We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise away from civilization”
Review of Salad Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salad Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 2 December 2010

For me, this resort gave the best trade-off between nature and accommodation quality. Salad beach is a small, charming beach shared with perhaps a dozen more hotels/resorts on the north-western part of Koh-Phangan. The beach is clean. No longboats littering the shore. Great snorkeling location. Not many shops/restaurants around, which contributes to the quiet.

The hotel's restaurant has honest prices and a huge selection of dishes. Very surprisingly, all food is excellent, be it Thai, Indian, Italian, American and whatnot, so you can easily spend 2 weeks eating breakfast, lunch and supper without getting bored of it.

The hotel has a beautiful garden and a cozy swimming pool, which is great for toddlers and non-swimmers. But the beach is so calm and the slope so gentle that non-swimmers can enjoy it too.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, I won't forget the cute receptionist that was bouncing up and down with joy when we arrived, saying "I have soooo much information to giiiive !" :)

The only downside to the hotel was the non-free, slow internet.

North and south of that beach are other laid-back, not-yet-over-developed spectacular beaches, all excellent for snorkeling and diving. There are also a couple of waterfalls around. Transportation is either by taxi (expensive due to a local cartel) or by renting a bike, which is commonplace around here.

I stayed here for 4 days out of a 21-day vacation in Thailand that also included Bangkok, Krabi (Ao Nang) and the other side of Koh-Phangan (Haad-Rin, Full moon party). In retrospect, this was the best location, and I wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

The beach itself is an attraction not to be missed. I could safely say it is the best most characteristic beach in the island. If you can't see it as paradise, then you have a problem. It is so relaxed, if you could bottle and sell it, it'd be the best beta-blocker on the market today.

The resort itself is great, not 6 star but the pool is decent, with plenty of sun and shade. Gardens were well maintained and beautiful and green. There is a beach front sun lounge kinda area that gets the very best sunset view on the beach. Some lady organised diving trips from there. A decent restaurant, apropriately star rated like the hotel. Wicked morning animal shaped pancakes for breakfast, nom nom nom... The staff were by far the friendliest dudes out. Even resident obese dwarf stray dog in deep need of nail trim we called "shawtie" was hopeless at fishing but happy to settle for our bacon in return for being a great foot rest!

ATM, mini mart, gift shops, bike hire, bars restaurants around the back of the hotel. Apparently really nice pizza a little up the hill that i managed to miss :(

The beach front bungalow rocks, clean, comfy bed, decent bathroom. Great value for money no doubt at the rates i got. The view from the verandah is detoxicating! Very peacefull and easy access to Had Rin for FMP.
Would recommend to anyone without any hesitation. Check out the pics

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

date 04/09/10
beach front bungalow
room 202

We arrived from thong sala to the resort, we had booked a transfer with the hotel and the driver was waiting for us when we docked, the drive is about 20 mins, both driver and mini van were well presented and you feel special being driven.

Now I had been contact with hotel via email arranging things like flowers on arrival for my gf and confirming tours etc. My contact here was a lovely girl call Mai, if you need anything arranged before hand this is the lady you need to speak to, not only professional but such a lovely girl as well...you will see why later on.

So arrival was smooth and efficient taking about 5 mins before we were escorted to our room, the driver and another took our cases for us which was a blessing as my gf must have packed every thing she owned lol.

The room was ok for around £40 a night you can't expect 5 star rooms, but having said that we found the room to more than adequate, just a few niggles, like no shelves in the bath room and the aircon leaks a bit, Towels are a bit dated.
But the room is decorated pleasantly and its clean, the bed is massive i could roll over twice and still not meet my gf on the other side,
If you can get this room do so as it is bigger than the other beachfront bungalow with a wrap around balcony. Excellent views to wake up to truly romantic.

We decided not to book one of the given tours and opted to hire the mini van and driver, This is where the staff being wonderfull comes in. We arrived at reception where i met Mai for the first time face to face, what a lovely girl as i had mention we had been in contact via email, i had explained to her that this was my gf's first time to Thailand and i wanted it to be special for her, mai of her own back and expense bought my gf a present to welcome her to thailand, I have travelled all over the world and never have I experiened this level of thought and care.

This girl is worth her weight in gold every aspect of our stay she over saw and took personal interest in, her english is better than some of my friends in the uk, my advice to the managment of the resort ....Keep her never let her leave its her and the staff who made our stay special and will make us return.

I must also mention Tam, I believe thats was his name, he too was wonderfull arranging dinner reservations private van hire, tailor making our tours for us and giving good honest advice on things to see and experience, we liked the staff so much we went and bought them ice cream from this lovely home made ice cream shop,

The resturant is excellent again great staff so attentive polite, we ate there the majority of the time prices most reasonable T bone steak £7, you must have a coconut shake there too - we became quite addicted to them.

I must admit I was very sad to leave the staff and resort a week after leaving I'm still missing them and hope to return 2012

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonDazzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

6 nigths at Salad Beach in a Beach Front Bungalow - great expectations - but unfortunately we got disapointed.
The homepage promised beatyfull rooms - but the resort i aged and to expencive compared to the other resort at Salad Beach.
The Beach Front Bungalow have a great view - no doubt - but a big sun deck right in front of our terrace made it impossible to be private. The room was clean and the bed fine.
We missed storage in the bathroom - not even a shelf was available.
The restaurant was OK - but expencive compared to the surrounding resorts. The staff are friendly - and if you travel with children they will get a lot af attention. Unfortunally the staff often forget guests without children - doing their best to make special pancakes and decorate them.
When we stayed at Salad Beach the tides was very low - we have hoped to do a lot of snorkeling - but it was not possible - just a warning not a complain.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The Salad Beach Resort is situated on Salad Beach, which is a stunning setting in Ko Phangan and away from any hustle and bustle. We stayed in a garden bungalow which turned out to be a basic room with very little storage (one very small wardobe with two hangers and one small set of drawers) with two single beds pushed together to create a double bed. The room itself looked very clean however there is no mosquito net around the door to the bungalow which did not tightly shut when locked therefore it became impossible not to get bitten by the mosquito's. The bathroom was small and very basic, to operate the tap in the sink you have to push the tap down and once it's let go the water doesn't come out which was a little annoying. We were due to stay at the hotel for 8 nights but cut our stay short at this hotel as we got severely bitten in the legs by bed bugs - very nasty which resulted in treatment at the local hospital. We moved to the Salad Buri Resort at the other end of the beach which was just pure luxury and for an extra £100 for 6 nights compared to the Salad Beach garden bungalow it was worth everyone penny the rooms are double the size, very clean, plasma TV, great shower, really helpful staff, and three large swimming pools which look onto the beach and they have a mosquito curtain in each room and fantastic air con in comparison the the Salad Beach Resort . Watch out for the guy at reception at the Salad Beach resort, other people's reviews on him are right, he's not that helpful and we were put off at him laughing at us when we enquired about a taxi to Had Rin for the evening. I do like comfort and luxury if you are couple looking for this too, stay and the Salad Buri Resort it truly is stunning, if you are a backpacker and on more of budget the Salad Beach Resort will be good for you although their are cheaper bungalows on this particular beach- just hope they sort out those bed bugs!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynneb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Very good food , friendly staff also lucky coz the boss she prepare food for us .We were there on 17 may until 22 May with 16 people (big family)

Everyone enjoy time we miss the cocktail Zombies very much.

It was good chioce to choosed to stay there .
The only only one thing is the room near swimmimg pool can wake you up imediately but only when there is a little kids around.

We would love to go back there next time
Thak you K. Waree and all staff

Kae Perth (Beautiful Mama) and Big mama family

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wa6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Beautiful location, the restaurant and sunlounging area are right on the edge of the beach over looking the stunning sea.

Great pool
great rooms
really good service too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan_walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
571 reviews
5.8 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#35 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
503 reviews
6.3 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Beach Resort

Address: Salad Beach Resort | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £17 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Beach Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing