We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.”
Review of Fish at Thip's

Fish at Thip's
Ranked #198 of 368 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fish at Thip's is an authentic Thai seafood restaurant located on the beach, with stunning views of Samui. The dishes on our delicious menu are made only from fresh and local produce. Found along the Ban Tai Road on the Island paradise of Koh Phangan, it is the perfect place for a romantic meal. Treat yourself. We pride ourselves on our relaxed atmosphere and have a volley ball court on the beach.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The food was great, however we had better dining experiences in Thailand, therefore 4 stars. The ambiance was nice but not super romantic if you are a couple looking for a cute candle light dinner. It is probably best for groups, as there were quite a few. Still a great option for a fresh seafood in Koh Phangan, centrally located, great service. Worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A complete joke.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I don't usually write reviews on trip advisor but have feel strongly enough about the abysmal service on this occasion to do so. The restaurant itself was nicely laid out we ordered our food without a problem. An hour and a half later we were without our food. The fish on one dish was overly cooked which they did take back but it came back even worse. They forgot completely about the fish fish which was supposed to take a half hour and ended up not even coming ! That one other person had to go and eat elsewhere due to the dire service ! We informed our waiter of our dissatisfaction and he was in complete denial that it was unsatisfactory ! The manager came over who was even more useless. His excuse was that the restaurant was busy when it was only half full. How must they deal with the orders when they are at full capacity would amaze me ! Avoid ! A regrettable evening indeed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StillIll88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Regrettable stop”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Read some great reviews on TA so decided to stop there for a glass of wine after dinner! Chose the 'cosy' looking bench seats in the corner and was starting to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere until a member of staff from the kitchen came and sat near us and started to watch something in Thai and very loud on her mobile phone! My husband and I had to move as we were unable to even here the music over the noise! Looking around it would seem that most of the staff were on their phones- not impressed. It was quiet here unlike the fisherman's restaurant just up the road which I would highly recommend. We didn't eat here and I won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“They served late night & large group!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

They opened till late night 11PM while other restaurant is aleady starting to close. Definately one of the best meal we have in Koh Phangan. Reasonable price & superb friendly service. We come back the next day to dine again.
We are a group of 22 pax.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KahongLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You Have To Eat Here”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Made a good choice in coming here for dinner . The deco was nice and the food was really good . Try the Fried Fish Red Curry Spicy .
The Service was really good and staff are very friendly and attend to your needs as fast as they can .
I like how they are always looking out for want their guest needs next .
Overall a good dinning experience and you can event eat on the beach .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish at Thip's also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Fish at Thip's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing