We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got it on the last moment 31 Dec 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Orchid Resort
Ranked #85 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had brunch at this place and I thought this place would be good because it was right on the beach. We got a two bed room bungalow, but the bed was too small, it is really a single bed. So, sleeping 2 people in a single bed in such a hot temperature just with fans. But, we were lucky to have this room as there was not many available at the time of year.

We stayed there for 5 nights. This beach is very nice for swimming and there is another small island that you can walk through water and it is a fun experience. People do fish, snorkel over there. My family did all while I was enjoying getting massage. "family massage" here on the premise was good. I tried the other one on the other side of the beach, but I prefer this one. They are not family related with the accommodation people. But, the sisters an mother team do a good job. I particularly enjoyed the mother's massage as she has more experience and strength.

The food and coffee at the royal resort was good. Especially, I start to appreciate this simple coffee (the best price - 25 baht, I think). I kind of gave up on cappuccino as I couldn't get the right one. So, one day I ordered normal coffee and the tasty was good!

The staff - manager was the Thai woman - was not very friendly, but okay. The man (his name must be Oi?) was initially very friendly, but we didn't feel generally that they were very friendly.

But, the woman was very efficient and fast for sending our son's passport to Koh Tao. We forgot to pick up his passport from them because it was unusual situation and they and we both forgot about it.

Of course, we had to pay a bit of money for getting the passport, but it was very worthwhile we appreciated it very much that she promptly sent it to us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

I had pre-paid with an agent as it was hard to find anywhere to stay and I had had to move out of where I was staying elsewhere on the island. I then read various negative reviews so arrived a little concerned.

I am writing this to dispel such doubts. The Thai staff were warm and very helpful (Paan, Oi), the rooms were fine with a hammock and aircon or a fan, and there was a massage available steps away on the beach. Because of the boats in the water, better to swim 100 meters away, and there is deep water and ok snorkeling off the little island opposite, especially when the sun is shining and with little wind so that the visibility is better. Oi runs a bar at the beach every evening.

Mainly good for Europeans looking for 2 weeks in the sun rather than the travelers.

So enjoy!

Room Tip: Aircon on the beachfront worth the money plus you can get wi-fi. Not so easy in some of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a very nice place to stay, despite the fact that there are many tourists on the beach and that the beach itself is a bit rough. That being said, you can walk the sandbar over to the little island opposite and have a good day of snorkeling in deeper waters than some of the areas further south on the island.

More a family setting than a place for singles, it is still an excellent choice for travelers. The service is excellent, the staff is welcoming and friendly, and the bungalows are just perfect for relaxing and enjoying a good night's sleep. With a sturdy hammock on every porch and absolutely great massages right there on the beach, the setting is lovely for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: For consistent wifi service, choose cabins closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed (only one night) in a fan bungalow (400 B). The bungalow and the bathroom are mostly clean.
The owner (a woman) was very friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was ok and the taxi service to Thong Sala was cheap (150 B per person) for such a long drive.
The beach in front of the bungalows wasn't so beautiful but you have the view right to the small island Koh Ma which is about 200m away.
Take a massage at the beach!This is cheap, very relaxing and you have a view right to Koh Ma.
For short stays Royal Orchid is a good place to stay, but for longer stays there are more beautiful places on Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gecko1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was definitely the worst (!) hotel we had in Thailand!

We booked via internet and got a confirmation, but when we arrived, the staff claimed not to have received a booking. When I showed them the written booking, they declined to give us a room for the confirmed sum. They didn't want to serve the ( included) breakfast and wanted 1/3 more money for the room ( without breakfast). This would be 1200 Baht for an ugly and small room without breakfast! When we insisted, they tried to trick us into giving us a much smaller room without a/c.

The room was shabby, uncomfortable and rather dirty. The towels had holes, and ants were crawling in the shower. Dogs barked the whole night, and the furniture war broken (eg. terrace chairs). Definitely not worth the money.

The staff was very unfriendly - no sign of the famous thai smile. The next afternoon, we gave them money for one night (minus breakfast) and left.

If you want to stay near the Ko Ma island, the Island View Cabana beach bungalows are a better choice, and less pricy. As we were very disappointed, we left that beach instead and went to Haad Salad.

NEVER AGAIN!!! STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

In the low season you can have a room for 600 bath with A/C. The bed is clean and they have hot water! The beach near the resort is full of boats , so you just walk a little bit and there is a beautiful beach. In the night, the sunset is amazing .......You have to eat the food of the resort or of the neighbors resort . The staff is cool and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Beautiful location right on the beach Mae haad. The rooms were very basic with cold water showers and they were not that clean. We had lots of " visitors" including a lizard, roaches and spiders in the room, but it was bed bug free! The price seemed steep for what you got compared to other places nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.5 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.1 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Haad Yao Resort
Haad Yao Resort
#73 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#56 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Resort

Address: Maehaad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing