We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Party Place to stay”
Review of The Nomad House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Nomad House
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Party Place to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights during full moon. There is pre drinks every night at the really cheap bar. Free shots. They organise tickets and taxis for all the nights out. Very friendly staff and all the people we met were so fun. There is a movie room for when you are hungover. And not too far from a 7/11 toastie after a night out!
Good location, as all taxi drivers know where hostel is. Taxis always 100baht pp.

Must stay, but only if you like to socialise!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
5
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

These guys are awesome. Don't think twice, just go there. 100% no doubt you'll have the time of your life. The environment is amazing, AC is cold, prices are fair, blah blah blah. It's the whole package real deal! And doing it solo makes it all the better!
- Ben from Kansas

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I came here with a friend for mainly the full moon party. I already read only good things about this hostel. We arrived and after a couple hours the stuff already knew our names always made sure we are doing alright. Every night the owner baked some pizza for all of us in the hostel its really good for socialising. When you travel on your own you wont have any problems to connect to other people. Its close to all the party places and about 2 minutes tuk tuk ride from the main area of the island with all the markets and restaurant. I had my best time in Asia there and will definitely come back :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Nomad House hostel was one of the best hostels i stayed at during my 4 months of travelling! As everyone here already said: the guys who run it are AMAZING! Will, Shine and Yuki put all their love and effort in the hostel to make sure that their guests have fun and feel comfortable. this isn't just a place to sleep, it's a place to make friends, to eat shines pizza (the best pizza in the world!), to have a good party (the cheap bar is another reason why this hostel is amazing) and to have a lot of fun with all the people there. I planned to stay only for 2 nights and ended up staying over a week, just because i loved the staff, the athmosphere, the parties and all the other people i met there. Shine, Will, Yuki, Nikki, Julia, Champ - thank you for making my stay here so special, I hope I'll see you again one day!
the nomad house i definitely the place to stay on koh phangan, eventhough there is no pool and you have to take a taxi to haad rin - but who needs a pool whenthere is the ocean and who wants to stay in haad rin?! ;D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocookiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The nomad house is literally the best hostel I have stayed in. The guys that run it (Yuki,Shine and Will) are legends!! They make the stay so enjoyable. The minute I walked through the door they were so welcoming, offered me a drink, talked about my travels and where I was going next. They are approachable about anything. It was like I have known them for years. Yeh the hostel doesn't have a flashy pool like hard rock, but it's the social scene there that makes it. I have made some great friends staying there, travellers and the staff themselves. They organise hikes to viewpoints and saw some of koh phangan best beaches. The bar is cheap and every night is a different drink offer.we had an amazing BBQ for American Independence Day and they fired up the pizza oven the night of the half moon .I am returning to the nomad house again for another 5 days in August and I wouldn't not stay anywhere else. 5 star hostel!!!

Room Tip: I stayed In the 8 bed dorm, met some great people who i am meeting in a couple of weeks. Plus it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathanaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This isn't the most decked out hostel, there is no swimming pool, and you will need a taxi to get to Haad Rin... but in reality, who needs all of that when you have a staff full of LEGENDS?! The people who run this hostel have got it right. Shine, Will, Yuki & Nikki will make your entire stay enjoyable. As ready as I was to leave the craziness of Full Moon, I didn't want to leave this hostel and its wonderful staff!

Nikki is crazy fun, Yuki is so laid back, Shine is a sweetheart and Will is the most welcoming. They each care A LOT about the hostel and all the people in it. Honestly, these people are straight up GEMS. You won't regret meeting them at all :)

Amenities wise - you've got all you need. The only improvement would be with the wifi but during full moon the island is so crowded that connection is slow everywhere.

Location wise - awesome. You are right in the middle of Thongsala Pier and Haad Rin. There are restaurants, travel agencies, 7-11, laundry services, and a car/bike rental place all within a five minute walk. The jungle and waterfall preparties are near you too.

If you are coming for Full Moon, this is THE spot. Every night there is something going on to get you pumped, discounted taxis are arranged for you, and the body paint is supplied.

All in all, this hostel made my time on Koh Phangan the best it could be! Thanks so much, Nomad House!!! xxx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place is not the normal hostel!! this is one of the best and most sociable hostels i have come across though my travels! The stafff are amazing and they make it is what it is! You will know everyone after your stay at the nomads house and the some of the food nights there are amazing~!!! Staff amazing, facilities amazing also make the parties even better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Tai Backpackers
Baan Tai Backpackers
#2 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic
Majestic
#21 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phangan Arena
Phangan Arena
#9 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#11 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Slumber Party
Slumber Party
#4 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#69 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nomad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nomad House

Property: The Nomad House
Address: 111/12 Moo 1 Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Nomad House 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun and social hostel. It's all about comfort and being part of the lively backpacker community created at the Nomad House. Being a Hostel in Koh Phangan and conveniently located in one of the island's major party zones, we do cater mostly to the party goers. At our house parties and kickbacks, whether it is a small crowd or a group of over a hundred people, there is always some sort of shenanigans to get into before the night leads into one of Koh Phangans world famous parties. The Nomad House is, however, a fairly large hostel and getting a decent night's sleep is easy. We get frequent regulars and many of our guests return, making the Nomad House just that; a home away from home. Come join the fun and make yourself at home. Our international, all-star staff members are always here for you to make your stay the best that it can be. Koh Phangan, while known for parties is a beautiful tropical island worth exploring. We encourage our guests to go see the island and its natural beauty. 90 Percent of the island is undeveloped and untouched pristine beaches and ancient jungles. We rent out scooters and our awesome staff will organize group snorkeling and hikes to amazing view points and beaches frequently. We sometimes even rent out a truck if there are enough people to pitch in for the cost and go exploring some of Koh Phangan's most serene beaches. The Nomad House is located in the heart of Ban Tai. We are about 4 km away from the Thongsala pier (The main pier). The Half Moon Festival, Black Moon Party, The Jungle Experience, and other major jungle parties are right in our neighborhood, most located in the jungle behind the hostel. The world famous Full Moon party is only a 10/15 minute ride away. For those looking to relax, Ban Tai beach is only 150 meters directly in front of the hostel. Around the hostel are also many activities such as elephant trekking, jungle trekking, meditation retreats, yoga, kite surfing, Muay Tai boxing, fire shows, scuba diving/snorkeling, and a whole bunch more. Our dorm rooms are very comfortable and clean, with aircon, hot shower, WIFI, lockers, and all beds come with blankets and towels. We also have a movie room with a nice couch for those who want to just relax and perhaps nurse a nasty hangover. Although our rooms are nice, we do emphasize the fact that this is a social hostel. So if you want to just stay in your bed and not express yourself, this is not a hostel for you. Last but not least, we also have a restaurant on property serving up western dishes as well as Thai dishes using local ingredients and simple recipes. Great meals at very affordable prices. Come check us out! A few things to note: This is a very social and lively hostel. A sense of community is very strong at this hostel. If you don't want to get involved in activities and parties with other guests or If you like to be in your room all day and not mingle and share your experiences, this is not the right hostel for your stay. Cash payment for booking must be paid upon arrival. Check-in's before 9:30 AM must notify the Nomad House 24 hours in advance. Cancellation must notify the Nomad House at least 48 hours in advance. Kra Kun Krap/Ka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nomad House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing