We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & picturesque place - something very unique to stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in the Nangyuan Island Dive Resort one day and one night. Axially I was very happy and excited to be able to stay for a night at such a picturesque island.

We spent on a diving tour on the sea almost the whole day, so we avoided the crowd on the island during the day. We returned to the island in the afternoon and I really enjoyed the snorkelling there that we could do directly from the beach – very nice place. The island was not very crowded in the afternoon and it was almost empty in the evening. I liked very much that it was so quite in the evening and like the lost island at night.

In the late afternoon we also climbed up to see the wonderful sunset and the breath-taking view of the island – very picturesque.

My bungalow was the “economy class” but it was really nice and the most important is it was located close to the beach (in the central part of the island). It had one big bad and one small bad, refrigerator, TV. It was only some problem with water pressure but as I stayed only one night I would not complain about it and after all water problem is quite obvious on the small island.

I had both breakfast and dinner in the Nangyuan Island Dive Resort and I liked both.

WIFI was free of charge and very good quality.

In general - very nice and picturesque place and something very unique to stay there for a night! :-)

Room Tip: There are different kind of bungalows there, so it really depend what you like - more centrally loca...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darshwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

DIVING
We did our Open Water PADI Diving License while staying in the Nangyuan Island Dive Resort and we would recommend the diving course with the local Diving Center without reservation. Nice Staff, chilled atmosphere, amazing dives.

HOTEL
When doing the diving license you have 3-4 nights in the cheapest room of the resort inclused in the package (cost would be 1500 THB/night). These rooms are extremely low standard and are defenitely not worth the money, rather 200 THB per night. There are more beautiful rooms available for an unjustifiable high price as the overall service does not even roughly match the price of the cheapest room.

RESTAURANT
Extremely poor service in the restaurant, unfriendly and incompentent staff with some exemptions, we have hardly ever seen staff sooo unmotivated to do their job, you have to ask for everyhting twice. Prices are above average for Thailand.


SETTING
Beach is extremely nice before 10am and after 4pm, in between (especially on Monday and Tuesday) is Korean/Japanese or whatever day and up to 700 day tourists will come to the tiny piece of beach and every meter in the water and on the beach is occupied. When doing your diving license there, you can mostly avoid the crowds by doing your theoretical part or the open water dives during the day and enjoy the beach before and after the crush of people.

RATING:
Service and Value of the Hotel Terrible
Service and Value of the Dive Center Very Good to Excellent

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a beautiful island, wonderful diving and snorkelling, however, do not consider staying in the bungalows overnight.
The staff all pack up and leave when the dive boats and tourists depart at 6pm.
The bar is locked up and the restaurant is nothing to rave about. It feels like they couldn't be bothered with staying guests. The bungalows are overpriced and the budget ones are very basic. You have to be a mountain goat to get to them. They are badly in need of an upgrade, TVs don't work, air conditioner very noisy, cold water showers, bucket toilets. In all, if you are planning to go here, make it a day trip along with the hundreds of tour and dive boats and be prepared to fight for a deck chair.

Room Tip: Get a beach bungalow, but be prepared to be alone after 6pm.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobJane49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We chose this resort to stay on since it was quite far away, and we wanted something fairly quiet. Little did we know that half of Shanghai would turn up each day on the island to snorkel here. From about 9am until about 4pm there wasn't an inch of space on the beach or in the water. In addition, the day trippers would enter to the private accommodation zones to hang out, and there were not hotel staff asking them to leave.

The service at the front desk was functional, although extremist unfriendly. The rooms were basic, but fit in we'll with the island, however they had tiny bathrooms, which was strange because the room was so big. The food at the restaurant there was ok, and the staff serving dinner were very nice.

One thing I felt most sad about on the island was that they allowed smoking (but they don't allow you to bring your own plastic water bottle?). It's resulted in many cigarette butts on this beautiful island.

If I was heading back to this area again, I would definitely stay on Koh Tao where there are many more accommodation options to choose from, and nicer, quieter beaches.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank thomsonkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We did not stay at the resort but visited as our last stop for our full day snorkelling trip. This was our last stop and we arrived at 1530. Paid THB100 pp for entry. Plastic bottles and flippers were not allowed. There were many tourists waiting to depart at the time we arrived, so we were thankful. Not many people at the beach which was a relief. The beach is nice and soft, but we were disappointed with the snorkelling. Nothing much to see. Perhaps the fishes worked too hard for the day and are all home resting =) Sea was clear and nice to swim in though.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The only good thing about the island is the view (from the view point for example). Dirty beach and not comfortable for swimming. I would close my eyes on bad work if stuff and dirty ugly rooms (seems like they had never cleaned their carpets and toilets cause they are stinky!), but the price is too high for such a teribble hotel. The personal had broken our luggage and they also don't speak English at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaTremas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Nice view. Clear water. The beach not so clean.

The restaurant: everything so expensive but no choice for ppl who stay there. There is only one restuarant on the island. The taste was just ok.

The room: i stayed there 3nights. First i stayed in the executive room (Q3)for 4800baht a night but its not executive like the name. Only with nice view from the balcony. Its so tired to get the room, the room so old, there are 2big rocks in room on the floor and its rough. You may get accident from them, Old TV,the bed is small and hard hard and dirty pillow, the floor a bit dirty, the bathroom is big and old style, the toilet seat broken so i asked them to fix it, So i couldnt sleep good for first night.
Then my husband had to upgrade the room to the beach villa one (D9) for 6000baht a night, the room is better than the one above, soft bed, i feel more clean, the water flow so slow and the bathroom a bit dirty and flood. The toilet smell bad and i saw some trace. I guess they never clean them. The AC not work so good and its hot in day time.

Service: their workers on island are from Burma. So for sure you will not get good service mind from them. They not clean the room during the day. They just came to make the bed. Thats it. We used same towel for staying there evryday.

So i dont recommend to stay here. Better you stay on koh tao and just come to visit koh nangyuan.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.5 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#36 of 49 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nangyuan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nangyuan Island Dive Resort

Address: 46 Moo 1, Tumbon Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £44 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nangyuan Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Sawasdee and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nangyuan Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nangyuan Island Dive Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing