We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Village Backpackers - Koh Phangan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach Village Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach Village Backpackers - Koh Phangan”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The best hostel to stay in for the Full/Half/Black Moon parties. Great distance from each, relaxing and exciting at the same time!

You will meet so many people at this hostel, they have dorm rooms, beach bungalows, private pool & beach, restaurant, pool table, clean showers and toilets! What more could you want?

It's also great value for money, they do tours around the island and organise tuk tusk/taxis to and from the parties. They also host the Rhythm and Sands festival a night before the Full Moon which is great fun!

Room Tip: As a backpacker, I would recommend staying in one of the dorm rooms as you meet so many great people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckylauren17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    65
    45
    20
    31
See reviews for
3
70
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Me & my partner came here as we read all the reviews and the place sounded really promising. We did not book a room, we just turned up & asked for a double room with fan. This in itself was cheap & so we decided that we would book 5 nights as we wanted enough time to recuperate after the Half Moon party. The pool is lovely & definitely sealed my reason for coming here along with being directly on the beach. The 4 dogs at the resort are really friendly & me & my partner enjoyed going to the supermarket & buying them treats. In return they began to sleep on our balconies & keep close by. The room was spacious enough for what we needed & the bathroom was a good size. The let down I believe for the place was the cleaning. When we arrived we had sand in our room already although we didn't really view this as too much of a problem - just always take your shoes off outside & leave them there. Our room wasn't cleaned at all in the 5 days we were there, this probably would have been ok if the toilet could flush toilet roll but because it didn't the bin filled up & my partner had to empty it himself & we had to ask for a new bin bag as well as always asking for toilet roll as it was never replenished. Not only that but because the bin wasn't empty we also encountered hundreds of ants in the bathroom trying to get to the bin. The first time it happened the people did get rid of the ants but again they just came back due to the bins. Vicious circle! We also found a broom ourselves & swept the room in an attempt to keep it clean, sand was all in the sheets. The resort was very quiet which we enjoyed but the owners of the resort seemed like they couldn't be bothered. 90% of the time we had to go up to the counter & order our food, which again is no problem but with the place being so empty why not go the extra mile for your guests rather than sitting on your mobiles or even being asleep behind the desk?! The resort is in a good location, not far from the pier but you would need to get a taxi on arrival as it's difficult to find first time, it's not far to get into Haad Rin & there is a supermarket just across the road. The place advertises free wifi but 90% of the time this doesn't work so you have to go elsewhere to pick up free wifi. Overall if it wasn't for the pool & meeting some nice people I don't think we would have carried out our 5 nights.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyMoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, Owner at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi and thanks for your review,
We're sorry you felt that the cleanliness was not up to your standard. On the resort we request that guests bring their keys to reception when they want their room cleaned. This can be every day if you request!

The same can be said for the toilet roll, we keep a large stock in reception and are only too happy to replenish toilet roll on request.

We are also sorry to hear the customer service was not up to standard, we do ask our restaurant staff to approach guests even during the busy times so will make an effort to ensure this is adhered to more strictly.

To answer your comment about the wifi, we have a number of wifi providers and are struggling with some of them, which is a case reflected in other places on the island, which is now resolved.

Thanks again for the constructive criticism and good luck with your onward travel

The Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We came back to Koh Phangan for our 2nd fullmoon in one year as we loved the island. When arriving in Koh Phangan we didnt have a place sorted, so we checked out many places before stumbling onto Beach Villgage. The staff welcomed us warmly, and the location was perfect as we didn't wanted to stay in Haadrin during fullmoon. The place has an amazing setting by the beach front, the prices are unbeatable and the massive pool area is a plus. We were supposed to stay only 1 week, but extended it for 2 weeks as we loved the place so much . Its very close to Thong Sala and you can easily walk there in 15 minutes. Both the English and Thai staff are so helpful and friendly and always there to help..
The hotel also has 4 very cute and friendly dogs, which strolls around.. Fell in love with one of them, which we kept feeding secretly lol.. so she always would come happily to greet us happily after a drunken night out

We have nothing bad to say about this place... And we will definitely come back here next time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at this resort for a week and has been the best backpackers i have come across anywhere in Thailand. Situated on the beach with a great pool and Tiki bar to accompany it, the resort is full of friendly staff that can help you with any queries you have. The place seemed to have people from other resorts visiting during the day due to its facilities being better than other resorts along the beach.Prices for accommodation along with food and drink at the resort are great for anyone traveling on a budget like myself, very clean room and tasty food on offer.

Warm up parties are held at the resort before the big nights such as full moon, the tiki bar had live dj's playing and is a great atmosphere to start the night and meet others going to the parties.

Will be making sure i use the place again when coming back to this incredible island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident but as soon as we entered, we were greeted with smiling faces who were happy to show us around.. As it wasn't the busy full money dates they offered us a airconned pool & beach side room for unbelievable price.. We ended up extended our stay on Koh Phangan just because we enjoyed this luxurious place so much. They had wicked music playing by the pool some nights, pool table, tabel tennis, beach on your door step, an amazing swimming pool, awesome staff, the rooms for the price you pay are perfect also. Couldnt rate this place more.. Worth going to Koh Phangan for in itself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciska d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The beach village is such a nice place to go. The pool and beach are very nice at day and the chill out and restaurant are good in the evening. They also pick you up at the pier and can arrange a tuktuk anywhere you want. We slept in the dorm with 12 people, very cosy. And the beds are soft! But the bungalows looks also nice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lilianheijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

stayed here for a night before the full moon week, but came back very night after we had moved to different prebooked accomodation to hang out. again all the staff were amazing and super helpful. the pool area is fantastic with the huge new bar and the management did a good job to keep people entertained before parties w dj's by the pool etc. i didnt get a chance to go to the Ku Club but hear its a good night. rooms are good i just stayed in a dorm airconditioned, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.5 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#11 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Beach Bed & Bar
At Beach Bed & Bar
#48 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#9 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#19 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baan Tai Backpackers
Baan Tai Backpackers
#2 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#97 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Village Backpackers

Property: The Beach Village Backpackers
Address: 100/5 Moo 1 | Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 370 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach Village Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Party or relax at our beautiful beach resort overlooking the picturesque Gulf of Thailand. The Beach Village is a backpacker friendly resort designed in a village style, spread along 200 meters of stunning Baan Tai beach. We offer a wide range of accommodation, ranging from bungalows with sea or pool views through to our spacious air-conditioned dorm rooms. We have everything that you need to have a great stay without leaving the resort; our restaurant serves a mix of both Western and Asian dishes, catering to those homesick or adventurous. You can enjoy a meal at our latest addition, the Grub Club. A huge success, our newest venture, situated on the beach, offers gourmet burgers, hotdogs and Fish ‘n’ Chips, all freshly cooked everyday. You can choose from a selection of cocktails or beers at our purpose built Tiki Bar next to our stunning beachfront pool. We also boast our very own nightclub, the Ku Club, a beachfront venue which has hosted DJ’s such as Netsky, Goldie and members of the Prodigy. We are located 5 minutes from the bustling port of Thong Sala, which as the main town of the island offers all the amenities you would expect. In the opposite direction we are just 15 minutes from Haad Rin, and the famous Full Moon beach. We are also only 100 meters from the First Western Hospital, opened in early 2015. Our multilingual reception staff are always willing to help, and can assist in booking tours, excursions and onwards travel. Please note this is not a quiet place to be during Full Moon! For more information please visit our website – Beach Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing