We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hostel, staff really friendly and helpful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smile Hostel Koh Phangan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel, staff really friendly and helpful!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Would definitely recommend staying here! Mem was lovely and couldn't do enough to help-even let me borrow her mosquito spray! Breakfast was included and food was fab. Beds clean, wifi good and staff helpful. Brilliant value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smilekohphangan, Owner at Smile Hostel Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 13 October 2016
Thank you very much for your reviews, I would like to let you know that we are the new management, who has taken over the place under the name of Smile Hostel Koh Phangan since October 2015. There is no more Mems Place, so I hope people would not get confuse by reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Mem's is an absolute gem of a hostel in koh pha ngan!
The hostel itself is basic, but the dorms are clean and well maintained; everything on the menu food wise is a flat rate of 60 baht and she (Mem) just tots it up and adds it to your final bill. She also offers laundry service, taxi service and can/will book any bus/train/ferry service for you. Mem herself is a lovely lady with a big heart and will go out of her way to help and look after you during your stay. This is something of a rarity in the many bungalows/resorts here in thailand (i am still currently at Mem's and felt compelled to write a review!). There is a free breakfast included in your booking fee and the free wifi has a very good signal. There arent a whole bunch of beds, so she manages the place by herself and it has such a lovely, homely feel to it. I would gladly stay here again and highly recommend it to others. As with other hostels, ear plugs and an eye mask are a must so as not to be disturbed by the comings and goings of the other residents, but any seasoned traveller should know this already ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smilekohphangan, Owner at Smile Hostel Koh Phangan, responded to this review, 13 October 2016
Thank you very much for your reviews, I would like to let you know that we are the new management, who has taken over the place under the name of Smile Hostel Koh Phangan since October 2015. There is no more Mems Place, so I hope people would not get confuse by reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#68 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Phangan Arena
Phangan Arena
#9 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#18 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cats in Space
Cats in Space
#55 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Backpackers
Hacienda Backpackers
#92 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Hostel Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Hostel Koh Phangan

Property: Smile Hostel Koh Phangan
Address: 132/9 Moo 1, Thongsala-Baantai Road | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Mems Place Hostel)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 355 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Hostel is a good accommodation choice for the trip in Koh Phangan, conveniently located in Baantai. The hostel is across from Bangkok Hospital (Phangan International Hospital). It is a 5-minute walk from Bantai Beach, a-10 minute drive from Thongsala Pier and a 15-minute drive from Haad Rin, where the full moon party is held. There are total just 45 beds in this little hostel. Rooms are clean and warm welcome by family hostel. It features mixed air condition dormitory rooms with free Wi-Fi and hot shower. We provide a common space to sit and enjoy socialising and relaxing in front of the room. The hostel comes with a bar, tour desk, ticket service and locker. We provide free car parking and easy to get taxi service to fullmoon party, and we are only 10 minutes drive from all major Island parties i.e. half-moon festival, black moon party and jungle experience etc. Smile Hostel Koh Phangan is a short walk from ATM machines, convenience stores and Bantai beach. Restaurants with Thai and western cuisines are nearby. Things to Note 1. Check in from 9:00am to 10:00pm. 2. Check out until 11:00am. 3. Cash (THB) only upon arrival. 4. Cancellation policy: At least 3 day advance notice before the arrival date is required for cancellation free of charge. 5. Age restriction: (1) Children cannot accommodate at the hostel. (2) The minimum age to stay at the hostel is 18 years old. 6. The reception is open from 9:00am to 10:00pm. 7. No smoke, food or drink inside the rooms. 8. No pets. 9. Locker is 100 THB fee throughout your stay. 10.Towel, blanket or key lost, you will be charged 500THB each. 11. Colour stain on bed sheet, pillow case or blanket, you will be charged 800THB each. 12.Broken bed, you will be charged 8,000THB. 13. Only paying guests are permitted to stay in dorms, fines 1,000THB. 14. Guest is allowed one bed, do not change or use the empty bed, fines 1,000THB. 15.Only alcohol purchased from Smile Hostel Koh Phangan is allowed on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Smile Hostel Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing