We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect island at night...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect island at night...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

What is it:
- an extraordinary beach. Three beachfronts. Excellent possibilities to swim not just lie in the water looking dumb.
- good for snorkelling and diving
- relaxation once the daytime tourist has left the island.
- rather poor service as there is only one restaurant available

We had beach house D9, one of the once closest to the beach. The standard was good and our cleaning lady did a great job. There is nothing happening on this island once the boats are gone and that's great. Just relax and eat very good food in the restaurant if you're okay with relaxed service.

I might go back. Who knows.





Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    56
    49
    49
    48
See reviews for
41
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I spend one night at Nangyuan island, i think they had to have good service , more professional, becuse they have opened the resort for a long time. Then i will make a conclusion as below


Cons
1.The waiter serviced was not good.
2.Incorrect calculated the bill.
3.Food very expensive.
4.the package to snockel, no staff to take care tourist or took us to the important thing in that area.


Pros
1.Good view
2.Privated after 4 pm.
3.only 2 officers have serviced mind.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParNapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We were prepared for daytimes to be packed with day trippers and the rooms themselves were basic but ok considering the location.

What spoiled our visit totally was the rude, unhelpful and unfriendly staff. Food was poor and overpriced. Staying overnight we felt like we were just an inconvenience for the staff who clearly were finished for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

(+)the Island is beautiful. Snorkelling is a must and it is one of the best place i have ever seen!
(+)the 2 receptionist were very great and helpfull!

(-)The room was crap! walls were broken and the door on the balcony doesn't close well so red ants could enter. First time I used my mosquito net! The Bed was EXTREMELY hard. i woke twice in the night because my back was hurting.
(-)The food! It was poisonous. We ordered 1 Green curry chicken and 1 Red curry prawn. The Green tasted fish and the red tasted knacki orange sausage that are served at breakfast. You know why?? because they don't wash their frying pan! Plus, I asked the waiter to try this fish-chicken green curry: "sir it is the taste of the green curry in thailand, this is how it is!". (I have been eating gren curry for 3 weeks...)
The morning after I was ill...

You should spend ONE night at this hotel because you could see this beautiful island without anybody! But no more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here last year during a two month trip around thailand. We stayed for one night only. The island itself is stunning however if you go in the day it is just full of tourists and getting a deck chair or even a spot on the beach is bare impossible.The reef is very dead so snorkelling is poor. However we spent the day there in the hope that eventually the island would clear, which it did, and just the hotel guests and staff were left. This is when you can get some beautiful photographs. We then checked in, the woman on reception was rude and uninterested. We were handed our key to our room and informed that if we lost the key or the deposit slip of paper (which was tiny) we would loose our deposit of 2000 bahts!! When we got to our room we were horrified! It was so basic and wasnt particularly clean, the toilet stank and the shower was dirty. The bed was so uncomfortable with ants crawling over it.

Being the only hotel on the island it is the only place to eat, the food is terrible and tasteless and breakfast was horrendous! Food was also so expensive. Would not recommend staying here to anyone. A waste of money. Just go for a daytrip although it is very busy.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chloeann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in the Nangyuan Island Dive Resort one day and one night. Axially I was very happy and excited to be able to stay for a night at such a picturesque island.

We spent on a diving tour on the sea almost the whole day, so we avoided the crowd on the island during the day. We returned to the island in the afternoon and I really enjoyed the snorkelling there that we could do directly from the beach – very nice place. The island was not very crowded in the afternoon and it was almost empty in the evening. I liked very much that it was so quite in the evening and like the lost island at night.

In the late afternoon we also climbed up to see the wonderful sunset and the breath-taking view of the island – very picturesque.

My bungalow was the “economy class” but it was really nice and the most important is it was located close to the beach (in the central part of the island). It had one big bad and one small bad, refrigerator, TV. It was only some problem with water pressure but as I stayed only one night I would not complain about it and after all water problem is quite obvious on the small island.

I had both breakfast and dinner in the Nangyuan Island Dive Resort and I liked both.

WIFI was free of charge and very good quality.

In general - very nice and picturesque place and something very unique to stay there for a night! :-)

Room Tip: There are different kind of bungalows there, so it really depend what you like - more centrally loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darshwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

DIVING
We did our Open Water PADI Diving License while staying in the Nangyuan Island Dive Resort and we would recommend the diving course with the local Diving Center without reservation. Nice Staff, chilled atmosphere, amazing dives.

HOTEL
When doing the diving license you have 3-4 nights in the cheapest room of the resort inclused in the package (cost would be 1500 THB/night). These rooms are extremely low standard and are defenitely not worth the money, rather 200 THB per night. There are more beautiful rooms available for an unjustifiable high price as the overall service does not even roughly match the price of the cheapest room.

RESTAURANT
Extremely poor service in the restaurant, unfriendly and incompentent staff with some exemptions, we have hardly ever seen staff sooo unmotivated to do their job, you have to ask for everyhting twice. Prices are above average for Thailand.


SETTING
Beach is extremely nice before 10am and after 4pm, in between (especially on Monday and Tuesday) is Korean/Japanese or whatever day and up to 700 day tourists will come to the tiny piece of beach and every meter in the water and on the beach is occupied. When doing your diving license there, you can mostly avoid the crowds by doing your theoretical part or the open water dives during the day and enjoy the beach before and after the crush of people.

RATING:
Service and Value of the Hotel Terrible
Service and Value of the Dive Center Very Good to Excellent

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.5 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#36 of 49 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
3.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nangyuan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nangyuan Island Dive Resort

Property: Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Address: 46 Moo 1, Tumbon Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nangyuan Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Sawasdee so you can book your Nangyuan Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nangyuan Island Dive Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing