We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thongtapan Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phangan Bayshore Resort(Ban Hat Rin)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
108
101
31
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
101
31
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthong nai pan noi beachsewage smellbest beach on the islandgreat bungalowsair conquiet beachbreakfast was includedfull moon partystayed here for nightsbars and restaurantsmin walkkoh samuihillparadisehutsaccommodationtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent balance between price and quality, 1500 B for night with AC in room. Bungalows are situated on a hill just in front off beach and you can hear waves during your sleep. Beach is really nice, white sand has a small fraction. In the night you can find that lights is not everywhere and it's recommended to use your phone for lighting. It's very good place if you want to have not crowded beach with excellent view and good quality bungalows for cheap price.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexey7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Dogs wandering around the resort x4 ( owners) and they lived right next door to our little house and barked all night ( told reception but they did nothing)
Not enough beach loungers to go around.
Holes in the mosquito nets ( asked reception again but nothing done - so had to get out the first aid kit and tape up the holes!!)
Dark rooms and even darker bathrooms ( poor lighting) but could still see the mould around the shower
No fridge, the resort could not even provide a service wash. No complimentary water.
When you had a shower the whole bathroom floor flooded.
No where to sit but on the bed, seats out side on the deck but they were wooden and uncomfortable.
Worker sanding down the damaged chairs with a electric sander right next to the restaurant so noise and dust and no-one cared,
Resort rubbish just dumped behind the restaurant in full view for the resort guest to see!!
Clean up the place Thongtapan - you have such an amazing place and you are destroying it.
Rubbish even in the little stream next to the restaurant.
A thongtapan web site quoted" beautiful bathrooms" and I was there for 4 nights and still could not find. The bathroom tap was broken and I asked reception to fix please , this time they did come - they taped it back together and as soon as I turned on the tap it was broken again!The bathroom was not pretty at all - needs a total refit
No maintenance done anywhere.
One day we were having a rest on our bed and was overcome with smoke. They decided to light a big rubbish fire outside our window - another complaint to reception. 100% to them as the fire was put out.
The restaurant food was the best thing about the place and the beach
Offered a discounted taxi service to and from the pier - 800 baht there for 4 people but on the way back they charged us 1200 baht - had to pay otherwise would be still there!
Left earlier due to the conditions and no refund.
Would not recommend.
Lovely pool over the hill in the next resort , if you want a swim and nice lounger
Staff spend the day cutting the bushes with scissors when they should have been clearing up the rubbish

Room Tip: check out the resorts and rooms before you had over the cash
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint D, Manager at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Janine,

Thank you for your constructive review; we have actioned on those that are fact, however there some faults that are colourfully written. After our investigation and talking with relevant staff, we found:

1. There was no sign of mould but some water stains on the basin (would it be possible that you have us mixed up with another hotel you stayed at in Bangkok, which you also written regarding the mould?). This is due to the heavy lime in the water, which is sourced from the waterfall high up in the mountain. We have now sanded and repainted the wash basin. The tap in the bathroom was in fact not broken but leaking the water, hence we needed to fix it with the plumping tape in order to tight up the space.
2. You have been advised that we do have a laundry service. The service is available at 60 Baht per kilogram. However you advised our receptionist that you did not want to pay for this and instead asked for a washing machine.
3. We love dogs, and we have 3 young dogs, which live inside at night. They are recused dogs; we do the best we can so we decided to adopt. They are not the world smartest but loyal and playful. We apologise that they are not well trained at the time of your stay.
4. We have limited number of sun beds available; however there are over 40 beach chairs that are also available to you and your family.
5. At the time of your stayed, it was our low season; hence a number of maintenance works are scheduled to get us ready to welcome the guests over the special holidays. We apologised for the noise and had moved to another area to finish the work.
6. The old taxi fare was advised to you upon the early correspondence but you decided not to proceed with it at that time. At the last minute, you and your family decided that you would like to reserved our taxi after all; we advised you that we would honour the old rate on your arrival but not departure. The fare increase was not really a big surprise for you as you made it out to be. And we even suggested that should wish to find a cheaper fare, you could find them in the village. There are so many taxi cars, that it would be impossible for you to still be here.
7. You reserved rooms under a non-refundable policy then wished to depart earlier than scheduled and when asked of your reason to refund the night was, you said to us “our children are bored”. We simply refused to believe that is a sufficient grounds for a refund.
8. We also received your comment upon our festive Christmas tree that it was just too small.

To be fair, there are number of issues which we simply cannot facilitate because those are not what we have to offer i.e fridge and washing machine. As well as words that we do not say such as a beautiful bathroom but fact is the online agent site you book through stated “Bathrooms are rustic in style, with a stone basin”.

We suggest you to check these critical facilities according to your family need before deciding on your future choice of accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in Ko Phangan in November 2013 - well its a really nice place I guess - but if you for example look at the other pictures, you can see that its very dirty.
It looks very unorganized - the whole hotel, dirt or stuff everywhere...
The reception staff is very unfriendly, so I don´t really understand why. Especially if you have a question, you get a really unpolite answer. If you go to the reception - the lady shouts first at you - take your shoes of... (Fair enough, I put them off but its just the way they behave).

The room were not that clean, I think they usw dimmed light, that you can´t see the dirt so much - especially in the bathrooms.

I definetely wouldn´t choose this hotel again and I can´t recommend it at all, they are nicer and cheaper hotels around.

Room Tip: Don´t choose a room in this hotel ;)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I loved this wooden bungalow. The location is really stunning. There are nice paths that lead up to your bungalow. At night it gets very dark so some extra lights would have been better. The rooms are spacious, with lots of light coming in and have a Thai feeling to it. you also have a little terrace, but there are lots of mosquitos so we didn't use it, unfortunately. The bathroom is big enough and very modern. I just loved it!
The staff is really helpful and friendly. Only one little downside is that there isn't any internet in the rooms, only at the reception. But who needs it anyway when your on vacation, right... ?
The beach is beautiful. You can get some beach chairs for free at the reception, which is very handy and comfortable.
This place is cheap and worth the money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was a beautiful location - beautiful, peaceful, amazing clear waters in a small bay. And great value. The restaurant is on the beach, and there's a massage hut as well - great traditional Thai massages. The staff were great, friendly and helpful and chatty, especially Angeline, who helped me book transport out when I left. The bungalows are nice and clean, fairly simple. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful, quiet location to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews