We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous location, passionate staff”
Review of Phangan Spirit Distillery - CLOSED

Phangan Spirit Distillery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Phangan Spirit Distillery is producing the highest quality of eau-de-vie/clear fruit brandy using local tropical fruits. Our Banana-lime-lemongrass spirit won the Bronze Medal at the 2013 World Spirit Competition in Europe! Visit us for a tour and for some tasting! See you at our newly opened Distillery and Tasting Sala! VISITING HOURS: 12-18 daily For any other hours please call us!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, passionate staff”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Absolutely loved our visit to this distillery (as part of the Eco Discovery Tour in Backpackers Thailand Full Moon Party package). It was really interesting to hear exactly how the schnapps are made by Henry (I hope I remembered his name correctly! Really sorry if I got it wrong!) - he's from Hungary so definitely knows how to make good strong schnapps! We got to taste all the flavours and I bought the honey one (absolutely beautiful, but potent). The interesting thing that they promise is that the schnapps is so pure that it will not cause a headache the day after! I can't wait to try it out! Location is just beautiful and they had the nicest toilet we encountered on the island! A must-do!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicous and creative spirits, nice people”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We had a hard time finding the Distillery on the first try. We were using the maps service on our smart phones and the location wasn't quite right. Finally we found the coordinates:

9.714832,99.997001(Phangan Spirit)

There is a printed blue vinyl "flag" sign on the side of the main road. We finally found the distillery at 5pm. The tasting hours from from Noon until 6pm daily. The owner Kate was just leaving as she had a visitor from out of town and wanted to leave a bit early.. but she was so gracious and opened up the distillery again and sat to talk with us and made us feel very comfortable.

She has five flavors and they are for sale in large and medium sized bottles. We sat with Kate while she described each flavor, and we tried a small sample of each. She told us about her selection process for the fruits used. She buys local and organic, but for the one spirit with Lime, she has her own tree in the backyard that she harvests.

Overall, it was a great experience as the liquors are delicious and obviously made with much care and creativity, and at a great price. Kate was a lovely host. She even gave us tips on the best local restaurants and where to see some really local music events.

Definitely recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sweatr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Interesting tour & tasting”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I really enjoyed the tour of the premises & the explanation of the production process. It is quite a small operation at present, but a very interesting process. The product is hand crafted in small batches from local bananas with obvious love & craftsmanship. This basic spirit is also offered in various other versions subtly flavored with other fruits such as lime, orange, & pineapple...all locally sourced fresh. They also produce a spirit made from fresh pineapples, & one made from mango.

I am not much of a drinker of spirits myself, but I did enjoy my tasting. All the samples were very smooth with a nice finish. You need to try them yourself.

The proprietors are very friendly & helpful...nice people. A worthwhile stop when on the island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful local palinka”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Sought this distillery out and was worth the search. It's off the main road heading into the jungle from Thongsala. Go up the main road about 1km out of Thongsala until you get to the pictures of Thai King & Queen next to the large municiple building (if you go past police station, you've gone too far). Opposite side of road is a laundry and a little road, go down little road a few bends and Phangan Spirit is on your left. We were given a short tour & tasting, and bough banana, honey, and the award winning lime/lemongrass. Excellent stuff!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shaggydabbydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit to get the best spirits on the island”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Went this afternoon for a great tour and tasting! Something different to do on the island and great gifts to take home.

Really something different and neat to see and great brandy to take home now. The prices are good especially considering that its all made right there with high quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlahnikA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phangan Spirit Distillery also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing