We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nomad House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nomad House
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The vibe of this hostel is awesome. There's something going on every night whether it be just chilling with the owners and fellow peeps with a few beers or blowing it out before going to the parties with drinking games and shenanigans. People from other resorts and hostels were coming here to hang out too. The owners and the staff and the people who have stayed for a longer period of time just set the tone and make it worth your while. After a day I felt like a member of the group there and I didn't end up leaving for over a week. Great hostel. Loved it. Miss you guys!

Stayed , travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TDub22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
5
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

this is by far the best hostel that i've been to. the owners are amazing, they hang out with their guests all the time and know every single name. i had an awesome time there and the parties are legendary! we even went on a trip to the beach with all the owners and some other guests and had a great day together.
all in all: definitely the best hostel to stay for a full moon party, you can be sure to have a great time and meet many new friends!
thanks for a great stay to yuki and co.!
Michelle

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is hands down, the best hostel I've had the privileged to stay in Thailand. The rooms are well kept, bug free. The dorm I stayed in even had a balcony. The atmosphere is inviting. The staff are ultra helpful. It's a three minute stroll from a quieter stretch of Bantai beach. It is an excellent place to meet some wonderful people. I instantly felt like part of the group because of the atmosphere the staff create.

That being said, if you are an early to bed and early to rise person. Unless you are a really sound sleeper, this is not the place for you. The staff work hard at making every night a good one, suggesting parties and booking sharetaxis to find the best social spots on the island. But for a night owl young or old. I could not have found a better place.


I would visit again. You should too. Excellence.

Room Tip: If you visit over the full moon or half moon. Book in advance. The island fills up quickly. (hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterGears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a sweet ole time over February Full Moon at the Nomad House. The owners Yuki and Shine were so nice and accommodating. They really set the tone for the whole hostel and got everyone involved for pre-parties and got everyone to mingle and get to know one another. The rest of the staff were incredible as well and took care of me and made me feel right at home. The beds were also very comfortable and it was nice to take a hot shower again. The movie room they had was perfect for the achy mornings. The whole place is a brilliant set up and the people who run it make it the best. This is how every hostel should be.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 18 bed dorm (Dorm A) because it was the cheapest option. It was very well set up wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great hostel, clean and friendly atmosphere. What sets it apart from the rest is as soon as you step through the door you're part of the family. The guys there will look after you which is something you can't put a price on when you're travelling! I left my passport there and they went out of there way to get it back to me in less than 48 hours, cannot thank them enough. Oh and last but not least they know how to PARTTYYYY!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_B_Gurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premia de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Best bit about this place are the parties. We stayed 3 nights, sleeping in a 4 person dorm, with aircon and comfortable mattresses. The staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable as well as providing information on all the parties going on. Every night, there were predrinks for all the major parties. Massive social vibe, beer pong, free body paints, European girls and their card games and free drinks provided during the night by the staff, which is somewhat upsetting only because I kept trying to figure out how this place turns a profit. Our stay came to under 150 Baht per person per night, which is peanuts, considering you have to spend 100 baht per taxi ride (cheapest). Nice to see customer satisfaction trumping ideal profits.

In terms of a hostel, you can't really do better than this place.

Left my passport there, and they were more than happy to mail it to me. Awesome. Good people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Couldn't ask for more from a hostel. Incredible. Clean, great atmosphere, especially at night habging out with the rest of the hostellerws and the staff....the staff was awesome. They greeted me very warmly and ensured a very comfortable stay getting me everything I needed. Thanks for everything guys. And thanks for the lift to the pahrmacy Yuki!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Tai Backpackers
Baan Tai Backpackers
#2 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic
Majestic
#22 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phangan Arena
Phangan Arena
#9 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#11 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Slumber Party
Slumber Party
#5 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#64 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nomad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nomad House

Property: The Nomad House
Address: 111/12 Moo 1 Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 355 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Nomad House 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun and social hostel. It's all about comfort and being part of the lively backpacker community created at the Nomad House. Being a Hostel in Koh Phangan and conveniently located in one of the island's major party zones, we do cater mostly to the party goers. At our house parties and kickbacks, whether it is a small crowd or a group of over a hundred people, there is always some sort of shenanigans to get into before the night leads into one of Koh Phangans world famous parties. The Nomad House is, however, a fairly large hostel and getting a decent night's sleep is easy. We get frequent regulars and many of our guests return, making the Nomad House just that; a home away from home. Come join the fun and make yourself at home. Our international, all-star staff members are always here for you to make your stay the best that it can be. Koh Phangan, while known for parties is a beautiful tropical island worth exploring. We encourage our guests to go see the island and its natural beauty. 90 Percent of the island is undeveloped and untouched pristine beaches and ancient jungles. We rent out scooters and our awesome staff will organize group snorkeling and hikes to amazing view points and beaches frequently. We sometimes even rent out a truck if there are enough people to pitch in for the cost and go exploring some of Koh Phangan's most serene beaches. The Nomad House is located in the heart of Ban Tai. We are about 4 km away from the Thongsala pier (The main pier). The Half Moon Festival, Black Moon Party, The Jungle Experience, and other major jungle parties are right in our neighborhood, most located in the jungle behind the hostel. The world famous Full Moon party is only a 10/15 minute ride away. For those looking to relax, Ban Tai beach is only 150 meters directly in front of the hostel. Around the hostel are also many activities such as elephant trekking, jungle trekking, meditation retreats, yoga, kite surfing, Muay Tai boxing, fire shows, scuba diving/snorkeling, and a whole bunch more. Our dorm rooms are very comfortable and clean, with aircon, hot shower, WIFI, lockers, and all beds come with blankets and towels. We also have a movie room with a nice couch for those who want to just relax and perhaps nurse a nasty hangover. Although our rooms are nice, we do emphasize the fact that this is a social hostel. So if you want to just stay in your bed and not express yourself, this is not a hostel for you. Last but not least, we also have a restaurant on property serving up western dishes as well as Thai dishes using local ingredients and simple recipes. Great meals at very affordable prices. Come check us out! A few things to note: This is a very social and lively hostel. A sense of community is very strong at this hostel. If you don't want to get involved in activities and parties with other guests or If you like to be in your room all day and not mingle and share your experiences, this is not the right hostel for your stay. Cash payment for booking must be paid upon arrival. Check-in's before 9:30 AM must notify the Nomad House 24 hours in advance. Cancellation must notify the Nomad House at least 48 hours in advance. Kra Kun Krap/Ka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nomad House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing