We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sanctuary Thailand
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phangan Bayshore Resort(Ban Hat Rin)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
310
132
59
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
132
59
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswellness centreyoga classesopen mic nightraw foodmr moonguys barnew agegarden housesteam roomspa treatmentsdetox programhaad yuanweight losstaxi boatpre and postamazing foodlong tail boat
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Everyone will get something from this place and you will walk away at least a little bit more fulfilled.

I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2013 with my friend and I simply loved it. The Yoga & Mediation classes are great. well run and you will find one that suits as there are so many types. The food it top notch, but expensive and the smoothies are to die for! A day didn't go by where I didn't have at least 2!

The Accommodation is very relaxing and comfortable, The Sanctuary itself is very very clean and the staff are awesome, they bring peacefulness and calm to the Sanctuary. It is very well run.

First issue I had was with the way you book the accommodation, basically you can't unless you are going to stay in the very expensive bungalows (3000 - 4000baht) you can't book accommodation. You have to either call them the morning you wan to stay there (To Check if they have a bed) or turn up and hope for the best. This is not idea by any means as you have to get a water taxi to the beach there (at 150baht each))and if they don't have anything within your budge the other accommodation on this beach is not great (Beam Bungalows). The Sanctuary offers a dorm room at about 220baht a night but they only have 8 beds in one dorm and this is constantly booked up, after that if you are not sharing it gets very expensive as a "Cheap" Bungalow is about 1200baht a night, bit of a jump!

Second Issue! They don't take Credit Cards!!! major problem, make sure you bring enough cash.

Room Tip: Don't pick the bungalow right behind the Restaurant, it is very noisy very early in the morning
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trekkieboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

hello trekkieboots,
thank you for your review which is much appreciated, and i am very glad you enjoyed your time at the sanctuary!
just wanted to straighten out a fact or two:
we have 10 dorm beds at 220 bt a night and 14 more in our zorba dorm at 330 bt a night. the cheapest available private rooms and bungalows start at 650 bt a night.
and then the credit card issue: yes indeed. we are perhaps the last outpost in the civilised world where you can eat smoked salmon, but you can't pay with a credit card. crazy but true. we really appreciate that its a bit of a hassle carrying cash and that expensive and unpleasant visits to had rin are occasionally required... thank you for bearing with us!
with best wishes to you and your boots,
tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I arrived at the Sanctuary with some prior knowledge of what to expect, from friends who had gone before me, stretching back some 15 years. The Sanctuary is a very well know destination by now, but it still feels like you have stumbled upon a hidden gem when you land on the beach at Haad Tien. The idea of 'Sanctuary' means something different to everybody,and here you can immerse yourself in Yoga, Healing Treatments, Detox Programs ... or you can do nothing and just decompress on the beach like I did. It is all there if you want it, but you never feel pushed into doing anything. The grounds are immaculately kept, the accommodation is very comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the food is wholesome and tasty, especially for a vego like me (you can get great fish dishes here as well, but the menu is mainly vegetarian and if you need a fat, juicy steak to keep you happy, you might need a backup plan). You are also on the fringe of a tropical jungle, so expect all the other things that come with this. There will be various insects around you, but this closeness to nature is part of the attraction of this spot. It's not the Four Seasons .... it is a bit rustic but that is part of the charm of the place and a big reason that people come here instead of some of the flashier resorts. Mike, Tasha and their crew run a tight operation and nothing was ever an issue or a problem during my 2 week stay. I have travelled all over SE Asia and I have seen the good, the bad and the downright ugly ... but the Sanctuary is a special spot and place that I will definitely be returning to.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Delonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

ah thank you delon for such a lovely review - i'm so glad you got the rest and relaxation you were looking for. it was a pleasure to have you with us - see you next time!
best wishes
tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Sanctuary, the place of peace, located in the heart of Phangan, island, most of people here are very good that we can't imaging how good they are, they are friendly, they are helpful, and they are waiting for you to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattipatmonasikankir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The location is amazing and the rooms and restrauant are well placed as the resort blends in with nature by being terraced along the hills behind the beach...bungalows are rustic...many, many mosquitoes and with the holes in the floor you need the net...the hike up to the rooms through the restrauant is great excercise...my view was mostly jungle but many rooms have views of the beach...big negative is the loud music that occurs every friday night through Sat afternoon...right...it goes on all night and the morning...not sleep unless you join into the dancing...great place to meet all the beautiful people...a mix of solos, couples and families...hot and humid in Aug and Sept... food is very good but expensive for a rustic place..only way to get there is by long boat...200tb per person from beach and more from the Had Rin pier....most food dishes are 150 to 200 tb...they offer free meditation in the evening at 6pm and other get togethers at 3pm...I was told by two travelers to go here so I did...happy I did...stayed for over a week...enjoy...

Room Tip: To avoid the mosquitoes choose am a/c room..they must be sealed...unlike the bungalows
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILvIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

First of all, the resort is gorgeous. I am amazed with the creativity used to make this remote and jungle/rocky part of the island into such a wonderful resort. The attention to detail is wonderful, the resort blends in with nature and has so many small roads and hiding spots no where you really feel how big it actually is.

We were mistakenly taken to a more luxurious bungalow when asking to see the less pricier one. We checked in, agreed on the price and then staff found out they had given us the wrong key. When we saw the bungalow we actually paid for (and didn't like it since it had an outside bathroom) staff was so kind to give us the original bungalow for a better price to make up for the mistake.

The food in the restaurant is wonderful. Downside is that it takes a while to arrive and that it is pricy (which of course can be expected on a remote part of the island).

The room was clean, free of bugs, had a great mosquito net. The bathroom looks amazing but due to the partly open structure lets geckos, spiders and ants accompany you in the shower, which was quite funny.

The resort offers many different classes and the meditation class we took was really nice.

Main downer was that we did not feel a connection to the crowd that this resort attracts. Too much hippie/alternative non-standard backpackers and unwanted/unrequested advice on drugs, alternative medication and 'higher level of consiousness'. Every place has its own style so we just decided to leave a day early and find something with a different kind of audience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tanya198511k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews