We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not suitable for full moon” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Orchid Resort
Ranked #84 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not suitable for full moon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

If you want to stay here because of the full moon party, then don't! The resort offers a taxiservice (which is very expensive (400baht pp), but thats on the whole island) anyway we took the same taxi back and it cost us 2 hours to get back (only 15km), because we had to wait for more people. We were already waiting with 8 people, but the driver wanted more people or we had to pay him more. So you are warned!
The staff is okay though! I heard some negative reviews about one guy, but they were all okay!
The rooms are not much, but you pay not a lot.
Royal Orchid is a good place if you want to chill, relax and enjoy peace and not pay a lot of money!
Last advice: bring a mosquitonet or spray!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahlegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    10
    8
    23
See reviews for
6
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
All over
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at Royal Orchid for 8 nights in September 2010, the room was priced at 300 Bht a night for bungalow with fan (no air con, that's for tourists!), in small ensuite room with cold shower (you really don't need heat!).
Considering that we stayed for 8 nights, it would have been customary for them to give us a little discount, but our request was met by lies about "asking the manager", even though we knew that some other people in the resort were getting a discount for long stays. We hired an automatic scooter/motorbike from them that drank petrol like it was going out of fashion (6 liters for one day is ridiculous - Koh Pan Ngan isn't that big!!). When we asked them about the high petrol consumption, we were told that the bikes take 1 litre for 10 km!!! Come on, if you've ever ridden a bike before, you know that's ridiculous! As a comparison, we hired a bike from Nawin's up the road, and used less than 2 liters for double the distance. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out that there's something wrong with those bikes!

Anyway, we ate at the restaurant once. Food was okaaaaay, but the coconut curries didn't contain any coconut milk! They looked like Tom Yam! A little strange, and was more expensive than the other restaurants on the beach.

That said, the location is amazing! Mae Haad has the best snorkling - go around the side of Koh Maa you won't be disappointed! But rent your snorkle from one of the shops down the road as it's waaaaaay cheaper! - and the sunset view is out of this world! If you are happy with 'basic', and look for your friendly faces elsewhere, you'll be happy with Royal Orchid. Most of the staff are lovely, but the main reception guy (the chubby one) needs a lesson in human nature! Shame he spoit this review for everyone else!

As we said, we stayed here for 8 amazing days. The accommodation is good for backpackers expecting no frills (although AC is available for extra cost), the views and beach are amazing, but look elsewhere for smiles and tastier cheap eats!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at Orchid Resort in April 2010. We had booked a bungalow with AC for 3 persons and they were quite good with comfortable beds, the pressure in the shower was also very good and the cleanliness was good enough. The lunch was not good and the staff nochalant, so we took dinner at another restaurant. When we got home at night had AC leaked and extra bed was completely soaked. We had to sleep in all three double bed. I pointed out this morning and said we wanted the money back for the extra bed and AC, because it could not be used. We did not get your money back and the staff was on the verge of unpleasant. The sunset was beautiful and adorable all sounds from the jungle. Too bad no staff dedicated bit more for the place has potential. We went on to Koh Tao where we lived in a cheaper and better bungalow, but we missed the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette_Aland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

I went to the Royal Orchid Resort in August of 2008 with a school trip. This was the best trip i have ever been on. Yes the rooms we stayed in werent the cleanest, but roughing it was fine for us. The food at this resort is amazing and the service was great too. The locacation couldn't be more perfect. The beach is gorgeous and the water is cool and refreshing. All in all this is a fantastic place to stay. I may advise you though that this resort probably isnt the best for those pampered princesses out there who expect an all inclusive.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starlite93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2006

Royal Orchid Koh Phangan May 27th

We were there in May. We booked a few month ago and payed a deposit for 10 nights.
We have been ther with two families. We have beenthere with four adults and four children.
Two weeks before I let reconfirm our booking. When we arrived and went to our VIP-bungalows, we didn´t trust our eyes. In the bathrooms hundreds of flys on the floor and the walls. The flyfleeces didn´t fit. When we told it to the manager someone came and took the flys with the shower away but next day the same. In one room have been many bugs and cockroaches, so we got another bungalow. If you want to wash at the washdesk, you get wet feet because runs out of the tubes, they didn´t fit. Shower and toilet were near and not separated. If someone is showering, the next one who is going to toilet got wet feet and took the wetness into the room.There were not waterglases to brush your teeth and it was nearly imposible to get water in your mouth. One doorlock got broken in the evening and we couldn´t come into the room for 1 hour. There was no furniture or cupboard for your clothes. The furniture in the rooms have been old, dirty and nearly not usable.
As we told the manager our problems, he got very angry. He told us to go. We cannot stay longer. We didnt got back our deposit and had to pay additional our drinks and meal.
The manager didnt allow to phone or talk with the owner of the resort.
He tryed to recommend our problems with the low tide and no pool in the resort.
We payed and went to Asia bungalows at haad salad beach. The rates have been a little bit highe, but it is worth. There was no pool too, but very excellent hygienic situation. We stayed there for nine nights and we were happy.
If someone wants to know more mail to www.daoreha@msn.com
Greetings to all Thailand-fans

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hagen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#55 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phangan Cabana Resort
Phangan Cabana Resort
#61 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#37 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
#63 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niramon Sunview Resort
Niramon Sunview Resort
#68 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Resort

Property: Royal Orchid Resort
Address: Maehaad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing