We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what you're expecting, with worse music”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Full Moon Party

Full Moon Party
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The First and Frang Hotel provides easy access to the best in business,dining ,shopping,leisure and entertainment.The located in serene area and only a 15 minute walk from Thongsala pier and Affordable and Budget Hotel in center of Koh Phangan.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exactly what you're expecting, with worse music”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Imagine thousands and thousands of people on about a mile stretch of beach. Add some DJ stands playing the same top 40 songs over and over along with Thai locals selling alcohol and you've pretty much got the full moon party. It was a lot of fun but just make sure you know what to expect. Also highly recommend staying on Ko Phangan for this as transportation too and from the island can be dodgy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    367
    214
    83
    113
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The FMP is just an immense beach party with lots of drunk people, dodgy locals trying to sell you weed and terrible western food. The beach becomes full of litter in no time. People urinate in the sea, leave rubbish everywhere and it's just not a pleasant atmosphere. I left earlier as my friends were clearly enjoying more than I was. On the way back to the pick-up point, I was offered oral sex (for money), weed and cocaine, and all sorts of gadgets.

If you really want to go, watch out for: 1) pushers, 2) broken glasses in the sand, if you go barefoot, 3) drink spiking, 4) overpricing of buckets/food/soft drinks, 5) deadly watersides.

I will never set foot at the FMP again, as well as Phangan. Thailand as much better places, like Koh Tao.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Gianni2014Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Maybe we're just too old for it but we made a special effort to experience the full moon party whilst in Thailand. It was fun for the first couple of hours but after that it was all a bit "let's just get drunk". People were starting to get aggressive, people were getting injured, the music was cheesy ... We left at midnight and going by what others said the next day, we didn't miss much after that.

Maybe one for the 20 something's but at 33, I felt too old for it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SweetAudrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do it right and you can't go wrong”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Look, there are plenty of reasons that might make the FMP a less than 5 star experience, but they can all be solved rather easily. First off, if you're 35+ it's probably not for you. I say that as a 28 year old who was probably one of the older ones there and couldn't see himself there in 5-10 years time (though I still enjoyed myself wholeheartedly this time around).

Second - and I stress this - stay in Ko Phangan. Don't try to boat back to Samui, it'll really just put a huge stress on your evening and end up being even more expensive. Don't listen to people saying "Don't get ripped off and book ahead" - BOOK AHEAD. Yes, you may have to pay a minimum of 3 nights, but places are about $12/night. If you can't afford $36 on proper accommodation I don't know how you made it over to Thailand for a FMP in the first place.

Lastly, don't be stupid. This one is simple - like everyone says, don't bring valuables. Bring only cash, and only as much as you need (1000 THB is probably enough, 1500 to be safe). Don't bring your phone. Only bring a camera you don't mind losing and/or save your pictures beforehand. Also, don't bring valuable shoes if you plan on going in the ocean. They WILL be stolen.

If you go by these rules I don't see how anyone wouldn't have an absolute blast. I'm sure better parties exist in the world (I've been to some good ones myself) but partying among tens of thousands of people on a beach during the full moon and then sunrise drinking cheap buckets of booze and dancing the night away really can't be a bad time. Just know what you're getting into!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EPIC”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Everyone should experience this at least once in their lives. Great fun, great atmosphere, great music... out of this world!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Full Moon Party also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Full Moon Party? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing