We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise island but like hell hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Paradise island but like hell hotel”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Well, only ok for a short term stay !!! First what kind of stupid restaurants you need to pay for the water ??? Their restaurant staff will use their terrible English to stop you fill in water from counter, no matter cold water or hot water , and plus their food has so limit choice. Yes, live there can enjoy the beach and snorkeling after all the tourist go away. But the restaurant just maxxxxx terrible! It almost ruin my impression of koh nang yuan. But never let your happiness effected by others lol


However the hotel reception and staff is very nice. They are super nice so I feel its lucky.

Nangyuan island is nice and quiet, but that's it, it is not as good as diving in koh Tao, if I still visit next time, I might bring a max number of water lol

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOOD9T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    56
    49
    49
    48
See reviews for
41
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I'm reviewing this as an attraction, not a hotel because I can't find it listen elsewhere.

I DID NOT STAY ON THE ISLAND.

However, I took a day trip from Koh Phangan and really enjoyed myself with friends.
We stopped to snorkel in the mid morning, before arriving at the (I believe now privatized) Nangyuan Island. We got free time to ourselves and after a buffet lunch (average) we decided to climb to the summit. The path goes along the beach and then up into the jungle. Highly recommend insect repellant! And take water, it is hot and steamy under those trees!
The view from the top is amazing though and definitely worth sweating it out with your companions! you will laugh about it later when you're dumping a big bottle of cold water on your head!

Be warned though that up at the summit it is not pathway friendly. You WILL have to climb up rocks!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank j_girl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

After staying at the amazing Sensi Paradise we thought we would spend 2 nights on what was said to be "paradise" but the service and actual rooms were shocking. This island caters for all the ferries that bring in day trips, not the guests staying on the island. The food was shocking, service shocking, rooms old and smelled of moth balls. But the views were the most spectacular views I have ever seen in my life and the actually snorkelling is amazing. But this should be kept as a day visit ONLY

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeazlT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stunning Island. Once we got there we had to extend our stay. The beach is perfect, the sunset is wonderful, diving staff very professional, hotel staff very friendly. Regarding the restaurant the buffet is poor but the a la carte menu is very good.

The bungalow was nice and clean with stunning view over the island.

It is expensive having in mind Thai standards but still affordable for European or American standards.

Just have in mind that this is an Eco Resort so there's no luxury. If you're looking for the real thing and to keep in simple with the best natural location possible. This is the place.

Room Tip: You can choose the room from the resort's site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodGama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

2nd visit on Nangyuan (last year, this year) - very beautiful !! also during day time the herds of tourists are just far !! too much for this tiny place. Worth to overnight to get the calm after the day visitors have left (or before they arrive at around 9.30/10am) and only very few (hotel) guests remaining. Room (Beach Bungalow, 6000 Bhts/night...) nice and clean. Some of the staff, some only, very nice indeed. To have Dinner, the Restaurant in the evening is the only choice but far from recommendable....Poor quality, poor service (with the fortunate exception of one girl waiter who made it all possible - because the rest couldn't care less) and with rates which will make you poor also if you stay long enough....Same goes for the beach bar, land of smile seems to be far away, but european rates are pretty close... Overall: Nice side trip if staying on Koh Samui by example, beautiful sea (also this time far more garbage/plastics etc on the sea floor than last year, don't understand why apparently there is no consistent clean up program ) but in my opinion overpriced/very expensive and few friendly staff only. Ah, and when trying to pay by credit card, very unfortunately line is broken just in this moment...
Dive Center: nice staff, friendly and well equipped

Room Tip: Room numbers D9,10,11,12
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thetropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year. It was coming to the end of our 5 month honeymoon so we thought we'd splash out in paradise....how wrong we could be!!!! The resort is tired.....just getting from the boat to your room is treacherous, with broken steps and hand rails! We stayed on the 'nicer' island expecting first class chalets, only to find it riddled with ants and cockroaches. We were woken one night to find one running over my husbands face! We were travelling and had therefore roughed it for most of our trip and honestly this was the worst room. It was outdated, tired and spelt of damp. What lured us to book were the stunning photos of the sand bars joining the two islands.....in reality they are rarely there due to the changing tides which meant wading through the water for breakfast and dinner! We still got a good picture from the top of the mountain but you can come on a day trip to do that and that is all it is worth. As a paying guest on the island you have no priority over the day trippers....its first come first served on the sun loungers (with are rock hard and tiny) and there aren't enough when over 300 hundred day guest arrive. With this many people and an ever shrienking beach there is not enough room for everyone so you end up having to sunbathe on the concrete! Breakfast was often cold and the menu is limited if your staying for more than 3 days. The snorkling is not good, as all the coral is dead. The most upsetting thing we witnessed was 2 workers collecting rubbish off the beach and then throwing back into the sea. Staff are not overly friendly, only the manager seemed to care and on his own he was fighting a loosing battle. It has the potential to be paradise but it has been left to become rundown and it really was the worst 3 days of our 5 month travels.

Room Tip: They say to pay more and book onto the island with the 'nicer chalets'....there are none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank precious_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I travelled to Thailand in the winter of 2011 (Jan-March). We absolutely loved the experience. After four days in Bangkok, we boarded the overnight bus and then the high speed ferry to Koh Nyangyuan. Perhaps the prices have gone up a bit, bit we stayed on the east island in a little bungalow up high overlooking the beautiful green waters below, for 1000 baht/night which at that time was about $32.00 Canadian. We stayed in many other waterfront bungalows that were nicer for anywhere from $12-$20/night, but the island experience was well worth it. There was a little bar fridge where we kept cold beer and would sit on the deck, enjoying the view. It was very peaceful and serene.

Getting to the bungalow with all our luggage was a bit of a challenge but we had help from a staff member. We were both 59 years old at the time so we're no spring chickens! Once there, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. I read a reference from someone saying they were disappointed about getting wet going for meals at the resort because on the east island, you do need to cross a sandbar to get there. When the tide was getting above our knees, we arranged to have a boat pick us up and it was never a problem. We brought flashlights with us so getting back in the dark was no problem either. We found the staff to be friendly but our expectations were not very high. We travel light and look forward to interacting with the locals with no expectations of being waited on hand and foot.

We were only there for four nights because there isn't a lot to do there other than enjoy the beach and snorkeling. It was the best snorkeling we've ever experienced! The one reviewer said she went somewhere else to snorkel, which was puzzling to me. You could snorkel in water up to your waist there and see a multitude of fish. It was like swimming in a salt water aquarium! The Japanese choral gardens were beautiful for snorkeling. We climbed to the top of the west island one evening, and took a boat to Koh Tao one day to check it out. That's also where we bought beer, snacks and anything else we needed to enjot the stay in our rustic bungalow. We absolutely loved our stay and are planning to go back during the winter of 2014. In fact, we're thinking of leading a tour of people our age because we found so many would like to benefit from our experience over there. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.5 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#36 of 49 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nangyuan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nangyuan Island Dive Resort

Property: Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Address: 46 Moo 1, Tumbon Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nangyuan Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Sawasdee and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nangyuan Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nangyuan Island Dive Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing