We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thongtapan Resort
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just spent 5 days in this beautiful location and will definitely go back. Thongtapan is definitely by far the cheapest accommodation on the resort and also happens to have the best bar on the island with Coco the five star bar man and a great restaurant. Mint, the owner is lovely and very helpful and the nearby village is a great place to also go for food. Mint, if you read this can you tell Coco I can't find him on fb!

Jo & Rob

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Saffy1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Thongtapan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

The staff was friendly and very helpful.
The bungalows are clean, nice and cheap( up at the hill are cheaper/ no sea view).
The beach is amazing and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geiahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great relaxed vibe at Thongtapan - the stilt bungalows are basic but stylish and the staff are very helpful. The manager (Mint) is fluent in English and very helpful and friendly. Restaurant is pretty good but the stand out feature is the beach bar with cocktails worthy of any decent Bangkok bar. I would recommend it as the best place to stay on Thong Nai Pan. Try out Luna, Jip and Handsome Sandwiches while you're there. Thong Nai Pan is a little more upmarket than most places on Ko Pha Ngan but very suitable for couples who want to get a rustic island atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here, stayed two nights and couldn't be happier.
Location is awesome, got a great welcome, and overall really good value given its location on what can be one of the pricier beaches on the island.
A/C worked well and rooms cleaned every day, minuses were that the showers were pretty weak and there was a big builers rubbish pile on the right on the way up to the huts. Shame as otherwise great

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElPoocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a simple bungalow 100 meters from the beach. The beds were not really comfortable, but we didn't expect much comfort for 700 baht/night.
The resort is perfectly situated at a quiet bay. THe restaurant serves good food and fruit shakes. Perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My first visit to Thong Nai Pan Noi...and I absolutely loved it. However was told by those who had visited in the past that things are much different to what they were.

It used to be a budget holiday-ers haven but the beach is now lined with 5 star resort...no restaurants or bars left on the beach front an Thongtapan is the last of the cheap accomodation left.

We stayed in the standard wooden bungalow for a week and I wouldn't have had it any other way. If you're after luxury, this isn't the place for you but the bungalows are clean and comfortable.

The girl on reception was absolutely wonderful...very helpful (I wish I could remember her name!).

If you're after a relaxing time on the beach with cheap (and amazing) food a massage and a quiet drink just a 5mins walk away, this is paradise.

If you're after a bit more action, Thong Nai Pan Yai is probably more up your alley (only a 5 mins cab away anyway)

Would have liked to have experienced TNP Noi before all the development, but to me this place is still pretty special :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank an0n13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Only a few notes about the "resort":

We stayed there for 5 nights in September 2011. It is next to all the 4 and 5 star resorts. There is another budget option next door but without AC. Also it´s quite an adventure to get there, so don´t arrive on Koh Phangan too late in the evening.

negative:

- it feels more like a youth hostel than a resort
- if you are expecting the Thai hospitality Thailand is famous for, don´t expect it at Thongtapan Resort
- Beds are terrible, really terrible
- bed linen is old, stained and worn
- towels are old, stained and worn
- food in the two restaurants is mediocre at its best, better walk about 500m into town and eat there ("Som Tum" or "Luna" are very good options)
- hot water is available, but it´s more dripping than flowing

positive:

- the rooms are spacious and cleanliness was ok
- the beach is beautiful
- drinking water at the restaurant costs the same as in the shops in the little village

Another advice: We would recommend a half day trip around the island, especially Bottle Beach is wonderful!

Room Tip: there is no real difference between the "superior garden room" and "garden suites&quo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFace78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
#62 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#24 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
271 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongtapan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing