We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location - best on beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Ranked #60 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 8 August 2009

So, here we go.

Baan Panburi classes itself as an boutique budget hotel. Got that? It's aimed at budget travellers who want to spend just a little bit more for a pristine beach and better than usual facilities. As long as you understand this then you can decide which reviews to ignore and which to pay attention to.

Located on one of the top 10 beach destinatons in the world (as voted by the Sunday Times), this resort enjoys a prime location right in the middle of the beach. As I understand things Panburi was the original hotel on this beach taking up more or less the entire beach before the owners decided that they could accomodate both budget and luxury travellers. Therefore, they relocated many of the huts to sit sideways to the beach and built a grand luxury resort (Ras An A Da) on the extra space. Star huts, on the other side of Panburi are owned by Panburi but leased to another company - pratically the same. Note, the Ras An A Da is stunning, but pricey.

The Panburi huts are no more that 40 meters from the beach. You can simply role out of bed and hit the beach. Sun loungers are limited so its more likely you'll find yourself lying on a towel which is just fine. The beach itself is simply fantastic. What a location! The trip to the resort took us no more than 30 mins. We arrived at 7pm at night when the jeep taxi fares are a little more expensive, nevertheless we paid 1000 bhat to be the only two people on the jeep - for the time this is more than acceptable. Usual cost during the day is around 250 bhat iper person n a shared taxi to the south of the island. Handsome Sandwiches run taxis fairly frequently.

The village is just that. There is not a heck of a lot in terms of nightlife but there are a few bars, mini marts and ATMS, aswell as a small pharmacy, dive shops, book shops and barber. The Jungle bar was the pick of the bars if it got busy. It's usual an even mix of tourists and locals who are happy to join in with your fun. Nui the owner is a nice guy. He also owns the Lovely Jubbly speedboat in the harbour which is used for water skiing, bananna boat rides etc. Just go to the bar if nobody is on the beach and someone will appear to get all the equipment out. There are also a couple of jet skis run by some french bloke. We never used these but they looked great.
Tanaporn is the best massage place in the village, and very reasonable. Book ahead in peak season.

The rooms themselves are exactly what it says on the tin. The beds are hard (ish) and I have to admit I would have prefered if our room didn't have additional guests at night - not uncommon to wake and find a few lizards running around. Some of the bathroom is open air - the shower. We had aircon and a hot shower which costs a little more. However, we haggled on the price on check in and got a substantial reduction.
The staff are amazing, especially at the Beach Club restaurant who always greet you with a smile and warm welcome. Don the assistant manager is worth chatting to. He'll arrange beach front tables for you on the night of the weekly parties if you ask. The parties have Thai dancing, cooking classes and fire dancers from the full moon party. One of the guys is fantastic (you'l know which one) and you even get the chance to join in if you are brave enough! Its no wonder that the guests of the 5 star hotels at either end of the beach also choose to dine at the beach club.
We went to the half moon party which was in the jungle near to Bai Tann. The locals say this is the best party and what a night we had. Its a fantastic setting and the atmosphere is fab. I'd recommend it for any age under 50 - not kids obviously! Again, Handsomes organise taxis there and back.
Handsomes seem to have cleaned up in the village and the only area they are lacking in is when doing laundry. Upon return it feels soapy to touch. We felt we need to give everything an extra rinse before letting it dry out again.

So, I'd recommend this resort to those travelling on a limited budget who have knowledge of what to expect and realise that SE Asia is jut not like back home. Great beach, staff and good accomodation.

PS I should also mention Luna, a restaurant at the far end of town - very god.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sparts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

Undeniably the worst place we've ever stayed. Upon our arrival, we were met with unclean, dark, depressing bungalows complete with a concrete 'bed' and an unsealed bathroom which proved a haven for surrounding insects. The towels were old, dirty and had holes in them and the mosquito nets had band aids covering its wear and tear. While the location, right on the beach, was ideal, this 'resort' inspired a 4am rise and 6.30am check-out. We were waiting at nearby accomodation at 7.30am. If you fall in love with this beach and would like to stay in a bungalow, try some of the other resorts - there are better options.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We were a group of backpackers heading to Koh Phangan for the full moon party. Instead of staying near the mayhem in Haad Rin we decided for somewhere quieter and then commute on a nightly basis there. The location of this place is unbelievable, once you get over the initial 45 min journey over dirt-track there. The beautiful beach is only about 50 yards away from the beach in most of the bungalows.

The staff were helpful enough and we couldn't really complain. They operate taxis etc down to Haad Rin although we took the trip with Mrs Handsome instead (highly recommended!). The beachside restaurant is also really nice, it was maybe too pricey for us but plenty of people were recommending it. The happy hour cocktails however were right up our street!
The accomodation itself isn't perfect, but for the relatively cheap price it was very passable. The only major exception we had was the cockroaches appearing the bathrooms, BEWARE. We ended up renting 1 air-con room and 2 fan rooms due to low availablility. Even with a large amount of alcohol imbibed it was difficult to brave the heat in the fan rooms. Although that's just one of the sacrifices of backpacking...
The beach is almost entirely inhabited by couples but if you want somewhere to chill during the day before hitting Haad Rin hard at night, this is a pretty good spot (minus the long taxi back when the hangover is starting to set in!).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed 5 nights at Baan Panburi as part of our honeymoon August 2008. We had booked the "Ocean Hut" which should have an ocean view, and we were not disappointed. The Ocean Hut is the leftmost of the hotel's bungalows, which means the terrace is very private (just trees beside it). The bungalow and terrace is just a few steps from the beach, it's as close as you can get. The room was nice, with A/C, refrigerator and view to the beach, and bathroom was OK. Our terrace was quite big, with a table and two chairs.

The beach Thong Nai Pan Noi was perfect except for the many straydogs that also lived there. Baan Panburi's restaurant is directly on the beach, and seemed to be by far the most popular restaurant on the beach during our stay. The restaurant was - beside the location - the best thing about Baan Panburi, the food was wonderful. The only downside was a somewhat slow service, and sometimes they forgot one's order. But in this kind of place, you're never in a hurry, and it wasn't really a problem. The hotel staff were always nice, and responded to our requests at once.

All in all, we can think of no better place to spend a relaxing beach holiday than in Baan Panburi. We thought the location of the Ocean Hut right by the beach was absolutely worth the extra money compared to the cheaper bungalows without seaview.

Note: there has been some talk of construction work at the beach, which was still going on when we visited. However, it was on the opposite side of the hotel from our bungalow, and it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knollogtott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Baan Panburi is on the North east of the island, it is a bit of a trek to get there as it is in quite a remote location but no problems obtaining taxis/water taxis to and from, tho these tended to get expensive when there was not a large group of people.
Our room was very basic and the bathroom needs updating badly but was right on the beachfront and was cleaned everyday. Staff are lovely and attentive, and the restuarant on the beach offers tasty Thai and western food We stayed for 6 nights and in hindsight would have moved around the island to another hotel to break up the stay. There are so many gorgeous places to see on the island, and would go back in a heartbeat. Taxis to full moon party (45mins away) are offered

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I booked the ocean hut bungalow for three nights (you must book 3 nights if you are booking during the Full Moon Party when you book online). It is by far the most expensive bungalow I paid for Thailand...but I feel that it was worth it for the experience (not to mention it was high season and the Full Moon Party). The bungalow was great and palm trees run through it. If you take 5 steps off of the porch, you hit the water when the tide is high (the view was amazing). It's also the farthest bungalow from the restaurant and bar...so it's very quiet. The food at the restaurant was ok. I found much better food at the surrounding bars/restaurants. Other than the food, I would recommend this resort. My bungalow would have been great for a romantic stay.

Be prepared for a 30 minute bumpy ride to the resort. Please do not spend any more than 700baht for the trip (2 people). You shouldn't pay more than this!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We booked a fan bungalow at this resort based on other reviews, and the fact that the price was so reasonable. Unfortunately our first impressions were bad - the promised shuttle to the resort did not turn up, trying to phone the resort resulted in the message that the phone had been disconnected. We ended up paying more than was quoted on the website to get to the resort. On arrival we were simply told that it was off season.

That phrase became very common over the few nights we spent here - the information left in our bungalow was all for peak season so did not apply (so why was it left in there?), the restaurant closed at 7pm without any notice as it was off season, the staff made us feel that we were in the way (including very loud conversations right outside our bungalow very early!). Also, I understand previous comments about the beds - the hardest bed I have ever slept in!

This place may be good during peak season, but I would not recommend it in off season.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pen's Bungalow
Pen's Bungalow
#105 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#80 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Limelight Village
Limelight Village
#10 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £242 - £1,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Thai huts located on famed Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. Traditional Southern Accommodation with great prices and unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Baan Panburi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing