We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Dump”
Review of Leela Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leela Beach Resort
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Complete Dump”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

The beach is ideal. These bungalows are disgusting. Do not book ahead of time when visiting thailand everything is negotiable with many choices. We paid $35 for a fan beachfront room. Which in thai standards is a small fortune. The very nice hotel next door was far nicer for $10 more a night. Avoid total rip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cougarcubkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    12
    15
    11
    25
See reviews for
4
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Lovely location near the Cocohuts hotel resort. Leela's bungerlows are on the beach which is ideal. However it seems like they were built in the '70's and haven't been refurbished since. I'm sure they're cleaned regularly. We shared our 'bathroom' (a 70's toilet & broken shower) with a giant cockroach who could easily wander in through the holes in the wall.
Saying that we slept ok and it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This place is pretty good, I generally like to stay in 4-5 star properties and this wasn't bad.

It has no hot water, who cares you're in Thailand and have the beach!

The food is pretty good!
Staff are good and the Bungalows are comfortable.

They have a range of canines that protect the property and are safe and friendly.

The view is good and overall I agree this is value for money and would be back

Room Tip: Get a beach bungalow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riss_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

dont expect a 5 star booking this place, I wont give them 1 start; however, is not about the starts is about the people staying in this place.
I had a great time, I felt safe.
the room was clean when I checked in, I got my own padlock, so the cleaning crew didnt have access to clean every day (I booked for 3 nites)
My bungalow was 30 feet from the water, the view was amazing. and very quiet.
To go to town was a 10-15 walk. coming back from town...bring a flash light with you if late at nite.
I recommend if you go, get there early when still light outside; cause to find it, it took me 2 hrs..and it's not on the road, its literally on the beach. First you go thru a resort, onto the beach and the walk about 200 meters to find it... Sweet!!!

Room Tip: bring your own padlock. and take a room close to the "restaurant"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I love this Place and have not found anywhere in the world that matches this setting. Great beach and not to far to walk in to the party. I just love it here and will always go back every time I'm allowed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Me and my friend (2 Aussie girls stayed at Leela beach bungalow) my room is small cottage with fan close to the beach it not so bad for 300 ฿ we made friends with everyone that stayed there we became a little koh phangan family (ended up traveling rest of thailand with a few) it's 15 min walk on the beach go to Cocohut resort and walk up to Had Rin town . Very chilled atmosphere the owners let us put food and drink on tab, food was great and cheap! Free Internet. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Leela beach bungalow has a good choice of bungalows, we stayed in a family bungalow on the beach front with our 5 yr old daughter. The bungalows are nice but a bit of a walk from the restaurant/reception area. Especially if you arrive on the beach midday with heavy bags.
Take your bags to the far left corner of the beach to check in (or leave your bags there and check out the bungalows).
There was a nice mix of backpackers, couples and families in MPR and lots o daytrippers come and go during the day. The food is very good restaurant but of breakfast and during the day snacks MPR is fine and they have the friendliest staff in the bay. Yes it is slow most of the time, order go get forgotten sometimes but they do care and are always friendly. (which is something special in the touristy south of Thailand)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Willaim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#32 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#46 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Bungalows
Lighthouse Bungalows
#77 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#102 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leela Beach Resort

Property: Leela Beach Resort
Address: 130/21 M.6 Tamboon Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Class:2 star — Leela Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leela Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan
Leela Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing