We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Orchid Resort
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We didn't have anything booked in Phangan for the New Year's period and were looking for somewhere to stay for few hours driving around the island on a rented motorbike. We found this and for 1000 bhat for a AC double room on the beach, we thought we got a bargain.

The rooms are very old and not very clean. They do not provide mosquito nets and they don't clean the rooms at all during your stay. We stayed for 5 nights! If you don't clean your bathroom for that long in this country... Well, it stinks! Everybody who visited Thailand knows what I mean.

The restaurant is ok, not great, but will do. There are other restaurants on the beach if you don't like this one anyway.

The resort does not have it's own beach, it is located just in front of the sea but there is no beach here (although it is just few meters away, so no problems here).

They have motorbikes to rent, that is a huge plus.

You should stay somewhere else is you can. The beach is not that great and is quite far away from everything. I recommend Salaad Beach very close to Mae Haad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThailandIsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    10
    8
    24
See reviews for
6
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

At the Royal Orchid we felt like we were getting scammed at every moment. Items we did not order were added to our dinner bill. When paying for the room we were given incorrect change, then when we pointed it out, the staff member just laughed and pulled out the correct change from his other pocket. It didn't end when we organized a taxi back into town with them. We agreed on a price and a destination- we were driven part of the way and the staff demanded more money to take us all the way there.

To boot- the rooms we unclean and in disrepair. There are no top sheets on the bed. When we would ask the manager to fix a
broken thing in our room he would just say "I'll do it tomorrow."

We have been traveling in Asia for 6 weeks and the Royal Orchid is the worst place we have stayed.

Do not give them your money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BShuman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had brunch at this place and I thought this place would be good because it was right on the beach. We got a two bed room bungalow, but the bed was too small, it is really a single bed. So, sleeping 2 people in a single bed in such a hot temperature just with fans. But, we were lucky to have this room as there was not many available at the time of year.

We stayed there for 5 nights. This beach is very nice for swimming and there is another small island that you can walk through water and it is a fun experience. People do fish, snorkel over there. My family did all while I was enjoying getting massage. "family massage" here on the premise was good. I tried the other one on the other side of the beach, but I prefer this one. They are not family related with the accommodation people. But, the sisters an mother team do a good job. I particularly enjoyed the mother's massage as she has more experience and strength.

The food and coffee at the royal resort was good. Especially, I start to appreciate this simple coffee (the best price - 25 baht, I think). I kind of gave up on cappuccino as I couldn't get the right one. So, one day I ordered normal coffee and the tasty was good!

The staff - manager was the Thai woman - was not very friendly, but okay. The man (his name must be Oi?) was initially very friendly, but we didn't feel generally that they were very friendly.

But, the woman was very efficient and fast for sending our son's passport to Koh Tao. We forgot to pick up his passport from them because it was unusual situation and they and we both forgot about it.

Of course, we had to pay a bit of money for getting the passport, but it was very worthwhile we appreciated it very much that she promptly sent it to us.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I had pre-paid with an agent as it was hard to find anywhere to stay and I had had to move out of where I was staying elsewhere on the island. I then read various negative reviews so arrived a little concerned.

I am writing this to dispel such doubts. The Thai staff were warm and very helpful (Paan, Oi), the rooms were fine with a hammock and aircon or a fan, and there was a massage available steps away on the beach. Because of the boats in the water, better to swim 100 meters away, and there is deep water and ok snorkeling off the little island opposite, especially when the sun is shining and with little wind so that the visibility is better. Oi runs a bar at the beach every evening.

Mainly good for Europeans looking for 2 weeks in the sun rather than the travelers.

So enjoy!

Room Tip: Aircon on the beachfront worth the money plus you can get wi-fi. Not so easy in some of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a very nice place to stay, despite the fact that there are many tourists on the beach and that the beach itself is a bit rough. That being said, you can walk the sandbar over to the little island opposite and have a good day of snorkeling in deeper waters than some of the areas further south on the island.

More a family setting than a place for singles, it is still an excellent choice for travelers. The service is excellent, the staff is welcoming and friendly, and the bungalows are just perfect for relaxing and enjoying a good night's sleep. With a sturdy hammock on every porch and absolutely great massages right there on the beach, the setting is lovely for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: For consistent wifi service, choose cabins closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed (only one night) in a fan bungalow (400 B). The bungalow and the bathroom are mostly clean.
The owner (a woman) was very friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was ok and the taxi service to Thong Sala was cheap (150 B per person) for such a long drive.
The beach in front of the bungalows wasn't so beautiful but you have the view right to the small island Koh Ma which is about 200m away.
Take a massage at the beach!This is cheap, very relaxing and you have a view right to Koh Ma.
For short stays Royal Orchid is a good place to stay, but for longer stays there are more beautiful places on Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gecko1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was definitely the worst (!) hotel we had in Thailand!

We booked via internet and got a confirmation, but when we arrived, the staff claimed not to have received a booking. When I showed them the written booking, they declined to give us a room for the confirmed sum. They didn't want to serve the ( included) breakfast and wanted 1/3 more money for the room ( without breakfast). This would be 1200 Baht for an ugly and small room without breakfast! When we insisted, they tried to trick us into giving us a much smaller room without a/c.

The room was shabby, uncomfortable and rather dirty. The towels had holes, and ants were crawling in the shower. Dogs barked the whole night, and the furniture war broken (eg. terrace chairs). Definitely not worth the money.

The staff was very unfriendly - no sign of the famous thai smile. The next afternoon, we gave them money for one night (minus breakfast) and left.

If you want to stay near the Ko Ma island, the Island View Cabana beach bungalows are a better choice, and less pricy. As we were very disappointed, we left that beach instead and went to Haad Salad.

NEVER AGAIN!!! STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#62 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Niramon Sunview Resort
Niramon Sunview Resort
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friendly Resort & Spa
Friendly Resort & Spa
#81 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#77 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Resort

Property: Royal Orchid Resort
Address: Maehaad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing