We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epic stay with the Fubar crew!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fubar Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fubar Guesthouse
Koh Tao, Thailand
2 reviews
“Epic stay with the Fubar crew!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights over full moon with several friends and I only have great things to say about this sick little hostel. The owners Richie, Chris and Guy run this place with passion and energy. They love their tunes so if u like to party - it's on!! Accomodation is great, well laid out, comfy and the AC works a treat. Surprisingly easy to nap here too considering its bang on the beach!! The chill out area has solid wifi, comfy sofas and everyone relaxes together so it's easy to meet new people. During my time there 80% of the chicks staying were smoking hot - Weird and awesome!! Fubar attracts the cool crowd that is for sure. I'll be back again and again and again!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, music was amazing, everybody dancing and having an amazing time. Definitely one of my best experiences travelling so far. Perfect location for full moon party, turn out the door, blink and you are on the beach. If you are heading for the full moon party and want to make the most of it, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Arrived at Fubar on the 8th June, was shown my bed and room straight away by the owner and settled really quickly, i would 100% recommend this place to anyone travelling across asia and especially wanting to meet new people, Fubar not only has cheap beers and spirits but also has an amazing chillout area by the bar with quality music being played from 4pm onwards, i have just come home from an amazing week at Fubar and will definately will be booking here again on my next journey!! Lee

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Amazing, friendly, great atmosphere, great music the New Zealand owner is a great guy! Very helpful and knowlagable made us feel very welcome..... will miss this place it really made our holiday in thailand a good one :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzybell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Fubar is the best place to stay in Koh Phangnan, everyone is so friendly and always will to help, the Australian manager is always helpful, all drink are at a good price, would recommend every time for back packers and so cheap as well

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Staying on Koh Phangan for extended periods of time you realize the music scene there is seriously lacking. Fubar DnB fridays was one of the best nights I'd gone to in a while. It's definitely not the cleanest place but the price reflects the cleanliness. Highly suggested.

Room Tip: Get a mosquito net, the sand flies here are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenanArbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed at Fubar over the March Full Moon and it was a brilliant choice. Location makes it so easy to get to the beach for the Full Moon shenanigans, but you're close enough to get home when you need to. The hostel plays great music that isn't cheesy or sleazy (unlike the beach!), and provides you with an awesome atmosphere to get your night started, or you can even stay at the bar and have a great time there, listening to awesome music. The owner Ritchie is really warm and welcoming, which is a rare quality...Most hostel owners in Thailand barely give you a smile, let alone a warm greeting. He's also really happy to help if you need anything and again, you don't find this very often in hostels.

The dorms are basic but comfortable. The showers are cold water, but not freezing and in the sweltering Southern Thailand heat, this isn't a problem at all. One of the best things about the hostel, was the people there, both visiting and working. This really makes the experience so much better. Everyone wanted to have fun and the friendly atmosphere really made a difference.

Yes Fubar plays loud music, but not excessively so and they're also about half the price of most other hostels in the Haad Rin area, during the Full Moon period - that saving alone makes it well worth it. If you're worried about the noise, ear plugs should be more than enough to allow for sleep, but if you're heading to the Full Moon, then chances are, sleeping won't be your biggest priority!

I can't recommend this hostel enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
At Phangan Hostel
At Phangan Hostel
#46 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family House Resort
Family House Resort
#87 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Paradise
Little Paradise
#118 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jenny Hostel
Jenny Hostel
#153 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yoghurt Home 3
Yoghurt Home 3
#111 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#48 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fubar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fubar Guesthouse

Property: Fubar Guesthouse
Address: 123/13 Moo 6, Soi Tonson | Haad Rin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fubar is a musical boutique full moon hostel/bar/café situated at the heart of the full moon party, Koh Phangan. A warm, friendly, chilled atmosphere awaits you at Fubar - the established designer hostel that is European-managed and energy-orientated. It’s easy to have a fun and memorable experience with us!The Fubar lounge is a vibrant bar/café with ample comfy pillow-scattered seating areas, playing great music day and night, serving drinks, fresh coffee, and tea. Delicious food is also available from nearby restaurants that will happily deliver :) There is always a relaxed family atmosphere at Fubar - a great place to meet other travellers and locals.With Fubar you’re at home away from home, we make sure you have everything you need (free of course)... Fast Wi-Fi throughoutAround 20-50% discount on ALL drinks at the lovely barVERY useful Fu map/guide for the town and Koh Phangan’s best undiscovered spotsAll dorm rooms are fully air-conditionedLocker and padlock for your valuables, personal electric point for chargingQuality cotton linen with cosy blanket, optional towelChunky wooden beds with personal lamp (6-bed room with lamp but mattress only)Walled separations, curtains (not in 6-bed room)...and many more personal touches to make sure you are ready to completely enjoy the paradise that is Koh Phangan!We also have bungalows available just a one minute walk from Fubar for those people who love to party but also love a little privacy! We have a variety depending on your budget from the simple fan room up to the flash packer White rooms which have fluffy duvets and air conditioning. All our private rooms are en-suite :)We do like a good party sometimes. Fubar has earned a solid reputation for high quality house/electro music, top DJs who love playing, the excellent 2,000 watt sound system, great atmosphere and one of the best full moon parties/after parties, with international DJs playing the most loveliest house/tech/minimal all night and sometimes all next day come the main event!If you like to party and chill on a more professional level we know exactly how to take you there :)Looking forward to welcoming you soon,Fubar family*BOOKING NOT CONFIRMED UNTIL ADDITIONAL 50% DEPOSIT IS PAID DIRECTLY TO FUBAR PAYABLE BY CREDIT/DEBIT CARD/PAYPAL* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fubar Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing