on the island!!! All in all, a great hostel if you're on Koh Phangan to party and meet people.

Room Tip: During full moon time, they put mattresses on the floor in the 9 bed dorms - although this sounds te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123_n_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I arrived in Koh Phangan with about 400 baht in my pocket on the eve of the Half Moon Party. I knew I wanted to stay in Ban Tai, but the hostel I arrived at was booked...but I was pointed in the direction of Echo Beach. Serendipity! I arrived at the coolest hostel I have ever stayed at. Mark and Sarah, the proprietors, were able to accommodate me, help me out with my cash shortage by starting me on a tab, give me great advice on where to go and what to do. The music and DJs that play here are ridiculous good (i.e. they could play clubs in Europe), and the people who stay and work here are chill and very cool. Half Moon Party ended up being one of the greatest nights I've had out, and I think a large part of that was due to the people I met at Echo Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vik201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Spent over a week at this new, welcoming and exceptionally clean backpackers. Sarah, who runs the place with her partner, is absolutely lovely, and always happy to advise on the best beaches, parties and how to get around. The place has a bar with a great chill out area overlooking the beach, secure lockers and a very relaxed but fun vibe. Echo Beach is outside of Hadrin but close to half moon and jungle parties and there's a nice pool bar within 5 minutes walk. All the staff are super friendly and will happily introduce you to people if you're travelling alone, or you may bump into them while you're out if they're not on an early the next day! I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Koh Phangan, I was sad to leave.

Room Tip: Talk to the regulars - they're great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We spent around a week there with my friend, it was just perfect! Everything good with room/bathroom... but more important Chris was amazing and helped a lot giving us the best places for see-sighting and party :D
The guesthouse is great for chilling with a nice area with sofas... Everything you need is quite close and as I said before amazing staff.
I ll definitively go back there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

So I stayed at echo beach for my Christmas holiday and I liked it so much I stayed for NYE too.. Great location, really central but peaceful at the same time. Super cool sunsets at the beach bar, great food, I would really recommend the echo burger. The best I've had in Thailand! Dorms and beds are clean and comfortable with fans.. The staff are great fun, make you feel really welcome, I made some great friends during my stay there..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadetamzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0 mi away
Baan Tai Backpackers
Baan Tai Backpackers
#5 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phangan Arena
Phangan Arena
#8 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
168 reviews
5 mi away
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
#58 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#11 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
706 reviews
6.3 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Backpackers

Address: 30 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 396 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £10 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Echo Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will not regret your stay at ECHO Beach Backpackers! With a unique layout and atmosphere you can really get the most out of your visit to Koh Phangan by staying with us. This party hostel has the perfect location right on Ban Tai beach which makes it easy to get to any events you may be interested in. We host a number of pre parties and are always expanding on these! Excellent information and help is always to make your stay the best it can be. We work alongside a very successful tour company, true travels (you may have heard of them). This means we always have enthusiastic groups of people at our hostel eager for a great time. We also have a fantastic team in place at Echo beach who are always here to help you, get to know you and make you feel at home. For the last 5 years Echo beach has continued to grow and improve itself. Other hostels on the island have changed their names therefore refreshing their review history, we have not!! We are original at Echo beach and we encourage our guests to be original too. Stay with us for a real Thailand backpackers experience, be yourself and join our family. For your party experience! We hold pre parties for the famous full moon, half moon, jungle experience, black moon, waterfall and many more. What to expect. • Live DJs • UV body painting • Drinking games (beer pong, flip cup, ring of fire etc.) • Volley ball and pool tournaments • Free drinks and shots • Free sunset punch • BBQ Buffets • Free taxis to events • Smiles all around Facilities • A/C in every room. • Free WIFI. • Free tea coffee and water. • Breakfast buffet (free over full moon period) • Free pool table 24/7. • Privet beach with hammocks, sun loungers and volley ball. • Towel and padlock rentals • Motorbike rentals We have a minimum stay of 4 nights during our full moon period. We advise you book early to ensure a place with us on this busy period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Echo Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing