We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and rude.”
Review of The Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Velvet
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty and rude.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Despite an initially friendly welcome, the owners of this hostel turned out to be work shy and rude. Our sheets were not changed for the duration of our 4 day stay, no toilet roll was provided for us and the bathroom bin wasn't emptied. Under normal circumstances I wouldn't mention this but when there is a sign on the bathroom door asking that all toilet paper is placed in the bin, it is not just unsanitary but unsafe. The room was noisy; both the road outside, the air-conditioning unit (which was so loud that we had to turn it off to sleep) and the sound of the owners screaming at and slapping their son. The owner of the hostel refused to make most of the items on his menu - he couldn't be bothered. When we challenged him he told us that he didn't care about bad reviews and that we should have stayed somewhere else. I can only assume that the other reviewer on this website is one of the family members who was enjoying a free stay with them at the time. I have traveled extensively and never been so dissatisfied with a stay or been treated so badly by a hostel owner. Terrible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Owner at The Velvet, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our guest house. I will try and address each of your issues in turn:

1: We tell you on check in that we do not change sheets and towels every day in order to keep the costs down and the price of the rooms as cheep as possible for guests. HOWEVER we also state that we are happy to replace your towels or sheets upon request. If you had asked we would have happily changed them.

2: We also say on check in that we are happy to clean your room upon request. This includes changing the toilet roll and emptying the bins. Most people just come to reception and ask for a new loo roll! You did not ask for this service.

3: Our guest house is near the road and I am sorry if it kept you awake.

4: Our air con units are no louder than most, but again I am sorry if yours kept you awake. If you had mentioned at the time, I would have done my best to find another room. I will however, ensure that this one has a service in order to ensure it is working at peak efficiency for the next guests.

5: I don't know who you heard "screaming at and slapping" children, but we do not believe in physical discipline. We wouldn't even hit our dog let alone our children!

6: I am sorry that you could not have all of the things on the menu. As my husband explained at the time, all of our food is cooked fresh to order and he had not had time to make up a new batch of spaghetti bolognaise. Therefore it was off the menu.

7: We really care about all reviews, good and bad. That is why I am taking the time to respond to your review. But more than reviews, we care about whether people enjoy their stay with us. As I recall, on the day you arrived we were all very busy refurbishing our new "chill out room". By way of apology for the fact that the room was out of commission for the day, I upgraded your room at no extra cost. You did not utter one single complaint, until the evening of your check out. You telephoned us at 11:30 pm on the eve of check out to say that you wanted to check out at 6.30 am the following morning. You had not mentioned the early check out before this, despite the fact that I allowed you to use our office computer, free of charge to search for hotels in your next destination. At the time of your stay, we did not live on site (we'd do now) but you demanded that my husband came over to the resort to check you out as you did not want to be bothered with it in the morning. My husband explained that he would be there for you to check out in the morning and that it is not our policy to check people out the night before. When he arrived in the morning, you were so rude to him that it made the other people in your party very embarrassed. At the time, you promised a bad review and so here it is!

Again, I am so sorry that you felt so slighted on your final day that you were compelled to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
11
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Family run business, business run by a wonderful family! Stayed for 3 nights and found the whole experience great. Toms breakfasts are to die for!! Our family actually stayed outside the full moon party experience, so the atmosphere was right for us. Upon leaving they were getting ready for the monthly FMP and were completely booked, I recommend anyone wanting to stay here to book well in advance! Big thank you to Tom and Charlotte for making us feel so welcome x

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sgdecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Owner at The Velvet, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. The reason we started our guest house was to meet brilliant people like yourself. So glad that we could make your stay on our wonderful island a fantastic one :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hansa Beach Resort
Hansa Beach Resort
#18 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
See Sea Backpackers House
See Sea Backpackers House
#85 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na-tub Hostel
Na-tub Hostel
#113 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Love Bungalows
Sea Love Bungalows
#22 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban Tai Resort
Ban Tai Resort
#23 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Awe Resort
Awe Resort
#87 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Velvet

Property: The Velvet
Address: 7/7, Moo 1, Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Orchard House)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 370 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Velvet 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for fun and relaxation, The Velvet is located in the Thong Sala area of Koh Phangan. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the island's must-see destinations. At The Velvet, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing