We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach-infested”
Review of Leela Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leela Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It may have changed owners since we stayed there - we heard that it had already been bought but the people running it were just trying to make some money out of it before the new owners took over. But if it's the same then avoid it. Alarm-bells started ringing when the guy running it asked us to pay for three nights upfront, but we were tired so we agreed to pay for one night and see how it went. He assured us there was no problem with cockroaches, but we got back to our room (one of the more expensive breezeblock aircon ones on the beach) to find the bathroom crawling with them. The guy acted shocked (unconvincingly) when we told him about it and checked out the following morning. We stayed in Lighthouse - just round the headland along a wooden walkway from Leela beach - which we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavindraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Leela Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

I'll make this as straightforward as possible.

Pro's- GREAT LOCATION. Situated on the beach opposite the full moon party. So you're not sleeping in the middle of the crazy-ness but it's about a 2 min walk to all of the Full Moon Party action. It's on a great beach. Staff is extremely friendly and nice! Genuine people.

Con's-
*Price: Compared with other hostels and homestays in SE Asia, this place is definitely a splurge!
*Accommodations: Shacks. Huts. Holes in the walls and floors. Cockroaches (all 6 of us staying here had the pleasure of discovering one at some point)
*Security: TERRIBLE. full moon party night the thieves come out to prey on the tourists! It's a guarentee that every tourist on the island will be out of their rooms and at the Full moon party beach between the hours of 8-6am. Thieves come out and break into the cottages, and it's not hard. There was only one security personnel on shift to oversee all of the cottages- not nearly enough. The locks on the cottages are old padlocks that are easy to jimmy open. Bring your own combination lock!!! Zip tie the windows! And you should be OK.

Our cottage was broken into while we were sleeping. Luckily the one security guard that was on for the night ended up SHOOTING the thief with a pellet gun while they were running away and we got our stuff back. It was a miracle!

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage close to the restaurant (these are a bit more expensive, but beachfront), there...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

first impressions were the beach which is in an ideal location with breathtaking scenary
the beach huts look very basic and in fact are
I would definetly upgrade to a breeze block bungalow with air con as the standard cheapest are far too basic
The bungalows are more than adequit for a comfy 3 night stay although be prepared to carry your cases some 800yds to get there
plenty of places to eat nearby and its amazing that although so close to the moon party beach that this is also a million miles away with its tranquill peacful setting

Room Tip: always lock your room although didnt experience any problems
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in the cliff bungalow. The rooms are kinda basic, but we had a very good sleep quality and a nice view. The prices outside of the full moon season, are also cheap.

While it's only a 10 minute walk to Haad Rin (the biggest city on Koh Phangan), it's still very quiet and has a beautiful beach. the staff very nice and helpful.

I also liked the hotel's own restaurant which had good and cheap prices.

Nice beach don't miss to stay here!!! I will back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anny2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

am stay at Leela bungalow on the New year period 2011 we do not expect that this will be good for relaxation but when we come to check in the staff are friendly and fantastic I like the wording they are said don't worry we will take care you you are my family"
what can u say about this place? !! it is the place to have everlasting holidays!!! right on the beach, the friendliest stuff ever, facilities that will blow your mind!!!
.don't miss to stay here if u want to combine vacations in thailand with the best hotel then this is it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

AVOID at all costs. This place is gross disgusting disturbing unsafe unpleasant just plain wrong. This so called bungalow was the dirtiest craphole I've ever seen in my life and I've stayed at my fair share of dirty guesthouses. The place had black mold growing everywhere. By the second night, both my gf and i developed terrible coughs. The bathroom had an army of cacoroches parading in it. The walls were brownish black with what looked like turd stains eveywhere.
To add insult to injury, my gf 1500$ camera was stolen while we were out for a couple of hours. Another couple had their laptop stolen as well on the same night. There was no sign of forced entry which means the staff is in on it. Of course, we ve asked to leave our valuables at the front desk or lockers but we were refused because they would rather steal your stuff than keep it safe. Anyways, avoid this place like the plague that it is!!!! You have been warned

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

stayed here for new year full moon and was such a mistake. saw the reviews before booking and just hoped that people were being picky or exaggerating....

BUT LET ME TELL YOU,,,,,,

Do not stay here. Staff are so rude and make you feel like crap. Noone wants to help you and you feel uneasy at all times. A laptop went missing from our room.... again noone wants to help (I think it was the staff anyway but what can you do?) gutted about that, especially since I read the reviews on here and didn't listen! rooms were dirty and stank of wee. not what you need when you want to relax on a hangover after new year! way overpriced

Just awful, just read other people's comments too. not worth it.

we left early and chilled on the floor at our mates instead

If it's your last resort, don;t stay there.... stay on samui and get a boat over or something. goodbye laptop/music/photo's!

honestly, you would be a complete idiot if you read this and stayed there. so don't do it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizardoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Bungalows
Lighthouse Bungalows
#83 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#107 of 378 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Paradise
Little Paradise
#104 of 378 in Ko Pha Ngan
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leela Beach Resort

Address: 130/21 M.6 Tamboon Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Class:2 star — Leela Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leela Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan
Leela Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing