We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but very remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, but very remote”
Reviewed 7 November 2007

We stayed at Panviman for 5 nights at the end of October.. We had only booked 4 nights, but for various reasons ended up on Ko Phangan a day earlier than planned. When we arrived, the staff at reception were very polite and were fine with us staying the extra night. We had booked a 'Superior Room', but were told we had been given a free upgrade to a 'Deluxe Hotel Room'. I think this was actually because the room type we had orginally booked was no longer offered due to the resort being upgraded, rather than out of pure goodwill, but it was still nicer than we'd expected so I won't knock it!
The room was lovely - King sized bed, big bath, lovely balcony with a view of the ocean and the decor of the room and bathroom was very nice too. The pool was very nice too and also has a nice ocean view. The staff are very nice here and make you feel very welcome.
A downside to the place is how isolated it is - it takes about 45 minutes to get to Thong Sala or Had Rin because the roads around Panviman are unpaved and very steep in places (some previous comments moaned about this journey, but we found it to be quite an adventure each time we did it), so if you are after somewhere with lots going on then this isn't the place for you. Also, as we went during low season, there was only one restaurant open out of the three restaurants on site. However, the restaurant that was open offered all 3 menus, so there was still plenty to choose from, and the food was delicious. In the evening, there was a singer and guitarist duo that played nice songs while you had your meal which was a nice touch and really added to the experience - they were a very talented and also very friendly.

All in all, I would say that 5 days is probably a touch too long to stay here in the low season, as you will start to get bored because you are pretty much confined to the resort (there is a village just outside the resort, but it was like a ghost town as there was hardly anyone staying there due to the time of year), and if it starts raining then there is not a lot you can do except go to your room for shelter.Also, if it gets really windy + rainy the power can be knocked out for about 5 minutes at a time, which can be a nuisance if you are watching a film or trying to read at night. Having said this, the views, magnificent grounds and the excellent staff more than make up for these minus points, plus if you are planning a trip in the low season, you can't blame anyone for bad weather so we knew what we were potentially letting ourselves in for.

In conclusion, I would defintely go back, although I would probably wait for mid or high season to begin!

  • Liked — Room and views
  • Disliked — How isolated it was
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ardinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    300
    80
    40
    29
See reviews for
215
885
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

we arrived in koh phangan with great expectations - many friends have advised us that many of the best beaches in the world lie in koh phangan. this may be the case but as far as hotels are concerned this is quite possibly the most average 5* hotel that we have ever stayed in. we've stayed previously in the sila evason which i will comment about later but lets just say if there was an award for 10 stars this would be first. this particular hotel is about 45mins from the port on an extremely dangerous and unpleastant drive. the staff that greeted us were extremely unhelpful and unpleasant. there was no information on where we were, how long it took to get to the hotel, or nearby shops/restaurants etc. we abruptly arrived at the hotel which from the outside looked like a common village, a very steep drive towards the reception, where we were asked to check in. upon checking in we were informed that 2 out of the 3 restaurants were unavailable. the bar/pool restaurant was average at best. it rained heavily, and the screens to protect us from the rain were covered in insects. our room was distinctly average, there was no room service, although the view was fantastic. the air con was only on when present in the room. So when we arrived it was totally roasting and didnt set a good example at all. The room was that off an average hotel, no mosquito net, no bath, actually there was a bath but it was on the roof top and it was riddled with bugs and leaves. The beach was not that easy to get to, a very steep walk down where you had to walk across a knee deep stream to reach the main areas to eat in . The village or so called village was very daunting, do not go there between 12-5, there is nothing open at all.....even at night, the restaurants are nice but there are far to many dogs running free. watching you as you eat, plus the constant power cuts are not impressive at all. Sorry if this is a rant, but we only came to this hotel based on the reviews give on this site also the fact we had been told to visit the island. This is a rotten hotel, windows, where covered in bugs and it simply was not 5 star. Avoid at all costs, the view, granted was outstanding but other than that there was nothing else positive to take from the area, location, hotel or staff.......

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank diesel25384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights from September 12th. We had booked a Deluxe Cottage with a hotel directly and got a good discount for a long-term stay.

We were promptly collected from Samui airport by car and brought to Panviman by a speedboat. It was expensive but lots of fun and rather quick.

The Deluxe Cottages come in various shapes and some have lovely big terraces but some don't. They are also very close to one another. Most, however, have great views over the bay. We were lucky to get a cottage on a lower level and didn't have to hike up or down that funky hill all that much.

Overall, we loved the location, the friendly staff and that lovely Thai food at the Stone Beach restaurant and BBQ. The pool is out of this world and the beach is pretty private, too.

Panviman is really special. There are fewer and fewer places in Koh Phangan so quiet, relaxing and beautiful. The staff were very chilled out and quickly put us at easy.

We rented a kayak once or twice to explore the area and went on a snorkelling tour. Also, we tried a massage in the Spa and loved it.

There is a tiny village nearby and we used to buy some beer and snacks in the shops. There were ATM machines there, too. There were other restaurants there and we stopped once or twice in the evenings during the happy hour for some cocktails. Highly recommended. But the food was disappointing and afterwards we only ate at the hotel's restaurant. Here the portions were enormous and delicious.

Afterwards, we spent few days in a 5 star hotel in Koh Samui, Bophut Resort & Spa, but it wasn't as relaxing as Panviman. We would be happy to return in the future !!

  • Liked — Food, staff, pool, location
  • Disliked — Old and too short beach towels and dated bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikafromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I can say nothing bad about this resort!! I really loved every minute. We were staying in a beautiful wooden cottage, with a bath tub on the roof terrace. With a amazing view over the bay. The swimming pool is great, also try the Spa! Lovely, I really felt in paradise, drinking my cup of tea after a wonderful massage. I dont understand the moaners... Its paradise!

  • Liked — Our cottage
  • Disliked — The hugh spider on the way to the dining room... :)
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Viola63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Panviman on Koh Pha Ngan for 3 nights in August. We really enjoyed ourselves. Our room was the least expensive, but still very nice (new bathroom, comfortable bed, great view!). The higher end rooms/cottages look amazing.

The resort seems to be going through a face-lift, with success. The restaurants are good. There are a couple restaurants on the beach that are fun places to go at night.

The good: unbelievable views, great beach, nice amenities, great pool, nice people, decent restaurants.

Potential downsides: some people complain about the hike to the beach - they must be lazy as it's not nearly as bad as people say on these boards; the spa is great, but you sometimes hear noisy boats during the relaxing massage, it's a trek over the mountain from the ferry.

Bottom line: we would go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Liked — View and beach and good service
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Lebowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2007

We cancelled a recent stay at Panviman due to the weather, being unable to get to Phangan during storms they promised a full refund and agreed to waive the 1 night charge for late booking. They have kept all of my money! Be warned!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Raph2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
269 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

We took the option of the very expensive speedboat transfer from Samui. I think reading the other reviews about the overland trip it was worth it but for a family of four it would be prohibitive as the price is per head. When we arrived we were required to jump off the front of the boat which was fine for us but I wouldn't want my granny to have to do this!! Things went downhill quite quickly as it started to rain and we were more or less ignored and stood in the bar until our luggage was unloaded and everything else (foodstores etc) taken off the boat. It was then that we were noticed, umbrellas found and we embarked on the hike to reception. This walk is low steps so fine for most but we were definitely puffing by the top - and this is how you access the beach so make sure you don't forget anything.

All meals in the hotel were average - nothing to complain about but nothing to get excited about either. We felt all the common areas lacked atmosphere and that the staff were - while charming when attentive - quite commonly not on their toes. We had understood from the hotel's own website that there were two restaurants for evening meals but only one was operating during our stay - yup the one on the beach so that walk again !

Room (Deluxe Cottage) was fine but no inside seating area which given the size of the room seemed like an obvious omission.

Pool area is very attractive and if you don't fancy the walk to the beach a lifesaver.

Worse thing for us however was somewhere nearby somebody - a bar - was playing that horrid music where the base note travels and at night we just couldn't tune it out. It was not loud but the bay holds any noise and exacerbates it. Note that we are particularly sensitive to this noise pollution and most people would probably be able to ignore it.

The other restaurants on the beach were very standard Thai beach restaurants - not the place for a romantic dinner - so we tried the new hotel being built at the other end of the bay - the Santhiya for dinner. We asked to look at the rooms and they are stunning - particularly the pool villas but I don't think anybody would be disappointed with any room. As the Panviman it is on a hill but far steeper so you would need to get a buggy everywhere - particulary from the deluxe (basic) rooms in the main building. However that is the best bit. An alleged 5 star hotel where the only white wine choice was Chardonnay ........ and food was average and service similar to the Panviman. But if you are a week at the Panviman it makes a nice change and the views are lovely. Oh and if you are considering staying the private beach is not a patch on the main bay so you are in for a small walk over the rocks.

Can't see any reason for going to either the Panviman or the Santhiya with the wonderful choice of great hotels in Samui - particularly when you take into account the transfer and the lack of choice engendered by the location.

  • Liked — Fantastic views
  • Disliked — The hillwalk everywhere - was a mountain goat after 3 days
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
5.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan

Property: Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Address: 22/1 Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Noi Bay | Bantai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort with 72 rooms, 8 categories, 3 restaurants, 2 bars and room service, infinity view swimming pool, private beach, kayaking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan Hotel Koh Phangan
Panviman Hotel Ko Phangan
Panviman Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing