We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - location great but needs investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing - location great but needs investment”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel has the most wonderful views and the powder beach and clear sea are the best on the island. The resort itself however is tired, out of date and needs some serious refurbishment. With a bit of love it could be fabulous. Staff seem miserable to be working there. Very little of the magical thai hospitality we had experienced in Bangkok and samui.

We stayed for 6 nights in a family cottage. One wardrobe for the four of us which meant we had to put clothes on chairs and tables. Single beds on the lower floor were just dumped in the middle of the room. No headboards so our children's pillows fell off the end each night.

Pool is lovely with views over the sea. But pool towels torn, stained and full of holes. Only one pool attendant and often no clean towels available.

The resort is spotless and housekeeping kept things looking tidy. But this is at best a 3-star resort and it feels like it is in a 1980s time warp.

I love independently owned resorts and hotels and would hate for the Panviman to be taken over by a big multinational chain. But restaurants and bars there are virtually empty because guests like us preferred to be out of the hotel.

We stayed at the anantara in both Bangkok and bohput-samui and here is a perfect example of an Asian chain offering contemporary, relaxed luxury. Panviman needs to plan for the future.

I hope these comments are taken in the spirit in which they are intended. Our stay was fine, no one did anything wrong etc. But all hotels need investment and love

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear KJ6200,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were glad that our hotel offers wonderful views and clear sea! On top of that, we were glad that you liked our swimming pool, and housekeeping service.

As for the drawbacks, we are certain that our staff were mostly not miserable and welcoming, as most of the reviews on Tripadvisor had mentioned. It may be a coincidence that you may be greeted by a miserable staff, in which the chance of happening is unlikely. As for the headboard, we really do apologize about this matter. However, as for the towels in the swimming pool, we are sure that most of our towels were clean, and that it may be your unlucky day that you happened to pick 2-3 torn towels in a row.

Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We really hope you will be returning in the near future, and we really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    305
    80
    40
    29
See reviews for
222
907
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

best hotel in koh phangan ! we just arrived there for 2 nights and got a perfect service from the lovley stuff evreything comes with a smile , breakfast was amazng , the pool area is really nice and the beach is amazing the best in the thong nai pan coast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear dorian c,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were delighted to hear that you consider us as “the best hotel in koh phangan”. Additionally, our staff were overjoyed to hear that they offered you perfect service, and that everything came from a smile. Furthermore, we were really glad that our breakfast was amazing, our pool area were really nice, and that our beach was the best in the “Thong Nai Pan” coast!


Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We really hope you will be returning in the near future, and we really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our overall experience at Panviman Resort was wonderful. This hotel is located on the northeast side of the island in a very good and quiet beach. We stayed in a wide and confortable room. The bathroom offer a bathtube separated from the bedroom only by a glass wall. The furniture is a little old.
We had full breakfast every morning on the restaurant in the top, with a nice view. The swiming pool is excelente.

I had a little bycicle accident due to a broked brake. This hotel offer mountain bikes to the guests get around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Thiago D,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were extremely pleased to hear that your overall experience at Panviman Resort Koh Phangan was a wonderful one! Additionally, we were really glad to hear that you loved our accommodation, mentioning that it was spacious and comfortable, and that you liked our bathtub! Finally, we were very happy that you loved our breakfast view, and our main swimming pool!

We regret to hear that our furniture was a little out-dated; however, we do make our effort to try to refurnish our rooms as frequently as possible. Moreover, we were sad to hear that you encountered a bicycle accident, and we really hope you will recover as soon as possible.

Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We really hope you will be returning in the near future, and we really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at Panviman Resort just for three nights and it was perfect. The room is beautiful and romantic and the view is even better. The service is excellent! The pools and the breakfast are amazing! Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Gabriela S,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were utterly delighted to hear that your three-night’s stay at our resort was perfect! We were absolutely delighted to hear that our accommodation provided was beautiful and romantic, and that you really enjoyed our view! Moreover, we were overjoyed to hear that we provided an excellent service and the pools and breakfast were amazing!

Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We are really happy to hear you recommending our place “worth a visit”, and we really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Panviman Resort for only three nights but it was unforgettable! The people working there are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very very beautiful and the view is breath-taking! Also the pool is stunning. I honestly cant say anything bad about this place. It's wonderful and worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Daisyyyyyy,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were utterly delighted to hear that your three-night’s stay at our resort was unforgettable! Our staff were overjoyed that they were being extremely friendly and helpful. Furthermore, we were really glad to hear that you really liked our accommodation, and that our view was breathtaking!

Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We are really happy to hear you recommending our place “worth a visit”, and we really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Quick review of our experiences having spent 2 nights at a Panviman Pool Villa (thanks for the upgrade from the Jacuzzi VIlla).
Arrived at Samui airport and the pick-up arrived a bit late, most of passengers had already left. Quick and easy transit to the pier, and a enjoyable speed-boat ride to the island, where one is being dropped off directly at the resort (if you booked their offered transfer option).
Nicely appointed Villas, despite the age of the Resort well maintained and looked after. Gorgeous private pool overlooking the beach and the sea. Friendly service throughout the Resort. In my opinion the only letdown was the Food and Beverage offering, and that only in the main dinner restaurant by the beach offering (well, what else...) Seafood BBQ. While inexpensive, seafood was not fresh (against what one comes to expect at a beach Resort). In the end the meal was not being charged and we ordered some good Thai delicacies, which were of superior quality. Also, breakfast could do it with some improvements, overall however: Thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM_VIllaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear GM137PillarsHouse,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our speedboat transfer. Furthermore, we were delighted to hear that our villas were gorgeous, nicely appointed, and well maintained; moreover, we were happy to hear that our staff provided a friendly service throughout your stay.

We regret to hear that our seafood was not fresh during your meal, while we always order fresh seafood from our supplier, there might be some small portion that are not as fresh.

Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff at the Panviman hotel were absolutely lovely... truly!
They went over and beyond to ensure we had a stress free stay.
The room was a delight, romantically presented, beautiful location with see view with a spacious bed and bathroom and although we needed the little taxi (called "tutute") to access it, there was never a problem to escort us whenever we needed it. The little town itself is really lovely and we met a British guy who works on the beach and it was clear that he would not come back to the UK under no circumstances!!! he gave us loads of advice and recommendation e.g. restaurants, bars etc.
we did not use any of the food facilities other than breakfast, which was excellent with a picturesque view. i am one of these people who believe that the planet is too vast to go to a holiday place twice!... but i would make exception for the Panviman and Koh Pha Ngan island.... i am from the French Caribbean myself and when i say that Thailand is beautiful? ... i mean it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeiteasygm, General Manager at Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Adrian A,

Firstly, let me thank you for the time spent on writing this review, we really appreciated it. We were truly delighted to hear that our staff were absolutely lovely, ensuring that you really had a stress-free stay. Moreover, we were super content to hear our accommodation was a delight, mentioning that it was spacious, romantic, and had an amazing sea-view! Furthermore, we were extremely happy that our tuk-tuk service was efficient and always there to serve you. Finally, we were absolutely glad that you loved your breakfast with a picturesque view!

Please be ensured that we intend to maintain our services and natural surroundings to top-level. We would do anything make our customers' stay a wonderful and memorable one.

We could not be more happy that you will be returning in the future, after mentioning that it is unlikely that you will visit any place twice, and we really hope to provide you with the best service on your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Jesada Bhiromsiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
5.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan

Property: Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Address: 22/1 Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Noi Bay | Bantai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort with 72 rooms, 8 categories, 3 restaurants, 2 bars and room service, infinity view swimming pool, private beach, kayaking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan Hotel Koh Phangan
Panviman Hotel Ko Phangan
Panviman Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing