We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great atmosphere & location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Beach Bed & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
At Beach Bed & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights around the half moon and had a great time. Room had working ac and hot showers as well as being right on the beach. We were given a complimentary breakfast every morning, from anything on the menu which was fantastic! There was a free barbecue the night of the half moon which was lively and fun as a pre party before heading off. The hostel also arranged a taxi to the party at an affordable price. Pickup and drop off at the pier was included free by the hostel also. All in all, we had a great time made better by the lovely location and fun staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jillk159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    24
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
12
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This place was a little bit of paradise at a pinch! Far enough away from haadrin for you to lick ur party wounds and recover from the night before but a cheap ride back for round 2! Transfers to and from pier included, Mr Paul was the perfect host! Genuinely wanting you to have the best time on the island! The dorms were cute little huts, very clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wendywoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naro Moru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here recently (May 2014) for over a week. Very nice place for a very good price. The dorms are just 190 Baht a night, but for some reason you get airconditioning, free wifi and a hot shower for this price. Also the location is very great; not too far from the main pier and with a great view on the ocean.

Any downsides? Keep an eye on what you have paid for and with whom (extra nights, meals, drinks) since there seem to be many different staff members who don't always keep track. Also, try not to drink from the water as it is a bit dirty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeBommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great place to stay. Affordable, nice beach, working AC, big fridge, friendly staff and owner. Owner threw us a free BBQ dinner on Saturday. Free pickup (100 THB for return trip) from ferry dock if arranged in advance. Almost forgot hot showers with an inline heater!

Walking distance to Big C supermarket and food court if you get tired of the food which is also affordable. Town is probably 20m walk...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights the week before fullmoon. I thought the location of this hostel was perfect, at least if you're planning on renting a scooter which we did. It takes about 7 minutes to drive to Thongsala food market (where you can find the best Pad Thai in Thailand), and around 20 minutes to drive to Koh Ma, which is in my opinion the best beach on the island. About 30 minutes to Fullmoon, but it would only cost you 200 baht ($6) to get a taxi to Haad Rin (fullmoon beach) which is great.

The hostel is literally located AT the beach. Absolutely stunning. And the sunset is just amazing. The food is great, the staff is great and I thought the dorm was quite good, I mean, you get what you pay for. Comfy beds and a friendly atmosphere. What more could you ask for?

I heard that this place is rather new, and therefore not overcrowded and very popular (yet). But it will definitely become the most successful hostel on the island, so hurry up and book your bed here if you
want to be able to enjoy BBQ parties with Paul (the owner), watching the sunset while lying in a hammock sipping on a coke. I'm definitely coming back here soon again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordfanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I may have just caught the wrong people on the wrong time but I didn't have the best experience. I hate writing bad reviews but I never really enjoyed it here.

Granted, the location is fantastic, right on the beach if that's your thing. However there's not much else to do around, the nightlife is far away, as are the piers. Another positive is pier pick up - good idea. Though they should also provide directions to the hostel if you're getting there independently, as its near on impossible to find.

Now.. the room wasn't very good at all, they didn't provide a sheet, I had to ask for one. The bathrooms really weren't clean, it wouldn't have taken much to give the showers and toilets a quick daily clean. I also found some of the staff to be a little rude, especially when trying to book things. I tried twice to book a ferry to Koh Tao with them and it didn't happen, in the end I had to make my own way to the pier and just buy it there - not a huge issue for me just more inconvenient. Also the lockers did not feel safe at all, someone could have easily just picked up my box and walked away with it, so I had to keep my valuables on me to feel safe, which is never ideal. They have a resteraunt - okay food but pricey.

There was a chilled out atmosphere, but I wasn't there around half or full moon time so it wasn't great as a solo traveller. I had 3 nights booked and left after 2. Its a shame after all the reviews of this place were good, but that's just my honest experience. Maybe its better around the time of full moon, but I won't stay here again unfortunately.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with a friend. The place is really awesome and you wouldn't find any personnel that would threat you the same way that they do at Beach, Bed and Bar! We stayed in a four bed dorm and nothing to complain about. AC was working, hot water and overall clean. At the same time the beach is just in front of the hotel and as a maximum you will walk 50 meters directly from your bed until you are there.

If anything bad could be said at all it would be that the distance to the full moon party is about a 30 minutes drive.

I will surely recommend anyone who is going to the island to stay here!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.3 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#13 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic
Majestic
#18 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Village Backpackers
The Beach Village Backpackers
#61 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Phangan Cottages
Phangan Cottages
#198 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#46 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baan Tai Backpackers
Baan Tai Backpackers
#1 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Beach Bed & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Beach Bed & Bar

Property: At Beach Bed & Bar
Address: 100/1 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 342 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — At Beach Bed & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your At Beach Bed & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing